Plight of a Fat Girl Redux: the Quest for Toned Arms

I hate my arms, more specifically the fat that dangles from my underarm. Oh, it drives me crazy and the worst part is trying to cover it up. It is hard trying to find short sleeve shirts that extend to almost my elbow or ¾ length sleeves. Even worse is wearing ¾ length sleeves year round when you live in Texas. It’s hot. I’m fat. I sweat a lot regardless of outside temperatures so put me in hot and sunny Texas wearing a ¾ length sleeve and I become the definition of a hot mess.

As part of my strength training I started lifting weights 2-3 times a week. I use three different weightlifting machines which allow me to perform five different types of arm exercises; shoulder press/incline bench press/bench press (I only do one of these per workout, rotate the exercise throughout the week), tricep curl, bicep curl, lat pulldown, and seated row. Then during what I have dubbed Saturday boot camp with Paul, he makes me do push-ups and fake pull-ups (my feet don’t leave the ground) and I am awful at both. Even with the weightlifting I am not seeing any increase in upper body strength and I struggle doing just 10 push-ups every week.

Last Saturday after boot camp, on my way to my WW meeting, I decided that I wanted to take boxing classes. I know that boxing will not only help shape/tone my arms it will also help increase my endurance and provide me with a heck of a workout. I discussed this with Paul and he also thought it was a great idea so I started to do some research on local boxing gyms to see what is available in my area. I also asked some of my friends if they knew of anyone who has taken boxing classes in San Antonio hoping to get a recommendation. I ended up finding a boxing gym that has a class, open to any skill level, that is offered Monday through Thursday nights and the first class is free. I am only interested in doing one class a week to start with so when I get back from NOLA I am going to check out this class (for free! Yay!) to see if I like it and can afford it. Maybe I will get lucky and find a Groupon or Living Social deal for some discounted classes. That would be sweet!

Since my plan is to take a boxing class only one day a week I wanted to beef up my current weight lifting routine. A friend suggested that I increase the number of sets that I do from three to five, which I know will definitely help. I also wanted to find some new exercises to help target this area and stumbled upon two helpful articles in my search.

Arm Exercises for Women: Get Sleek, Sexy Arms : womenshealthmag.com

Exercises for Underarm Fat : livestrong.com

The Women’s Health article provides four different exercises you can do using dumbbells specifically designed to tone your arms. The article I found on Livestrong.com discusses exercises for underarm fat and hits three areas; cardio exercise, dumbbell flyes, and inchworms, all to help eliminate that excess fat carried in our underarm region. I will be incorporating all of these into my weightlifting routine and will definitely let you know how they work for me. Hopefully I will be able to do twenty push-ups in no time!

April 19, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , . Exercise, Fitness.

11 Comments

  1. Gone Bananas replied:

    Ooo I like the first one I think I’ll use that! Thanks for the tip! :o)

    • Dacia replied:

      No problem! Let me know if you notice any changes in your arms and I will do the same.

  2. toffeemarshmallows replied:

    Hey. My arms were annoying me too. And ‘gym’ is a dirty word to me. I’m the kind of person that everytime I say EXERCISE, I feel the need to wash out my mouth with CHOCOLATE lol. However, although I havent yet been able to attack the muffin top, I did get my arms under control – without even leaving the house. Ive bought a few fitness DVDs and Wii games over the past few years but lacked the motivation to keep at them for more than a week. But I found the answer to that a few weeks ago when I bought Just Dance. I bought it for a bit of craic for when the girls came round but little did I know how much of a workout it would be – especially for my arms! So once a week we all meet up and I can honestly say that although every Saturday morning my arms are aching, I can really see a difference! 🙂 And I’ve even went on to buy Just Dance 2 and havent lost the motivation to do it yet cos its so much fun that none of us even realise that were exercising 🙂

    http://toffeemarshmallows.wordpress.co.uk

    • Dacia replied:

      I have heard that about that game. Some of my friends have said that bought it for their kids but instead end up playing it themselves. They say it is lots of fun and a great workout. Definitely something for me to think about. Thanks!

  3. ambers0182 replied:

    I love this! I have always wanted to take a boxing class. I bet u will have a blast! I did a cardio kickboxing class in college and must admit it toned my arms and I felt like a basses 😉 I have always struggled with flabby arms! I just recently bought some weights so I am hoping to see big changes in the next few months. I’m also going to try some of ur excercises. I have been so bad about getting on the machines at the gym but now I am totally looking forward to it! Thanks Dacia!!! Keep it up! 🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      Good luck with the weights. If you try any of the exercises in the article you have to report back and let me know if they help. I am excited to try boxing- even though I know it will kick my ass. Thanks for your support! Miss you!

  4. Shrinking Me replied:

    Hehe! I came here to check out your blog after I wrote my post and we both linked to Groupon!! 🙂

    I also hate my arms and tend to live in 3/4 sleeved shirts. The under flab doesn’t bother me so much as my biceps do – they have a weird fold in them that means I NEVER wear women’s cut short sleeves or sleevless shirts. NEVER!

    But I have been doing my arm exercises and I’ve definitely seen an improvement in my measurements and definition. I use the machines at the gym once a week on my arms and once a week on my legs. For my arms I do:

    Chest press @ 70lbs

    Shoulder press @ 50lbs

    Row Machine @ 60lbs

    Tricep Pulls @ 35lbs

    Bicep curls @ 30lbs (together not each)

    Pectoral Flies @ 10lbs (in each hand)

    I do 4 sets of 12 reps of each. When I wanted to change it up I would add either weights or increase sets.

    🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      I thought that was funny, too, when I read your post this morning and saw that you bought the yoga pass from Groupon. They are the best!!!

    • Dacia replied:

      I saw your previous comments in my spam- which I am not sure what happened but I am thinking it is because of the link that they were filtered into the spam box. Sorry. Glad it finally worked for you though, sorry it was such a pain.

  5. SAJ replied:

    hi there – i hope the boxing class is going well. i think it is great that you are setting all these goals for yourself – but importantly you are keeping them attainable – which is the key. I also think it is amazing that you are so frank about how you see your body- that is something that not many people are able or willing to do!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you! I try to be honest because I feel it is the only way to keep myself accountable. I try to take ownership of how I ended up here and what I need to do to fix it. I think that is the only way I can be successful.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

