I’m baaaaaacccckkkk….

Well, I must admit that although my vacation was awesome I am so happy to be home. It was fun breaking out my routine, seeing new sights, trying new foods, etc., but it is hard to balance that lifestyle with my normal routine which is almost completely based around weight loss. I went into New Orleans with a set of goals and a mindset to stick to them no matter what until I got there and realized I would much rather be out exploring than stuck in the gym. I did go a little overboard when it came to food but I tried my hardest to not go too crazy and most times I would order an appetizer as my entrée to at least help keep my portion sizes down. I am very happy to report that I weigh less now than I did before I left. I doubt the scales will reflect a big loss on Saturday but hopefully I will still see some kind of loss even if it is negligible.  For me, right now my biggest goal is to get back into my routine of eating well and exercising regularly. It is surprising as to how quickly one can fall out of their routine. Hopefully I can finish out this week strong.

I was so happy to read all the comments you guys posted while I was away. I hope you enjoyed the pictures and reading about what we were up to. It was great to be able to share them with you. I really missed being able to write my normal posts while I was away but even more so I missed reading everyone else’s blogs. I tried my best to read as many posts as I could each day but it was tough and I missed a lot of them. I feel like I am a week behind in my reading and hope to catch up soon. It is weird not reading your blogs everyday- I felt so disconnected from you, it was a very strange feeling. I had no idea how much of an impact your words have on my life. It was amazing and somewhat shocking to have that type of reaction. There are a few blogs I read that are written by my close friends and I use these as a way to help me stay connected to their lives. However, most of the blogs I read are written by strangers (meaning I don’t know them outside of their blog) and it was so weird to be on vacation wondering how they were doing with their weight loss or what recipes they posted today or how their training is going, etc.  I guess my point of all this babble is it is amazing how close you can grow to people just by reading their blogs.

In other news, things have been quite chaotic since my return to Texas on Monday. While we were away our apartment flooded due to a leak from our A/C unit. My dog walker, Olivia, who was staying at our apartment contacted maintenance and they came out to fix it on Saturday. On Monday, we returned to even more water which had spread from the hallway/bathroom area into our bedroom. Tuesday and Wednesday they came out again and have since assured us the problem has been fixed. Now we are just waiting on the carpet people to come out and replace the padding that was removed last week. What a pain in the butt!

Today at work my boss came over to my desk to drop off a sealed envelope. Yes, I had a mini-stroke thinking it was a pink slip. I think he noticed the look of terror on my face because almost immediately he told me it wasn’t pink. As soon as he left I tore it open, of course thinking it was bad news, only to find that it was paperwork from HR notifying me of my merit raise. Woot! Ok, so it was only a 4% raise but I was still happy to get anything as I have only been here since August and the word on the street was that we probably wouldn’t be getting a raise this year due to our buyout. I’ll take that 4% and be happy with it, no complaints here.

Hmmmm….what else??? I feel so out of practice since it has been a week or so since my last real post. Oh, I almost forgot – I have a goal deadline coming up on April 30th, my second one month weigh-in. The goal was to lose 10 pounds in April so we’ll see on Saturday if that happened or not. It will be close, I don’t think I will be able to pull it off but I am going to try my best to lose those last couple pounds before the weigh-in. Make sure to check back on Saturday!

Paul and I registered yesterday for the Gorilla Challenge taking place here in San Antonio. It’s like a giant scavenger hunt around the city with teams competing for a cash prize. There is also a costume contest and a gorilla contest as well as prizes along the way. Apparently these go on all over the country and if it wasn’t for Living Social (half price registration fee) I probably would not have heard about this. It is scheduled for May 21st and I am pretty pumped about this because I have never done anything like this before. It should be pretty cool!

Before I go I would just like to wish my friend MS a very Happy Birthday! Her birthday was Tuesday, I missed it (although I did text, I didn’t forget it) and we are going to be celebrating it together on Saturday. Also, I would like to congratulate my friend KO. She had a second interview today in Georgia- they would be crazy not to hire her!

Thanks for reading! I missed you guys!

P.S. Can you guess which one is my newest addition, picked up in NOLA, to my little collection of tchotchkes on my desk???

April 28, 2011. Tags: , , , , , . Life.

8 Comments

  1. jakennicksmomma replied:

    That thing is creepy! Cute, but creepy.

    • Dacia replied:

      Yeah, I kind of love the creepiness! 😉

  2. monicaams replied:

    I’m so glad you’re back and am beyond words impressed that you were able to lose weight while in NOLA! (On a personal note, I do fully expect to gain this week, but it’s my birthday so I’m allowing it!) I can’t believe your apt flooded again!! I bet you all can’t wait to get on base where this will hopefully not happen again.

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks! And you should be happy with your results this week- very small gain. Next week after boxing you will be back on track. 🙂

  3. Tasha Lee replied:

    We have similar taste! I love Domo-Kun, even though I know what you bought in NOLA. By the way, New Orleans is my favorite city ever and one place that I would move in a heartbeat. I visited there a few years ago and fell in love. Congrats on your raise and your success with WW thus far.

    • Dacia replied:

      My friend bought me that Domo at the Seattle Comic-Con- isn’t it awesome! I really lie NOLA what an amazing city! I can’t wait to go back! Thanks for the congrats!

  4. juleen76 replied:

    I can’t wait to hear about the Gorilla Challenge! I really wanted to sign up for the one in Detroit on June 25, but unfortunately I am doing hair for a wedding that day. I may look into doing another one nearby though.

    • Dacia replied:

      I am so excited for the Gorilla Challenge this Saturday! I have never done one before but it looks pretty awesome. I have that on Saturday and then the WW walk-it challenge on Sunday so it’s going to be an eventful weekend to say the least!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

