“The future you see is the future you get”

My first goal deadline is looming with April 1st is just around the corner. As it has been approaching I have found myself spending more time thinking about goals; both long-term and short-term, and how I hadn’t yet established a formal list of what I am hoping to accomplish over the next year. I knew that in order to be successful this was something that needed to be done. The list I put together includes both weight loss and personal goals and I hope this will help me to stay focused on what I am trying to accomplish and hold me accountable to follow through.

When I first started this blog and my weight loss journey, I was hoping to lose ten pounds a month for the first few months. I did realize that was a little above the 1-2 pound per week average but since I have a lot of weight to lose it is not unrealistic for me to try to aim higher. However, reading up on the new WW program, they say that if you follow the new points plus plan you should only lose 1-1.5 pounds a week. Regardless of what WW says, I am still going to set my monthly goals at 10 pounds. Knowing it won’t come easily give me a reason to work even harder.

Short-Term Goals

1. My personal short-term goal is to lose 10 pounds a month for the first six months; March through August

2. WW goal: 5% (14 pounds) weight loss. This is based on my starting WW weight of 280. Target date to 266; May 7th

3. WW goal: 10% (28 pounds) weight loss. This is based on my starting WW weight of 280. Target date to 252; June 18th

4. Post on my blog at least five days a week

5. Paul entered me into a chili cookoff at his work. It is a fundraising event. I plan on winning it and will do so using a healthy, low-fat recipe. Date TBD, but will keep you posted.

Long-Term Goals

1. Over the course of the next year I would like to take at least 4 vacations, this includes weekend trips because I have very limited vacation time at my job. I need to experience more of life outside of San Antonio.

2. My biggest goal, only because I truly have to bust my butt to get to this point, is to be able to shop at regular stores- size 12/14. I cannot wait until this day comes. I hate, hate, hate shopping at plus size stores; not because I am embarrassed but because I really have a hard time finding styles of clothes that I like.

3. New job or new position at current job. I feel like my career growth has come to a screeching halt so I am working on finding something better.

4. Be on an IVF waitlist or an adoption waitlist. Which list we end up on will be determined by Paul’s biopsy.

5. In one year I expect to be happier with myself and the progression I have made and plan to still be working towards becoming a better version of myself. To me, that journey will never have an end date.

I am a lucky person because the feedback and support I receive from you helps to provide me with the strength and motivation I need to continue to work towards my goals. This isn’t all just about me though; I would love to hear about your goals and what you are working towards in the short or long-term. I hope to be as supportive of you as you have all been of me.

Thanks for reading!

“The future you see is the future you get” Robert G. Allen

March 28, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , . Diet, Life, obesity.

4 Comments

  1. jakennicksmomma replied:

    I am more than happy to help with your first long term goal. There is always a bed available in beautiful San Diego.

    I’m so happy to be able to follow your journey.

    • Dacia replied:

      Update to long-term goal #1: will take 4 vacations this year, one of which will be to San Diego!

  2. jamesandjax replied:

    Awesome list, and I have no doubt you’ll rock all those goals! Let me know if/how I can help you.

    I swear, you would love & benefit from the Live a Better Life 30-day challenge: http://celestinechua.com/blog/live-a-better-life-in-30-days-challenge/

    I think she said she’s starting it again April 1, if you’re interested. I did it in September 2010, and I think my goals included (I have them written down at home): 1) Start a blog (check!); 2) recover from PPD (check, I’m pretty sure); 3) Start doula training (this is on hold until Jax is older and I have some free time for certification). Those are the top 3 I can remember off the top of my head. But I also want to cut out most of the processed food I eat, begin a fitness routine that I do at last 2x/week, and take more time for myself.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

