S.O.S.- Save Our Snacks

Ok, people. I need your help with something. I need some ideas for healthy snacks that I can incorporate into my repertoire of foodstuffs. I am trying to stick to my weekly goal of using all my daily Weight Watchers points but man is it tough. You see the WW points are calculated using several criteria, one of which is weight and since I am very heavy my daily point’s value is very high. Since I wanted to stick to my healthy snacks like carrots & celery and bananas I tried incorporating humus and peanut butter respectively in order to add some points as fruits and veggies have no points but I am still struggling using up all my daily points.

Another reason for the need for snack suggestions is that I would like to increase my point usage in the morning and at midday. My current meals and snacks cause me to end up with over half my points left after lunch which in turn causes the need to eat a second serving at dinner followed by a large snack after my workout in order to use up all of my points. This causes me to feel overly full when I go to bed which is not comfortable and does not lead to a good night’s sleep.

So, my dear readers, I am seeking your help here. You don’t even have to be on WW in order to make suggestions. Since WW is pretty flexible I can really incorporate anything I want into my diet. Please just leave a comment with some of the things you like to snack on or ideas you might have for me. The only restriction I have is that it should be somewhat healthy. Of course, as I type this I realize I bought some mini cheese sticks to have with my lunch or for a snack and completely forgot about them. Doh! Note to self: don’t forget cheese sticks tomorrow! 😉

If I receive enough feedback I might take your comments and turn them into a post in order to share the ideas with everyone. Let’s put our thinking caps on and come up with some great ideas! Thanks for reading!

April 5, 2011. Tags: , , , . Diet, Food.

15 Comments

  1. jamesandjax replied:

    Some of my go-to healthy snacks for work include nuts (I love the Planters Nut-rition line), yogurt (I bring a container of granola to mix in), granola bars, peanut butter and banana, peanut butter and apple slices, and apples slices with cheddar cheese sticks. One that isn’t as healthy but is a standard in my diet is a baggie of Pirate’s Booty. Jax and I are hooked on it. If I remember any more of my work snacks, I’ll come back and comment again.

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks! I love all your suggestions. I definitely think I should try to incoporate some of these into my daily snacks. They all sound yummy!

  2. jakennicksmomma replied:

    I LOVE cottage cheese. I know most people don’t love it too, but Yumm-O!

    For an occasional sweet tooth snack I eat a few hershey’s kisses. I usually have 5. Its a great way to calm my sweet tooth and its no too many points.

    I also add little things throughout the day to try and eat all my points. I put olive oil, avacado, crumbled feta, and a little lunch meat on a salad to keep me full longer.

    I know it can smell up an office but there are individual pop corn servings sold. I find it can be pretty filling. When I used to work, I would pop a big bag at home and then divy it up in zip lock bags to take with me. Only downside to that is they can get a little stale if not eaten soon.

    Happy snacking!

    • Dacia replied:

      You know, I have never been a fan of cottage cheese but I should probably try it out again as my tastes have drastically changed since childhood. Do you eat it plain?

      I am liking the hershey’s kisses and the extras you use on your salad, all sounds like great ideas. I will definitely keep these in mind. Thanks!

      • jakennicksmomma replied:

        I eat it plain. I have always been a fan and have started Jake liking it too. Its always yummy with some fruit. Another snack I like is fat free greek yogurt (Fage is my fav. brand but kinda pricey). I eat it plain sometimes or with a little honey.

      • Dacia replied:

        OK, I will definitely check it out. I have some Fage in the fridge to use in some dinner recipes but I think I will use the leftover yogurt as a snack. Yum! I also like kefir, and I should get in the habit of drinking that in the mornings. I always forget about drinking stuff as a way to use up my points!

