Monthly Update

When I first started this blog, just a short month ago, I said there were four areas of my life that I wanted to focus more of my attention on; career, social life, physical health/wellness and family. As part of my quest to be a better person, I wanted to commit myself to fixing these four areas of my life that I am just not happy with in hopes that through this process I will learn how to make my own happiness and start loving myself again. Today, I would like to give you an update on each area so together we can see where this journey has taken me this far.

Career

This is a very tough subject to write about without going into a complete meltdown. My current job makes me feel pretty crappy about myself. My boss has done some things and made some comments recently which make me feel that he thinks I am incompetent. It’s not a good feeling, especially because the work I am doing is pretty simplistic. Nothing I have done since I started here has challenged me, the work I am doing is pretty basic stuff.  Sometimes I worry that I will move on to my next job and will have lost all of the knowledge and skills attained through previous work experiences and education that I am not currently utilizing.

Another fear would be that I leave this job hastily without really looking for or choosing a new job that will be a step up from this job, fear of making a lateral move. So as I have updated my resume and began to look at the job market, which is none too promising, I am really trying to focus on making smart decisions and hopefully fining a job that will help bring forth new challenges as well as future growth opportunities. I am lucky that I have a great friend who always keeps her eyes peeled for new opportunities she thinks I would be a good fit for. We are both hoping that one of them might pay off soon. Fingers crossed!

In the meantime, I am trying to find things about my current job that I can be happy about. Like the fact that I have a job, or the fact that they pay me well for the type of work I am doing, or the fact that I have some kind and friendly co-workers who always seem interested in me and my life and are very supportive of Paul and all of his army stuff. I am trying to focus more on the positives and make the best out of this situation, because really, it isn’t all that bad. It is just hard to keep your head up some days when something happens that crushes your self-esteem and that negative outlook starts to creep back in. When this happens, I take a look around at my desk, which is surrounded with pictures of the people I love, trinkets given to me by friends and mementos from some great places I have been and that helps to put it all into perspective.

Social Life

I am changing my expectations of what I want out of my social life. I have been very fortunate that in the past I have had great groups of friends who have shared similar interests and enjoyed the same type of social situations. However, I can’t expect to have that everywhere I live and since Paul is planning on being an army lifer I know there will be many moves in our future. I need to be more flexible and adaptable and basically try to make the best out of every situation. Maybe San Antonio isn’t everything I hoped it to be but it is my responsibility to make it fun for me. Over the past month I haven’t really changed up how I am spending my free time, per se, but I am taking a different approach to my life. I am really trying to take advantage of every opportunity that comes my way and limiting the lame excuses I typically make for not doing things.

Over the past month I have had some of the best experiences since I moved here. These experiences took place on weekdays (Lady Gaga concert, Rampage hockey game in the social media suite) and on weekends (The Cure: the Vampire Musical at the Woodlawn Theater,   The Jerk quote-a-long at the Drafthouse) which finally helped me realize that the possibility of less sleep or having to work the next day shouldn’t stop me from having fun. This new mentality has also helped me put together a game plan for household chores and other menial tasks allowing both Paul and myself to have more free time to spend doing the things we really want to be doing.  I think once you have decided for yourself what you specifically want out of your life it is much easier to make the changes and create the opportunities that will get you there. 

On a side note; it would probably be a good idea that someone take my phone from me next time I drink. I don’t drink very often, at least not enough to get drunk, and this past Saturday was the first that happened since I got my iPhone. So I apologize for the drunken tweets, Facebook messages, and texts. Thankfully I was too lazy to blog drunk- that would have been ugly.

Physical Health/Wellness

I haven’t talked much about this subject over the past two weeks and for good reason, I have not been able to workout since March 6th. I really over did it and pushed myself to the point of injury. I was having issues with my runner’s knee (yes, I see the irony that I have runner’s knee and can barely jog) and somehow by favoring my right knee I ended up hurting my left knee/shin. I made sure I was taking every precaution to avoid injury; stretching before and after, staying hydrated, etc. but the reality is I am out of shape and more susceptible to injury just because I don’t have strong muscles. So, I spent the last two weeks resting, trying to avoid stairs, doing activities that were not as strenuous on my knees, and healing.

