Baseball; oh how I love thee

As those of you who have followed my blog from the beginning, you have already seen my posts filled with pictures from hockey games. Well, the AHL regular season is over and sadly, the San Antonio Rampage did not make the playoffs. What does that mean for me? No more hockey. Which may be a good thing as the season opener for the San Antonio Missions is this Thursday and you guessed it- I will be there.

I love baseball and it has always been a big part of my life. Baseball lacks the aggression of football or the fast-paced, hard hits of hockey, but I love it because of the type of game it is. To me, baseball is relaxing and peaceful- not to say I don’t get worked up at games, just that for the most part I know when I am at a baseball game the chaos of life outside the stadium fades away.

Baseball is hot dogs and cold beers. It is peanuts and the seventh inning stretch. It is “Take Me Out to the Ball Game” and Harry Kalas singing “High Hopes”. Baseball is spring days filled with sunshine and warm, starry summer nights. Yeah, I pretty much love baseball and everything about it with one exception- the Yankees. I hate the Yankees!

In honor of baseball and my favorite time of year, I would like to share with you some of my favorite baseball memories.

14 years old, in LA for a family wedding and me and my whole family (aunts, uncles, grandparents, cousins, etc.) went to see the Phillies play the Dodgers in Dodgers Stadium. What an amazing way to spend a family vacation!

16 years old, my Dad took me and two of my friends from school to a spring Phillies game. The three of us girls spent the afternoon running around between innings acting like typical crazy teenage girls.

21 years old, in Chicago with my friend LS (pictured later) attempting to go to a Cubs game. Unfortunately it rained all weekend and the game we had tickets for ended up being postponed until later in the year. I remember being outside Wrigley, soaking wet, I had pink eye and we still had a great time even though we never saw a game.

22 years old, in Toronto for work and I managed to score great seats for the Red Sox vs. Blue Jays game. The stadium, fans, and atmosphere were all amazing. I remember being in the stadium, third row from the field on the first base line, watching warm ups/batting practice. Such a great day!

My mid-twenties were spent watching the Daytona Beach Cubs. I spent most Thursday night’s ($1 beer night) for the three seasons I lived in Daytona at the Cubbies games. That was my undergrad ritual and it was always so much fun.

26 years old, I take my then boyfriend Paul to see a Phillies game with me. This is the first season Citizens Bank Park is open and both of our first times seeing the new stadium. We fell in love that day with the new stadium. For both of us, Citizens Bank Park epitomizes baseball- it truly is a magical place.

28 years old, Paul, now my husband, and I go to an Indians game up in Cleveland. It was rainy that morning and overcast and drizzly during the game. Thankfully it was beach towel giveaway day and we were able to keep dry. We were poor college students still so we could only afford the super-duper nose bleeds, I think we were two rows from the top, and although I was overwhelmed with fear I might plummet to my death we still had an amazing time.

30 years old, Paul and I attend our first Phillies fireworks game group outing with like 50 people. Our friend JH’s brother purchased the tickets and organized the group and we were thankful be apart of it. There is nothing better than spending the day hanging out with your friends at a Phillies game. The fireworks were pretty awesome too!

This same year the Phillies won the World Series and chaos ensued outside of my house in South Philadelphia. I was definitely worried that the next morning I would wake up, head out to work and find my car upside down and burned to a crisp- thankfully this did not happen. I have never in my life seen such pandemonium and celebration as what was going on out on Broad St. that night. It was both shocking and amazing. Even crazier were the 3 million people who were in Philadelphia for the championship parade. Talk about a city filled to its capacity. We were very fortunate to live right on the parade route and so we just walked outside our front door and celebrated with all the (crazy) fans! I will never forget this experience!

31 years old, I attended three very memorable games throughout the season. These games will always be remembered mainly because of the people I went with but also because it was the end of my time in Philadelphia. I was fortunate to be blessed with box seats, given to me by my employer, twice that season. I brought my Father to the first game, as did all the other employees who received tickets, as a Father’s Day celebration.

The second game was spent with one of my closest friends, and by far the best co-worker ever, KO. Although she is not really a baseball fan, really dislikes the Phillies, and was cheering for the visiting team- the Mets, I was still able to enjoy myself. Actually, in spite of KO’s best efforts to sabotage my day (just kidding 😉 ) we truly had a great time!

Me and KO at the Phillies vs. Mets Game, July 5, 2009

The third game I attended that season was the group fireworks game. This time I was sans Paul as he was off at Army basic training in Ft. Benning, GA. In his place was my great friend LS, my Chicago partner in crime, and we had a blast. We spent the pre-game in the parking lot hanging out with friends and then enjoyed most of the game from our seats with the group. During the 8th inning we headed over to my employer’s box seats in order to get a better view of the fireworks which, like the previous year, did not disappoint.

JH, LS and me at the Phillies vs. Pirates game, July 10, 2009

A pregnant JH looking beautiful at the Phillies game, July 10, 2009

Fireworks!

Last year, Paul and I attended our first San Antonio Missions game with our friend MS. It was a perfect baseball night and we really enjoyed ourselves. This year we purchased a 16 ticket voucher book which came with additional tickets to opening night and the Texas All-Star game so I imagine I will probably attend at least 10 Missions baseball games this season, which makes me very happy. Life is all about living in the moment and doing things that will make you happy, and for me that is baseball. Stay tuned, as I am sure there will be Wordless Wednesday posts filled with Missions baseball pictures.

Thanks for reading!

April 12, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , , , . Baseball, Friendship, Life.

6 Comments

  1. megdaley replied:

    Love it!
    Love baseball too! The games are great memories. Thanks for sharing yours!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks! I love baseball and am glad you enjoyed my stories.

  2. cassiebehle replied:

    Your third paragraph makes me wish the sport of baseball was tangible so I could bear hug the hell outta it!

    Couldn’t agree with you more – with all aspects of our nation’s greatest summer pastime. I also share a mutual hatred for the Yankees. Although my team has the worst record this season, go Red Sox! 🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks! I am also a Red Sox fan as well. I come from the school of thought that you can like a team from the AL and the NL and my teams are the Phillies and the Sox. I am ok as long as they don’t have to play each other in the World Series, then I wold be forced to make a ‘Sophie’s Choice’ type of decision on who to root for.

      As far as the Sox record, although it sucks I am hopeful they will be looking much better by the time September rolls around!

  3. cassiebehle replied:

    That’s where the beer comes in handy! 😉

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

