Just something to think about

I know that right now most of you are experiencing the same thing I currently am; a bad case of the Mondays. Last night I was thinking to myself that maybe if my weekends were less fun then I wouldn’t despise Mondays so much. However, I am pretty sure that isn’t true. I know if my weekends sucked I would just give up on life completely since my weekends are my saving grace. Mondays are always such a hard transition from weekend relaxation to weekday work stress. It isn’t that I hate my job per se, it is more like a combination of the fact that it is boring and unrewarding and is made exponentially worse dealing with condescension and arrogance from some of my co-workers, all of which just makes me dread being there. I am fortunate to have a job, so I shouldn’t complain but sometimes it is hard not to.

Today my thoughts have been focused around happiness and how I can become happier in some (re: all) aspects of my life. Then, thanks to Twitter, I stumbled across today’s post on SoulPancake which totally meshed with what how I was feeling. Although I tend ramble and rant on about a specific topic, today I would like it if you could read the short blurb on SoulPancake, and if you have time you should definitely check the story that started it all on the Onion, and then let me know what you think.

Is it unrealistic to expect happiness?

I know happiness is a feeling in a moment, and it is fleeting, but do you think it is possible to be happy, or at least feel satisfied, with your life as a whole?

Do you think that it is the need to achieve happiness that keeps us from becoming complacent or accepting mediocrity which in turn fuels our need to continually achieve more which creates more pressure/stress, which in turn makes it impossible to experience happiness?

March 14, 2011. Tags: , , , , . Life.

6 Comments

  1. ambers0182 replied:

    Soooo, i am totally one of those people who thinks that happiness is attainable, Its mind over matter. Its a choice and I CHOOSE to be happy. Over the last year or so, when my life seemed to be in chaos, i really tried to focus on the important things and how i feel. Its really funny because right now my life is so incredibly out of focus, but instead of me feeling unhappy, i am changing things and making myself a better more content person. I admire the beauty around me, I tell my family i love them more, i smile more, i feel happier with my outlook on life. I face my issues head on and decided to stop dwelling. We only have one, i want to enjoy it! I want to really live, and the only one who can make me happy is me. So, i think you should continue to live your weekends to the fullest, and maybe, do something on Monday that way you look forward to it. You can make your mondays a fav lunch day or have a special treat on monday, or send yourself a email over the weekend to your work acct, then when you get in on Monday you can read it and your day might not be so lame…. Just some thoughts 🙂 Keep up the amazing work Dacia, you are fantastic!

    • Dacia replied:

      I am going to try and be more like you. I think you are right, we have the ability to control how we feel and it is all about figuring out how to find the best in every situation and not dwell so much and the bad stuff, try to focus on the good stuff! Thanks for your feedback, it is always great to hear other people’s opinions, especially when they are so positive and helpful! 🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      Your positive energy is amazing! I will definitely try to be more like you! Thanks for your continued support! You are awesome and I miss you so much!

  2. hookerchick replied:

    I dont know if its right to EXPECT happiness, but its definitely our right to TRY to be happy. Happiness isn’t something that is guaranteed and I believe its our job to go find our own happiness.

  3. hookerchick replied:

    I should note, that it’s taken me a long time to realise that no one else is responsible for my happiness other than me. It kinda sucks that I can’t expect happiness to just fall in my lap like it did when I was a kid. But sadly, we’re adults now (although I’ll never admit it) and we have to take ownership of our life and our happiness.

    • Dacia replied:

      I had thought I replied back to your comment last week – so sorry. You are absolutely right! I have definitely taken what you had to say to heart and will be working on achieving my happiness! Thanks K! Love you!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