I am finally at the point where I feel comfortable to start pushing myself again but this time I am taking a different strategy. I am going to incorporate some weight training in with my cardio and switch from the treadmill to the elliptical until I can build up a strong foundation that can support my fat ass running on a treadmill. Paul is showing me some weight training workouts I can use to help build up my muscles and still get in a good calorie burn.

On a positive note; although I took a hiatus from my workout routine I was still able to stick to my diet plan. I am still doing the slim fast plan, having my two shakes a day, and it is going well. I only messed up twice in the past month and each time was for valid reasons like not being able to get home to have my dinner shake. I am proud of myself for sticking to a plan and not letting my minor injury completely derail the whole plan.

Recently I have heard a lot of people talking about their positive experiences with Weight Watchers and am thinking that maybe in the next few months I may join. We’ll see. Right now I am still focusing on trying to develop good habits and behaviors and making realistic changes that fit into my life. I am not looking for a temporary fix; I want something that will make a permanent change in my life. Maybe the results I see will be slower, and I will have to tweak things along the way, but I don’t want the end result to be something I will not be able to maintain. So my diet/fitness plan is still a work in progress, like me, but I am still working at it and that, in my opinion, is the most important thing.

Family

Well, I don’t have much to say on the baby topic since I just posted about it on March 1st. If you haven’t read that one, now is your chance. You are officially caught up on what’s been happening on the baby front. I will add this though; although this whole infertility issue has been hard on both Paul and myself, I would just like to say how fortunate I am to have a husband who has been very loving and supportive through everything. Not saying this hasn’t made our lives a little harder, but it has also brought us closer together and allowed us to open up about a very private topic not only with each other but to our friends and family. I think the more we have been able to talk about it, the more we have found support outside of ourselves. It is nice knowing we have such a big and loving support system out there.

Also on the family topic; in just one short month Paul and I will be heading to New Orleans to for a weekend mini-vacation. We will be meeting my parents there and celebrating my Mom’s birthday and Easter with them. Then the four of us will return to San Antonio together and my parents will stay with us for a couple of days before heading home. I haven’t seen my parents since December 2010 and Paul hasn’t seen them since December 2009 so this will be a great way to spend time with them; exploring a city I have never been to before. In the works is a plan for Paul and I to return home to Philly/NJ for seven or eight days in July. It will be nice to see my aunts, uncles, grandparents that I haven’t seen since I moved to TX as well as spend some quality time with friends. The hardest part of moving is always the people you leave behind.

That’s about all I have for you on the update front for today. Thanks for reading!

March 21, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , . Life.

6 Comments

  1. jakennicksmomma replied:

    You are amazing and inspire me. I am loving the positive energy! Having a postive outlook can do so much to make life better.

    Funny you mention WW. I just stared back up today.

    • Dacia replied:

      Maybe WW is the way to go. It seems like alot of people have had success on the program and its not super restrictive which I think makes it easier to transition to that lifestyle and maintain after you reach your goal.

  2. jamesandjax replied:

    I drunk-blogged once. The result? The Wiggles post. Ian still teases me for having a “crush” on the yellow one (Greg, not Sam). LOL.

    I can’t believe you’ve been blogging for only a month. I feel like you’ve been doing it forever! Happy 1 month anniversary! I hope you stick with it. I love it.

    I’m glad you’re scouting New Orleans prior to our trip there in June. Maybe you’ll know all the hot spots we can check out. At least a good bar or two! Gonna need to drink to forget my cute little boy at home. *sniffle, sniffle*

    • Dacia replied:

      I will definitely be scouting out some fun places for us all to try. I can’t wait to see you in June!

      Thanks for your loyal support and continuous encouragement. I am so lucky to have you as a friend!

  3. monicaams replied:

    I did WW for about a year and it was fabulous, 1 of the easiest things I’ve ever done. I’ve been seriously thinking of going back! If you do start let me know and we can go together, it’s more fun when you do it with someone else!!!

    • Dacia replied:

      I think you know my response to this so
      I don’t really have to comment, do I?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

