It ain’t over ’til the fat lady…gets skinny

Here is the bottom line, people- I am fat. But you already knew that from knowing me and/or from reading this blog. Do you know how fat I am? Last Friday I thought I should probably weigh myself in order to know the end result, in pounds lost, once I have completed my current fitness routine. I wasn’t shocked when I saw my weight because I weigh myself every time I start something like this. I was, of course, disappointed in myself for getting to this point. As of last Friday, I weighed 286 pounds. Right now I am guessing there is a mixed reaction to this; possible disgust, as that is how I feel about it myself and maybe some sadness for a friend facing a huge health issue in her life.

My goal weight is 150 lbs. although for my height I should weigh 130 lbs. Let’s think about this for a minute. For me to reach my goal weight I need to lose 136lbs- which is like losing a whole person. For me to reach the ideal weight for my height I would need to lose 156lbs- basically I would have to lose an overweight person. That thought is mind numbing. That number is so high it seems impossible for me to reach but I can’t let that stop me. I am just going to have to set some short-term goals to help me along the way. My first goal is to lose ten pounds by April 1. I think that it is a realistic goal and by creating a short-term goals I will have checkpoints along the way to help monitor my progress. Make sure to check back on April 1st to see if I reached my goal.

Also in today’s post I would like to share with you the first two weeks of the fitness plan and my progress so far. I have recorded my stats for each day, they are italicized.

Week 1

Monday – Rest. You will have two rest days per week. If you feel you need more rest days, take them. In these early stages you do not want to do more than your body is ready for.

Tuesday – Walk for 30 minutes at a comfortable pace. Since this is your first workout, take it nice and easy. Walk at a pace that gets your heart rate up and makes you breath heavier than normal, but you should not be out of breath. No idea of calories burned or pace as this was the day I broke the treadmill, LOL!

Wednesday – Walk for 30 minutes at a comfortable pace. Same workout as yesterday. Not sure of my stats on this day either because I didn’t record them. Oops.

Thursday – Walk/Jog for 30 minutes. Walk for 5 minutes and then jog for 30 seconds. Follow that sequence for the entire workout. This is your first taste of running. Do not run for more than 30 seconds at a time. Run at a pace that is fairly comfortable.  33 minutes of intervals, 5 minute cool down. 1.78 miles, 297 calories burned, average speed 2.81 mph

Friday – Rest. Let your body recover from its first encounter with running.

Saturday – Walk/Jog for 30 minutes. Walk for 5 minutes and jog for 30 seconds. This is the same workout as Thursday. Keep your pace comfortable. 33 minutes of intervals, 5 minute cool down. 1.88 miles, 306 calories burned, average speed 2.96 mph

Sunday – Walk/Jog for 30 minutes. You make a slight increase in the jogging interval here. Walk for 5 minutes and jog for 1 minute. You will start making consistent increases in the time of your running intervals. 30 minutes of intervals, 5 minute cool down. 1.66 miles, 289 calories burned, average speed 2.85 mph

Week 2

Monday – Rest. Every Monday is a rest day in this program.

Tuesday – Walk/Jog for 30 minutes. Walk for 5 minutes and jog for 1 minute. Keep the pace fairly comfortable. 36 minutes of intervals, 5 minutes cool down. 1.98 miles, 342 calories burned, average speed 2.90 mph

Wednesday – Walk/Jog for 30 minutes. This will be an easy day. Walk for 5 minutes and jog for 30 seconds. 33 minutes of intervals, 5 minutes cool down. 1.83 miles, 300 calories burned, average speed 2.90 mph

Thursday – Walk/Jog for 30 minutes. Walk for 5 minutes and jog for 1 minute.

Friday – Rest or cross train. Either totally rest or engage in another activity such as biking or swimming.

Saturday – Walk/Jog for 30 minutes. Another increase here. Walk for 5 minutes and jog for 2 minutes.

Sunday – Walk/Jog for 30 minutes. Walk for 5 minutes and jog for 2 minutes.

For today’s workout I am back to my 5 minute walk/1 minute jog interval. I have done this workout twice so far and am confident I can do it again today. What makes me nervous is that on Saturday and Sunday I am supposed to increase from 1 minute to 2 minutes of jogging. I will try my damndest to do this but I make no guarantees.  I set out on this program thinking that completing it in 8 weeks might be a tad unrealistic for me given my current level of out-of-shapedness.  I am okay with knowing that there is a possibilty that I won’t be able to progress to a 5 minute walk/ 2 minute jog this week. However, no matter how hard it might be, I am still going to try to complete the workout instead of just giving up because I am scared that I can’t do it- that’s what the old me would do.

I will be sure to keep you posted on my progress along the way and as always, thanks for reading!

March 3, 2011. Tags: , . obesity.

5 Comments

  1. jamesandjax replied:

    I think you’re amazing. I wish I could be dedicated to doing something healthy for my body. I’m pretty out of shape, too, although it’s harder for people to tell this about me because I’m small.

    I love that you’re blogging about this. I hope that it motivates others (including me!) to do good, healthy things for themselves, too! And blogging it holds you accountable. I will definitely be checking back to see your progress–even though I feel kind of guilty about just having polished off a box of cookies 5 minutes ago. Oops.

    • Dacia replied:

      Jaime- Thanks for the comments! I was telling Paul about using the blog to hold me accountable for my follow through on all if this stuff. I think it really helps!

      Don’t feel bad for the cookies. You are a vegetarian and just by making that choice you have done something great fir your body. Give yourself some credit for that, most people couldn’t be as dedicated to that decision as you are- including me.

  2. ambers0182 replied:

    Go Dacia Go!!! 🙂 I am so proud of you, you are doing great! I on the other hand, have only worked out twice in the last week and 1/2. However, i wanted to share a fab workout with you… Its Jillian Michaels – 30 Day Shred… So, im not really doing it for the 30 day shred, but it was a really good workout. Its a 20 minute, no breaks workout that includes abs, cardio and a little strength training. It went by so fast, and i was sweating! my whole body was sore the next day but in that great way! So if you ever feel like doing a at home work out.. there ya go 🙂 So since i see all your workout info, I was wondering… What does your diet look like? Any tips you can share? Keep it up! Your drive is motivating me!

  3. Dacia replied:

    Amber- I was actually going to post about my diet today but this post got too long. I will post about it tomorrow. Thanks for the info on the jillian michaels DVD. I think once I am in better shape I will check that out. I have one of her DVDs and I can’t get trough like 5 minutes of it. Lol! Thanks for all the support!

  4. jakennicksmomma replied:

    Yay!! That is so awesome!!! You are doing great!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

