The plight of a fat girl…

In my last post I talked about the four areas in my life that are in desperate need of improvement and how I needed to be accountable to make some changes and stick to my goals in order to get me to where I want to be. I have been down this road before. Just this past New Year’s I set my resolution to become a better version of myself; eat better, exercise, etc. and by the beginning of this month I was already off track. It is only February so I have plenty of time to still uphold my resolution but I find it imperative that I get back on track now.

One of my biggest weaknesses is that once I get off track, which happens very easily for me, I never seem to find my way back. Here’s what happens; I decide to start a diet and exercise routine and I throw myself into it 100%. I am going great for a week or two, sometimes even longer, and then BAM something happens; sickness, injury, heck even my period throws me for a loop. The minute that I stop exercising, I stop eating right and vice versa. I quickly fall back into my old habits which have been ingrained into me. I mean really; who wouldn’t want to sit on the couch watching TV and eating junk food. It’s much easier and let’s face it- I am lazy person whose idleness has been compounded further by working at a job that keeps me chained to a desk. Until now I never really thought of myself as someone who takes the easy way, just coasting through life, but after this self-reflection I worry that maybe that is the person I have become.

I know that a lot of people struggle with this same problem- sticking to a routine and/or diet. I know there are no quick fixes. I am setting out to make a long-term change and have to be able to accept that it will be very hard and I will want to quit many times. I have to realize and accept that I am the only person standing in my way and if I persevere on this path I will eventually reach my goal.

 Tomorrow I am starting a new fitness routine. The premise of which is to train you to be able to continuously jog/run two miles. The program is five days/wk lasting for eight weeks. I am pretty sure it will take me 12-16 weeks, if not longer, to complete it which is ok, it is designed in a manner that allows you to take longer if needed. Knowing that I am not in the best physical shape I am setting my goal, the completion of the program,  without setting an end date but stipulate that each week I will continue to progress in the program until my goal is reached.

 I am excited to start this program for many reasons; one of which is the ability to be able to run with my husband.  Paul loves running and is very good at it. He has a graceful running stride that makes it look effortless but it took time and practice for him to develop. So I will try to be patient as I make my way through this program, knowing that I, too, can become a runner. 

 Another reason I am looking forward to this program is that in 2008 I set a goal for myself to be able to run a 5K by the end of the year, which I never reached. It is 2011 and although I can walk a 5K, I am nowhere near close to being able to run one. This is a perfect example of my inability to follow through on the goals I set for myself- but I am looking to change that.

Mainly, though my excitement stems from the possible weight loss associated with participating in a fitness program.  My weight has been a problem for me for many years and frankly, it is pretty embarrassing. Sometimes when I sit at booths at restaurants my stomach pushes up against the table and my boobs are practically sitting on the table top- it’s really not fun. On top of the benefit of shedding some weight I am hoping to experience and increase in my energy levels. Right now I am about as energetic as a ground slug. I wouldn’t mind becoming a fitness junky- getting high off endorphins and whatnot but that is light-years away for me. At this point any change will be a vast improvement from my current sedentary lifestyle.

 I am excited to embark on my new fitness journey. As shallow as this might sound, I am a good person and I want might outside to better reflect the inside. Although, I have adapted to be less sensitive about my weight it doesn’t mean I don’t care. I want to be healthy and feel good about myself inside and out. Who doesn’t want that for themselves? So I am ready- I have a goal and a plan to reach that goal so wish me luck! I will try to post weekly updates so you can follow along with my progress.

Thanks for reading!

February 21, 2011. Tags: , , , . obesity.

3 Comments

  1. ambers0182 replied:

    Let me just say, starting this blog is super cool! I will definitely be following your posts 🙂

    Also… being accountable is always the first step, so i say you are headed in the right direction. I am also in the process of a life cleanse, and my historical follow thru really sucks! So i am really proud of you. I make a great cheer leader so I will make sure i post encouraging words for you. You deserve to be happy! Also maybe as i see you succeeding it will keep me motivated as well. 🙂 I think you are an amazing person and i know you can achieve all you want out of life. I keep telling myself that life is short, if im not happy with it then CHANGE it. Looking forward to your next post.

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks Amber! I am glad to have you as a cheerleader! I think accountability is very important and something I never really did which is how I ended up here. It is also important to know you have people supporting you through all of this- the good and bad- and so I thank you for being part of my support team. Hopefully this blog can provide us both with some motivation and encouragement! I know you, too, can make the changes you want! Good luck!

  2. jakennicksmomma replied:

    Don’t get discouraged! Im also about to get back on the weight loss/ fitness horse.

    Im not sure if the Army offers this too, but I know at the gym on base here there are personal trainers. As a dependent you have to pay for the first visit, but if you set up a schedule and go every wk you can use them for free.

    I also dream of running with M. one day. Maybe not this year but at some point in the future. I haven’t done that since he lived in Ormond.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

