Sunday 5K and Doggy Play Dates

On Sunday I headed out bright and early for what seems to be becoming a weekly ritual for me – walking a 5K around the Tobin trail. This time I went alone and the peace and quiet did wonders for me- totally recharged my batteries. I was a little concerned when I first got there as there were two shady characters mulling around the trail entrance. I think they were probably not shady characters but that early in the morning it is just strange to see people out there not in workout clothes so of course I was a little paranoid. To make matters worse, I walked almost a mile before I saw another person on the trail. That whole mile was spent with me constantly looking over my shoulder- there was no way an attacker was going to catch me off guard.

I didn’t take too many pictures along the way because there wasn’t much new to photograph from the previous trips. I did, however, see this unusual flower/plant and wanted to show you as it is something I had never seen before. The flower itself is a bit unusual in its shape but what I really found different were its leaves. They were hard and pointy and reminded me of a cactus. It was very unusual but very pretty, too.

After my trip to the park it was time to take our babies (our dogs) to their favorite place, the dog park. Paul and I arranged to meet our friends T&K, their baby M, and their German Sheppard Lexa at the dog park. The weather this weekend was perfect for a dog park outing as it wasn’t nearly as hot as it was last weekend. All three girls (doggies) seemed to have a great time and when we got home they all took a very long nap.

They were so excited to play that they ran off before I could get a good picture

Paul and I have been so caught up in our own lives lately so it is important for us not to forget about our dogs and making sure they are getting enough exercise and play time. It is easy sometimes to forget this as they don’t speak up and tell you what they need and if your dogs are at all like mine then they don’t mind just lounging around the house most of the time. Paul and I try to be responsible pet owners and take the best care of our dogs as we can but I do not claim we are perfect, but we try. It is nice to see big smiles like this to remind you how much they enjoy being outside playing, too.

Hope everyone had a great weekend! Thanks for reading!

April 18, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , . Life, San Antonio, Walking.

5 Comments

  1. crustabakes replied:

    WOW, btween the 5k and the dog park, you seem to be incorportaing lots of exercises in your life! way to go! i am sure your dogs are lucky to have you as their master!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks! I try to switch up my routine to keep it interesting and get outside as much as possible! Everything is just so much better when you aren’t trapped in a room staring out at nothing. For me, I need that change of scenery.

  2. cassiebehle replied:

    Sounds like the perfect day! I also have a favorite park I visit when I want to go for a long run – it’s quiet, along the river and the perfect place for reflecting on my life, or just to clear my mind.

    Nothing is better for recharging the batteries!

    • Dacia replied:

      It was a great day and the perfect ending to a relaxing weekend. The weather was great too which really helped. Especially since summer is back- tomorrow’s high is 99! Yuck!

  3. jakennicksmomma replied:

    I love long walks by myself. I haven’t had one in a while, but hope to eventually. What a good doggie mommy you are. Our poor guys haven’t been to a dog park in a while.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

