Friday Favorites

I am mentally and physically drained from this week and just don’t think I can pull together a quality post today so instead you get a list of some of my favorite things which will hopefully put me in a better mood for the weekend.    

My iPhone: I do not how I survived without one. Although I had wanted one since it first came out, I could not convince myself it was worth spending the money on- I can be quite frugal sometimes. I am so happy Paul helped coax me into getting one, good move hubby, but am pretty sure he regretted that decision once he realized it meant I would ignore him 24/7 because of it. I love how easy it is for me to stay connected to my friends who are all over the country. I also love the Face Time feature. It makes me feel like I am right there having a face to face conversation instead of feeling separated by thousands of miles. 

Music: I have been a music junky since birth and was raised by parents who are even more hardcore music lovers than me. Both in their retirement, all my parents do is watch Netflix and go to concerts. Growing up my dad was pretty tight with the money except for when it came to things like going to concerts or sporting events, any activity that created a memory. They were always more about the experiences than the tangible stuff and I am pretty much the same. I have only been to a couple of concerts since I moved to SA, one was with my parents in Austin, and it has been a rough adjustment for me. I have found solace in my iPod and Pandora and am lucky I can listen to music all day long at my desk. Some of my favorite bands currently in my rotation are: Mumford & Sons, Arcade Fire, The Airborne Toxic Event, Phoenix, Warpaint (thanks JH) and The Black Keys.

Books: I love reading; it goes hand in hand with my love for music. My father was an English teacher and always encouraged me to explore the world and the lives of others, real or fiction, through books. I don’t get to spend as much time reading as I would like. The amount I read definitely fluctuates with the amount of time Paul is at home. Reading is the perfect escape for me when he is off doing Army stuff. There is nothing quite like getting lost in the imagery or fantasy of a story. I also love the personal connection you can make with characters or authors. I love to read Jen Lancaster because her stories are super funny and very relatable. Currently in my queue: Anthology of an American Girl: A Novel by Hilary Thayer Hamann, Dreaming in French by Megan McAndrew and My Life in France by Julia Child.

Photography: I love photography even though I am not very good at it. It is one of my favorite things to do in my free time. I like photographing anything but if I had to choose what I like best I would say nature. For me, nature photography is a great reason to go and wander through some beautiful parks and gardens and it brings calm to the chaos of every day life. It slows down the mind and brings focus on the beauty of your surroundings. Life doesn’t get much better than that.

Cooking: My love for cooking probably comes from my Italian upbringing. My mother and grandmother are both great cooks and both tend to go overboard with the amount of food being served, especially during the holidays. I am pretty much the same way. I always take on crazy menus and cook way too much. I love having friends and family over for meals, there is definitely a different level of intimacy you gain when you engage in a meal together. I can see why dieting is so hard for me because I only have happy, warm feelings towards food. Life would be easier if I hated to eat and was a super picky eater but that is not the way I am so that is why I am trying to practice moderation and portion control.

Weekends: Who doesn’t love weekends??? As I write this post I am getting happier and happier because the weekend is quickly approaching. The weekend provides you with endless possibilities and I am always excited to see what new adventure I will partake in. I love staying up past 10p and being able to sleep in. I love late breakfasts and multiple cups of coffee, strolling with the dogs on the paved trails near our apartment, Rampage hockey and Spurs basketball games, book sales at the libraries, and unexpected zoo trips, to name a few. I hope that your weekend is an awesome adventure or a relaxing retreat from the week. Either way, enjoy it!

Thanks for reading!

March 11, 2011. Tags: , , , . Friendship, Life, Relaxation.

One Comment

  1. I Lost Over 100 Pounds replied:

    Have a great weekend and congratz on the Iphone. I am jealous.

    The Grumpy Man

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

