Back in the saddle again….

Happy Friday! I thought that today I would give you an update of what is going on with my weight loss and fitness journey. This has been a big week for me because I was finally able to hit the gym again after a two-week hiatus. It really felt great to be able to get back into a routine. If you happened to see my “newsflash” post from Monday then you will also know that they replaced the broken treadmill (yes, the one that I broke) and using the apartment complex gym became an option for once I am back on my jogging routine again. However, as of right now I am easing up on the treadmill routine until I can build some strength and instead opting for a routine that utilizes the elliptical machine, recumbent bike and the different weight machines at the gym which provide me with a lower impact workout. I alternate between weights/biking and elliptical/biking. It has been a great workout routine, aside from the fact that I lack upper body strength and can barely make it through three sets on the bench press/inclined press/shoulder press without crying. Other than that I have been able to really push myself in these routines without causing myself physical pain so that is definitely a step in the right direction.

As far as my weight loss goes, I have big news on two fronts. First off, I have joined Weight Watchers. I knew the program worked and had previously thought of it as a possible route to take in my dieting but once I started to receive so much feedback from people who had found previous success with WW or were going back onto WW to help them lose weight I really started to consider it. Then when one of my local friends commented on how she used it previously and it worked for her, how she was thinking of joining back up and that she would join if I joined with her I was sold! So on Wednesday, I officially became a Weight Watchers member.  Tomorrow morning MS and I will be hitting up our first meeting and I am so freaking excited. I have my online profile set up, I have been tracking my points and I even downloaded the WW app onto my iPhone; I am ready to go.

In other weight loss news, April 1st is just one week away and I have not forgotten about my weight loss goal of losing 10 pounds by that date. I was nervous about whether or not I would make this goal, especially since I spent two weeks not exercising. Even though I don’t post my results, I do weigh myself weekly and so I am pleased to tell you that this morning when I weighted myself I was at 10.6 pounds lost. I am very proud of myself for reaching my first goal early and I know my saving grace in the two weeks off from working out was continuing to follow my diet. It was very important that the physical hurdle didn’t derail me from the whole routine and sticking to the diet even without the exercise was better than nothing at all. I am pleased with my personal growth as old Dacia would have quit when she hurt her knee and would have already gained the weight back. So, yay me! Also, I am very excited to see what my weight will be next week on the April 1st weigh in so stay tuned!

One last thing for the day: when people say you experience an increase in your energy level from working out they aren’t lying. I feel better than I have in a very long time. I wake up with a million times more energy and feeling great about myself and it has only been 32 days! It’s incredible how much can change in just one month! I hope this motivates you as much as it continues to motivate me.

Sweating my butt off after yesterday's workout but it felt great!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

From your perspective, is there anything you would like me to start including in my posts; weekly weights, exercise results, etc.? I would love your feedback as to what you would want me to include, or not include, in these types of posts.

Have a great weekend! I love you guys! Thanks for reading!

March 25, 2011. Tags: , , , , . Diet, obesity.

4 Comments

  1. jamesandjax replied:

    Yay! I’m so happy for you! 10.6 lbs is a big deal! I think it’s cool to read your progress and exactly what you’re doing. You are motivating me. I downloaded the ExerciseTV app for my iPhone the other day, and I worked out for the first time in years. Granted, it was only a 10-minute routine, but I still feel my abs aching 2 days later. That is how out of shape I am! So, I’m taking it slowly and am glad to do any amount of exercise at all for now.

    As for your blogging, I’d like to see your blog readership grow because you have so much to offer, especially to those of us struggling to start eating better and working out. So let me know if/how I can help!

  2. Dacia replied:

    Thanks James! I am glad you are finding your motivation from these posts. I know it must be super tough with Jax and work and everything else life throws at you to be able to find time to workout. I am very proud of you for squeezing it in when you can! Also, I am so proud of you because you are super skinny and most people would just take that as a sign of their healthiness and not bother. You are amazing for working towards your physical health when your appearance is perfect as is!

    As far as my readership, I am still trying to figure out this whole blogging thing. If you have any pointers I would really appreciate them. If there is anything you had in mind to help out, feel free because it is a great feeling knowing you are helping (even just a little) other people. So, let me know what I need to do to get the word out!

    Love you!

  3. jakennicksmomma replied:

    Yay!!! 10.6 lbs down is amazing!! Im glad to hear you so motivated, it also lights a fire under me.

    I hope you enjoy WW. Im interested to hear about the meetings.

    I enjoy reading updates on your weightloss progress. Keep up the good work!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks! I am pretty proud of myself. I have a long road ahead but am happy to have reached my first milestone.

      Thanks for your feedback- I will definitely post about meetings and my weight loss!

      How are you doing with your goals?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

