This one is for the ladies….

Ok, so I am a day late. I apologize. I was hoping to write up two posts yesterday but I only got to the first one and this one was bumped. Oh, well- better late than never.

In honor of International Women’s Day 2011 I would like to pay tribute to some of the powerful, life altering female influences in my life. Some of them I know, some I have never met, and may never meet, but either way they have shaped my life for the better. For all you have done, I thank you.

I, of course, have to start off thanking my mother. She is and always has been my best friend. She is an amazing woman who has led a very difficult life but through it all still was able to teach me everything I know. She has spent the past 30 plus years battling with bipolar disorder, an illness that caused her and our family much pain and sadness. She persevered through all of the rough times, some of which seemed pretty hopeless, and currently lives a happy, peaceful life having control of the illness for the past three years. She is stronger and more upbeat than I could ever dream of being. She has never let her illness define who she is. She is a truly remarkable woman. Thanks Mom!

Thank you to my Great Aunt Jenny who became a lawyer back in the 1950’s, back when it was still somewhat rare for women to go to college, let alone an ivy league school, let alone complete a JD program, let alone become a practicing lawyer who ended up winning some of the biggest cases in California and Federal law at the time. She has been a role model to me as she epitomized the working woman I wanted to be. Heck, she even married her law clerk. She is a badass and makes no excuses for not knowing how to cook or do most household chores. She was a pretty powerful lawyer back in her time and was still able to raise two wonderful children and have a long and loving marriage.

I would like to thank all of the women in the world who are currently fighting for women’s rights, fighting to end violence against women, fighting for equality, and their freedoms. I often take for granted what has been done by the women before me in order for me to have all of the freedoms and rights that I do. However, with things like income disparity and sexual harassment still prevalent issues in our society, I know there are still battles that need to be won and will try to be a more active participant in those things directly affecting my life.

I would like to thank all of the military wives out there who choose each and every day to make the sacrifices required to live as a military spouse. I know it is hard for the soldiers too, but for the purpose of this post I am focusing on the other side. I am an Army wife but I don’t view myself in the same light. My husband has yet to be deployed and works in a research lab so aside from having to deal with the normal amount of BS that comes from dealing with the military I do not categorize myself as a true Army wife. I think about the women who every day are taking on both roles, mother and father, while their spouse is away. I think about how hard it must be to raise a family, or try to start a family, while your partner is away. Some spouses aren’t even lucky enough to have communication on a regular basis. You are required to be strong and flexible, handling anything life throws at you all on your own. Moving and leaving behind friends and careers only to start anew somewhere else, my heart goes out to each and every one of you. You are overworked and underappreciated. For all that you have sacrificed and will continue to sacrifice, I thank you.

To my friend JH who has been with me for 13 years, I would like to thank her not just for being an amazing friend but more so for being such a positive influence on my life. She has been with me through the thick and thin of it all and for that I am thankful. J has met all of my big life decisions with nothing but encouragement- I am where I am today because of her. She is an amazing working mother who fought an arduous battle with PPD and not only survived it but is using her experiences to help other mothers who are going through the same thing. She is the type of person who would give you the shirt off her back and ask for nothing in return. She has been through many difficult situations and life experiences but you would never know that, as she does not take pity on herself but instead tries every day to become a better person for herself and her son. She is a rock star and I love her tremendously!

Last but certainly not least, I thank all of you- my mostly female readers- because each one of you has impacted my life for the better. I know I say the main reason of this blog is for my personal accountability but it is also to stay connected to you. You have guided and shaped the path that I am on and I am forever thankful. Your support and encouragement is incredible and will not be forgotten. So, for those of you who I have known for 13 years or 13 days, I just want to say you are awesome, I love you and thank you.

March 10, 2011. Tags: , , , , , . Friendship, Life.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

