Here I go again

As I have progressed through my 8 week workout plan the soreness and stiffness has started to become more like aches and pains. I stretch before and after each workout. However, for the past few days I have also needed to ice my knees multiple times a day and cover my legs and feet in tiger balm, which is like icy hot or ben-gay. On Friday, one of my co-workers stopped in the middle if our telecom with US Government to ask what the smell was in our conference room. It was me! I smell like a nursing home! I guess stinkiness is the price I have to pay in order to become a healthier me.

I was so proud to have reached my workout milestone yesterday but unfortunately for me the rest of the day was spent in discomfort. I was barely able to go up and down steps without wincing from the pain. Last night I fell asleep with an ice pack strapped to my knee. I woke up still very sore which I took as my body’s way of telling me i needed to slow down before I do some serious damage.

Last Christmas, I suffered a small cartilage tear in my right knee and I don’t want to risk an injury that could end up sidelining me from working out for a substantial amount of time. I also don’t want to stop working out because I feel I am making great progress and don’t want to lose momentum. So I wanted to think of a way to keep to my plan and take it a little easier to help out my knee.

If you have been following my blog then you know I gave myself 16 weeks to complete the 8 week workout plan. I knew that 8 weeks was unrealistic given the fact that I am fat and out of shape. So far I have completed the first two weeks but I fear if I push through the next week I will seriously hurt myself. So starting Tuesday, I am going to restart the program. I think the easier workouts will help provide some relief while still getting the activity level I need. I hope that in two weeks I will be stronger and healthier and ready to progress to the next level.

I don’t look at this as a sign of weakness or failure but rather as a sign of progress and growth- I am making a smart decision that will help my body recover while still maintaining a healthy diet and a fitness routine. I hope you view this decision the same way and continue to support me on my journey. It’s not a sprint, it’s a marathon and I am in it til the end!

Thanks for reading!

March 6, 2011. Tags: , , , . Diet, obesity.

6 Comments

  1. I Lost Over 100 Pounds replied:

    It is not a sign of weakness. It is a sign of intelligence that you are adapting to the signals given by your body.

    One of the problems we have is that we really stink at moderation. whether if is food, alcohol or a new workout program, we hit everything too hard.

    You should never have even tried to do a 16 week program in 8 weeks. I can’t wag my finger at you too much because I tend to do the same thing. Heck, i’m already picturing this massive long first bike ride, even though I haven’t been on a bike in 20 years and i’m out of shape. See, I do it too.

    Get back on the right step of the program. You will feel much better and you are still getting the needed exercise.

    Good luck and have a great week.

    The Grumpy Man

    • Dacia replied:

      Just to clarify- I gave myself 16 weeks to complete an 8 week program. I doubled the length because I knew I wasn’t in good shape so I knew I couldn’t do it in 8 weeks.

  2. I Lost Over 100 Pounds replied:

    Ohhh. Whoops. Misread that bit.

    Well, my statement is still true. It is not weakness that you need to adjust the program. You need to listen to the signals your body gives you. So starting over will help you progress at a better speed for your body.

    So good luck again. I’ll try to learn to read better next time. 😀

    The Grumpy Man

  3. monicaams replied:

    I’m so proud of you for not letting this small set-back completely derail you. Do the program at your own pace and I know in no time you’ll have reached your goal!

  4. jakennicksmomma replied:

    You are rockin’ my socks off!! Not to be a pill pusher, but a big glass of water and a motrin or tylenol before bed does me good when I have soreness.

    You will be in great shape for the giant hills at the zoo if you make it out this way. (My subtile hint…lol)

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks Kathleen! Can’t wait to come visit and hit the hills at the zoo and walk with you as you work towards 550 miles for the year!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

