My first giveaway- are you as excited about this as I am???

****UPDATE**** Congratulations to snoopyhockey33, winner of  Pastel Easter Kusudamas from gracelinepaperstudio.etsy.com 

Today I am going to do something a little different. I have seen numerous blogs hosting contests and giveaways and thought that would be something I would like to do as well. Plus, who doesn’t love free stuff, especially when it is really cool free stuff??? So here it goes- my first giveaway.

I met Karen through her Word Press blog. While reading through her posts I saw some pictures of her beautiful handmade paper crafts and immediately wanted to see more. Karen sells her crafts on Etsy and it didn’t take long for me to fall in love with her unique products and craftsmanship and I think you will love them, too.

I asked Karen if she would mind if I held a giveaway, to be featured on my blog, in which the prize would be one of her crafts. I am hoping to help support her by bringing more traffic to her site as well as have the opportunity to provide one of my readers with a fantabulous gift! Karen was game so I asked her to write up something for this post so you can learn a little bit about her and she kindly obliged. Here is a little bit about Karen:

 “Hi, I am a grandmother of twelve, just adding identical twin girls that were born early. I made Boston my home for three months to give my daughter a hand. Preemies require lots of help! And so do daughters sometimes! ==== I have been interested in crafting since I was a little girl. I began making my own gifts long, long ago. I began an ‘everything’ Etsy shop quite awhile ago. That was a very slow business. So I decided to open another shop. In my many and various Google searches I hit upon a very beautiful paper flower called a Kusudama. My interest sparked, not only because it was so pretty, but because I have such a deep admiration for the Asian people who created this craft hundreds of years ago. When I did a search on Etsy for Kusudamas very few artisans were creating these paper flowers. So I began a new shop. In the fall of 2010 I got a couple of orders for wedding flower packages.  And I was off running from there. I expanded my paper arts into making mobiles, signs, doing anything paper. I love creating from paper, embellishing with beads, using paper punches, my Cricut, but most of all I am in deep love (sounds silly) with Kusudama and all things Japanese. Their crafts are breathtaking and admirable.”

How impressed are you by a grandmother of twelve who crafts and blogs? I know I am amazed and once you see her work you will be too!

Here is how the contest will work: First thing you need to do is stop by either of Karen’s Etsy pages – gracelinepaperstudio.etsy.com (my personal favorite, like I said- I love her paper crafts) or gracelinestudio.etsy.com – and take a look at her beautiful handmade crafts. Then leave a comment on my blog and tell me (us) which item was your favorite- you can also include some positive feedback for Karen, too, because who doesn’t love hearing nice things??? The deadline for comments will be 11:59PM CST on April 14, 2011. Then on Friday, April 15th, 2011 Karen will choose one lucky winner who will receive the item that they commented about on my blog.

I hope all of the details are clear but if you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me.

*Please note that the winner will not pay anything in order to receive said prize however, your address will be needed for shipping purposes which can be given to me or to Karen directly after prize notification.  

I hope you enjoy Karen’s crafts as much as I do! I am particularly fond of her paper crafts and have ordered some for myself and friends. I am excited for this giveaway and I hope you will enjoy it too! Good luck and thanks for reading!

April 8, 2011. Tags: , , , , . Crafts, Giveaway.

20 Comments

  1. jakennicksmomma replied:

    What beautiful things!!! There are so many things batteling to be my favorite. I would have to say my favorite is the unique handmade art balls. Its amazing what you can do with some paper and talent!

    • Dacia replied:

      I am glad, and I am sure Karen is glad too, that you like her work! It’s impressive. I could never do what she does! She is very talented and that is why I wanted to draw some more attention to her work because she deserves it! Thanks for commenting and good luck!

  2. jamesandjax replied:

    Yay for giveaways!

    I hope to be half as productive some day as Karen seems to be. Wow.

    I love the spring garland. Such a pretty way to welcome the season. Gorgeous.

