Should I stay or should I go….

The time is quickly approaching for us to decide whether or not to renew our apartment lease. I have been thinking about this a lot lately, trying to weigh out the pros and cons of each situation, but I am just not sure what to do. Paul and I are both getting antsy here in San Antonio and I know it is because we have been here longer than anywhere else. Normally at his point we would be moving on to somewhere new but it looks like we’ll be here for at least another 18 months. So I really need to make a decision I won’t end up regretting for the rest of my time here.

Option 1: Stay in current apartment

Pros:

• There are three swimming pools in my complex that are hardly ever used. I spend May through September/October in those pools. It is pretty much what I do every day during the summer.

• I don’t have to move. I hate packing and I hate unpacking. I hate the giant hassle of moving. I won’t need to search for a new place or put down deposits.

• My dog walker is here. She lives in my apartment complex. She is fairly inexpensive and she really loves the dogs, which is the most important thing.

Cons:

• I hate my apartment. It is definitely old and lived in. It is starting to feel cramped. The kitchen is super small and the stove only has one regular sized burner and three small ones. It’s so annoying, especially for someone who loves to cook.

• The gym is crappy. Neither Paul nor I ever use it.

• It is a pain to get to post from where I live. It is not a far distance to drive but there are so many traffic lights that it just ends up taking forever. Paul makes that trip 1-2 times a day and now that I am using the post gym I am making at least 5 trips to post a week. It’s annoying.

Option 2: Move onto post

Pros:

• Very convenient for Paul- no commuting for work, and for me- easy access to the gym

• Living on post puts us closer to downtown and to the AT&T Center, where we spend a lot of our time.

• We would be surrounded by army people. It might be nice to make some friends that are in a similar a situation. Plus we would be closer to T & K.

Cons:

• It will increase my commute time

• The houses are teeny tiny and we would probably have to replace all of our living room furniture to fit in the space

• Living on post would cost the full amount of our housing allowance which basically means we will have to pay more out-of-pocket every month. Our current rent is over $300 less than the housing allowance we receive.

 • We would be surrounded by army people. This really could go either way, it really depends on the specific army people we find ourselves surrounded by. It could end up being more annoying than beneficial.

• The only pool is the indoor pool at the gym. Not quite what I am used to and they probably frown on you drinking alcoholic beverages while swimming

Option 3: Move into a rental home

Pros:

• I would be able to find someplace with a better kitchen, more space, maybe even a backyard for the dogs

• I would be able to own and operate a BBQ and possibly even grow a little garden.

• It could introduce us to a new area of the city

Cons:

• All the downsides of moving; packing/unpacking, finding a new place, all the money you have to put out in deposits and whatnot.

• It will more than likely increase both of our commuting times

• It will probably cost more in rent and utilities than what we pay now

• Highly unlikely it will have a pool

I have a pretty good idea which way I am leaning towards but am wondering what you think. Which option do you think would work best? Also, can you find any pros/cons I might have not considered? I would love your feedback on this.

Thanks for reading!

March 1, 2011. Tags: , , . Moving.

5 Comments

  1. hookerchick replied:

    It really comes down to what’s more important to you right NOW. Is it more important to save money or have a good gym? It is more important to have a closer commute or see a new area of the city? Is it more important to have a pool to use or a bigger kitchen?

    I know this doesn’t help answer the question of whether or not you should move, but hopefully it gives you a different way of looking at it.

    • Dacia replied:

      Very true! I really need to think about this a little more. Maybe assign some points and create a weighted average- lol! All of these things are important to me- I guess I just need to figure out what is the most important! Thanks crazy hookerchick! Lol!

  2. jamesandjax replied:

    Definitely not option 3. I lean toward option 1, and asking your complex to update their gym. You can do it anonymously! Or post a crappy review of them on apartmentfinder.com and then tell the office you read the review online and were wondering if they planned to update their gym anytime soon. It’s a longshot, but I wonder if they would be motivated to update things if they were getting a bad rap online! I would be willing to write a review! 😉

    I think the cold meds are kicking in. lol.

    • Dacia replied:

      Ha ha ha! That’s a great idea! I think i might seriously post a review and then use it to try and get a new gym! You are so smart!

  3. jakennicksmomma replied:

    Im gonna have to agree with james. The military makes us move around enough for me, I don’t want to add to it. 18 months isn’t that long. I would rather suffer a crappy kitchen and gym, then go though the process of finding a place and moving all my crap. The only way I would move if I were in your situation is if I could get the military to move my stuff on base for me. I have lived in two different military housings (right now included). They have both been off base military housing and I love it.
    Yeah sometimes is sucks that Matt wants to shave before he heads over to the park, but otherwise its great to be surronded by other families that are going through the same thing you are.
    Also, to tie into your hanging out with friends thing, I have made good friends with my neighbors.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