  3. subha replied:

    i can’t believe you have a hard time using up your points! When i’m counting calories, i am STRUGGLING to stay under my daily alotment. which is probably why my husband is skinnier than me (i NEVER thought I would be one of those!).

    anyways – i ditto the yogurt and granola. I recently discovered Chobani yogurt – it is greek yogurt which is not exactl something new, but there is something in their culture that has SOOOOOO much protein! One little 8 ounce to go cup has 22 gram of protein! And you can get them in 0% fat – they are great! In fact, my little one does struggle to eat enough (don’t get me started!) so I give her the 2% ones – and it works for a whole meal for her! So – you can eat them alone (they come in various flavors). Or you can also get the vanilla flavored one (I get the BIG tub of it) and mix it with granola (recently I really like the “just Bunches” cereal, which is basically the granola from Honey Bunches of Oats). I’m sure there are more organic/natural versions of granola – you could also make your own – but I love that one, so have stuck to it for now.

    cheese sticks – a definite winner

    I also do apples with peanut butter (i especially love the fresh ground honey roasted peanuts from whole foods), and red bell peppers with hummus

    slices of tomatoes with salt (i eat WAY too much salt)

    slices of cucumbers with salt, pepper and lemon (if you have Indian Chaat Masala – a definite plus)

    ok, that’s all I can think of for now…hope it helps!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks Subha for your list of great snack ideas! I have seen Chobani yogurt before but have never tried it. With all that protein it would make a great snack and help me use up some points. I know, it’s kind of funny my struggle with not using all my points. It is just because I weigh so much that daily point alottment is so high. As I drop weight the points will lower and then I will struggle again, but with the opposite problem- not enough points. LOL!
      I cannot wait to try out your snacks! Thanks for the feedback!

  4. hookerchick replied:

    I don’t do WW, but when I count calories, I struggle with eating enough. As a vegetarian, I eat lots of veggies and love them, so its hard to get enough calories. But here’s what I’ve tried to add calories:

    Milk. A nearly perfect nutritious food. Great to add to a meal, and an EXCELLENT post workout snack. And not at all filling. I drink skim, but even a low fat would be good. You could also drink chocolate milk. Soy Milk would also work. I just had some Light Chocolate Silk as my post workout snack today.

    Dips with the veggies. I actually struggle with getting ENOUGH fat in my diet, so a small amount of regular ranch dressing works well for me. Hummus or guacamole are perfect. (Check out Wholly Guacamole 100 calorie packs)

    Nuts with an apple and cheese.

    Cottage cheese. I get the Breakstones Cottage Doubles. Its most expensive than buying a large container, but totally worth it for taking to work for a mid-morning snack. You could always add some extra fruit if you have a hard time with the cottage cheese.

    Chobani yogurt. I love the pomegranate one, and the peach is good too…hate the raspberry one (just a warning, I love raspberries, but could not stomach the raspberry flavour).

    Special K Protein Shakes. I use these as a meal replacement if I’m running late in the morning along with some fruit. But they’re also a good snack or great for when you’re craving chocolate but don’t want to mess up the day.

    Jell-O Haven’t had these in a while but I used to buy the sugar free puddings. Perfect for the sweet cravings without undoing the day.

    Crackers and cheese (with fruit or veggies or hummus)

    Granola bars

    MorningStar Farms Breakfast Sausage Patties are a great (quick) addition to a breakfast. I eat one with cereal and fruit. Not enough to fill you up, but some extra protein and fat to start the day.

    My god…that was long. Sorry. Hopefully people find it helpful though.

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks for all the ideas! I am definitely going to try some of them. I like the Morning Star sausgae idea, that would definitely be something I should keep on hand! I really appreciate your feedback! You are awesome!

  5. crustabakes replied:

    i am totally clueless on the WW points system. I am just here to drop you a note on how very impressed i am at your commitment. I hope you will reach whatever your target weight is soon! good luck!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you! Your support means alot to me!

  6. Ginger replied:

    I was on the old ww and was very successful until they switched to the pp. I like you felt like I had way too many points. I found myself snacking on junk just to fulfill my dailies and have struggled to get back on track since.
    My leader told me to increase my protein but I still reach for the sweets and can see my old bad habits resurfacing. I’m glad I found this post because I’m going to use all of the suggestions to retrain my brain. Thanks!!

    • Dacia replied:

      I was so fortunate for all the feedback I received from this post! So many great, healthy snack ideas. It’s also nice to know that you are not the only person struggling with using all the daily points! I am glad to have people like you to help guide me to make better choices! Thank you!

  7. Moony Monday « thirtythreeandcounting replied:

    […] I didn’t discuss on Saturday, and a list of healthy snacks compiled from comments left on my ‘S.O.S.- Save Our Snacks’ post. This post will be representative of how I feel today, scatterbrained and exhausted. I mean, […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