    • Dacia replied:

      I know, right? I am impressed- you know that work is super intricate and takes time and patience. She is so talented. Thanks for your comment! Good luck!

  3. megdaley replied:

    Ok, this got me to sign up for a wordpress account.

    I love Karen’s work. The ideal of a paper bridal bouquet is brilliant! I would choose the 20 flower pick-a-bouquet. I will probably end up ordering a few of them anyway for my wedding.

    Keep up the good work Karen and thank you Dacia for thinking of this!

    • Dacia replied:

      That’s right!!! These would be great to incorporate into your wedding! Karen is actually wokring on a custom order for a destanation wedding so she can definitely customize to fit your style!

      Thank you and good luck!

  4. Amy replied:

    Karen, you are masterfully talented! I love your work. You are the best for letting Dacia to give away one of your creation.

    I love the Traditional Origami Kusudama Five Inch Ball and the flower bouquets!

    Amy // amyismyfriend at aol dot com

    • Dacia replied:

      I am so happy you like Karen’s work as much as I do! She is so talented and I am fortunate to be able to share her work with my readers. Thanks for stopping by and good luck!

  5. hookerchick replied:

    I love the Paper Flowers! Amazing! So talented. I LOVE the masculine series. It matches my living room couch perfectly (which coincidentally is Dacia’s old couch from before she moved to Texas just with a slip cover). I will probably be ordering some flowers to brighten up my living room! Love them.

    Thanks for sharing this website and thanks for doing the give away!

    • hookerchick replied:

      Looking at the website some more…I’m really excited about the Art Balls. My mom has a ridiculous obsession with Christmas and these look like wonderfully unique ornaments to add to her collection.

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks Kelci! Isn’t Karen amazing??? Good idea for your mom, too! She would love them! Good luck!

  6. Graceline replied:

    Everyone is too kind with such gracious remarks. i love the work I do, but it took me a long time to get to this point. When I discovered paper art I just kept moving forward, folding, cutting, reading learning a bit more, doing more, and more, and more. With an Etsy shop it has been suggested to keep doing what you are doing if you LOVE it, no matter what. That IS my goal. Each day I learn something new.

    • Dacia replied:

      Your work is beautiful! I am a 100% satisfied customer and I know whomever wins our giveaway will be too!

  7. alittleteteatete replied:

    Wow, both are gorgeous!! It amazes me how creative people are… 🙂

    I love the Stationary Note Pack Embossed Hearts… so pretty!

    • Dacia replied:

      I was amazed by Karen’s work as well. I give her all the credit in the world for her creative and beautiful items. I am so not crafty or creative – LOL! – which is why the giveaway is for something of hers. Thanks for checking out her sites and good luck!

  8. My Daily Inspiration « thirtythreeandcounting replied:

    […] chance to win something beautiful from Karen’s Etsy shops. The deadline is today. Here is the link to the post with the […]

  9. Spreading the Free Stuff love « jakennicksmomma replied:

    […] It seems as though I completly forgot a great giveaway to tell you about. My friend over at Thirtythreeandcounting.com is giving away some beautiful paper art for a lucky reader. Check her blog out and then the etsy […]

  10. monicaams replied:

    I absolutely adore her red and white Pomander Ball! It’s so bright and beautiful. Karen does amazing things thank you so much for introducing me to her crafts.

  11. Graceline replied:

    Well, tomorrow is the day I pick a winner. This is how I am going to do it. For everyone who commented on my items, (thank you ALL for such kind words), I am putting all your favorite items written on separate sheets of paper, in a bowl and drawing one. The winner will then be announced to the very kind moderator of this delightful blog. Thanks again, Karen

  12. snoopyhockey33 replied:

    Hard to choose just ONE but I like the Pastel Easter Kusudamas. They are so delicate. I’m going to order a couple of bouquets to beautify my office. Everyone will be jealous. 😉

    She does amazing work.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

