Thought-provoking Thursday

Back in the fashion of previous week’s posts, here are my responses to five more questions from Marc and Angel Hack Life’s list of 365 thought-provoking questions to ask yourself this year. I hope that today you might also reflect on these questions and how your answers impact your life.

When does silence convey more meaning than words?

I think there are times in our lives where there are no words that can be said that could adequately capture our true feelings. For me, this has happened when I am trying to console someone who has just suffered a great loss. During these times there really isn’t much you can say, or should be said, all you can do is lend a shoulder to cry on and not much else. I have often struggles in these situations to find something to say that doesn’t seem contrite or forced. It is at these times where words have no meaning but your presence conveys the message of support and therefore words aren’t needed.

How do you spend the majority of your free time?

I spend most of my free time asleep but I am guessing that is not what this question means. Lately, it feels like I have been spending all of my free time doing one of these two things; Rampage hockey games and exercising. I am not complaining about doing either, I love them both. March was filled to the brim with Rampage games which kept Paul and me pretty busy.  In between hockey games, I have been trying to dedicate an hour a day to being active which isn’t always the easiest thing to do but I make it work.

Who do you think of first when you think of ‘success?’

When I was younger, I probably would have thought of my grandparents because they lived in a big house and they always gave me money every time I visited. Of course at a young age I equated wealth with success.  As I have grown up my definition of what makes a person successful has changed. Even so, I still today think of my grandparents when I think of success. Not because they are wealthy because in reality they aren’t wealthy, they just seemed to be from a ten-year old’s perspective. What makes them successful is that they have never stopped living life even in their late eighties. I envy the life they had and still have; world travelers, sports lovers, and adventurers they never said no to trying new things. They have hobbies and friends and live a very social lifestyle. On top of everything they have seen and done they still managed to raise four wonderful children and six fantastic grandchildren. They found balance in their life that allowed them to live the dream, to have it all, and that is success.

What did you want to be when you grew up?

I wanted to be a biochemist. My father’s best friend was a biochemist and I thought it sounded cool and important and none of the other kids wanted to be a biochemist so my aspirations were unique. Yeah, I am pretty sure that I had no idea what I biochemist did but it was still cool!

How will today matter in five years from now?

I am hoping that because of where I am now and the transformations occurring in my life that today will play a huge role in my life five years from now. Each day I work towards bettering my life and although I don’t think this process will ever be complete, I do think in five years time I will be happier in my life, happier in my career, and happier in my own skin and that is because of the things I am doing today.

As always, I appreciate your comments and feedback. Thanks for reading!

April 7, 2011. Tags: , , , , , . Life, thought-provoking thursday.

2 Comments

  1. Ginger replied:

    I love your take on success, how you described it rings so true to my thoughts of it. It’s not about money it’s about the richness that is life. I can also appriciate what you said about 5 years from now, a positive attitude is all you need to achieve happiness and reach your goals, all of the baby steps everyday will bring you much happiness daily and over time. It sounds like you are headed in the right direction girl! Thanks for posting this, you’ve left me feeling motivated to get back on the track I slowly have steered away from. Cheers!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you so much! It’s always great to hear positive feedback and hear that your words motivate others! Thank you for taking the time to read my posts!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

