Thought-Provoking….Friday

Back in the fashion of previous week’s posts, here are my responses to five more questions from Marc and Angel Hack Life’s list of 365 thought-provoking questions to ask yourself this year. I know it is Friday but my schedule is still a little out of whack so I thought it would be ok if my posts were, too. 😉

How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?

I would say that I feel like a person in their thirties not necessarily because of how I feel physically but because of my station in life. I think that even if I didn’t know I was in my thirties I would still feel that way. Long gone are the rebellious teenage years and the carefree years of my twenties. I have entered into the stage of life where I am settled into a career and planning for things like retirement, mortgages, and college funds have started play a big part of my finances. However, at this point I am still not as financially solvent as I had hoped due to student loans, car payments, and credit card debt (acquired in my 20s) balanced against a job that doesn’t pay very well. To me, this is a definite sign that I have officially reached my 30s.

Would you break the law to save a loved one?

I immediately started to type out ‘of course’ but then I had to stop and think for a minute. It’s hard to think that I would break some laws, like murder or rape, in order to save someone I loved. I would like to think that if it came down to it I would do whatever necessary in order to save someone I loved but I am not sure I could do something that would hurt or kill someone else in the process. If someone asked me to smoke a big joint in order to save my husbands’ life I would do that. I would also jaywalk and litter, too, in order to save him. Just not sure I could do any of the heinous acts that fall under breaking the law.

What makes you smile?

Wow, this is a tough question. So many things make me smile so I think I will make a list.

  • My husband
  • My dogs
  • Writing this blog and reading my blog subscriptions
  • Reading your comments 😉
  • Beautiful sunny days with a breeze
  • Seeing pictures of my friends, from all over the country, smiling and happy
  • Hearing good news
  • Being around friends
  • My iPhone
  • Finishing up a tough workout
  • Attending sporting events, like last night’s baseball game
  • Buying cute little baby clothes for my friend’s babies- baby clothes are so adorable
  • Laughing with Paul
  • Seeing weight loss results and feeling better about myself
  • Long walks or any other activity that gets me outside
  • Summertime and BBQs

I am going to stop here or this list will go on and on….

When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done?

I really hope that isn’t true. I hope to have done more than I have said. I don’t want my life to be a lot of dreaming with nothing coming to fruition. I want to see the world, I want adventures and to try new things, not a life filled with what-ifs and should-haves. I think that this journey I am on is going to help me make that possible. I already see a difference in my personality and my willingness to be more open-minded so I hope that when all is said and done my life was filled with action, not inaction.

If you had the opportunity to get a message across to a large group of people, what would your message be?

Nothing will ever change if we don’t try to change it. I think there are people out there who think that nothing they will ever do could ever impact or change the way things are so in turn they never try. I may know enough to understand that I cannot single-handedly change the world but by fighting alongside a group of like-minded people, we can collectively make an impact. It takes a village. So my message would be that we cannot lose hope, we must always continue to fight for what we believe in.

Please feel free to share some of your answers to these questions with me. I am always interested in learning more about my (small handful of) readers!

Thanks for reading! Have a great weekend!

April 29, 2011. Tags: , , , , , . Life, thought-provoking thursday.

4 Comments

  1. lovelyshadesofnostalgia replied:

    Oh, I love this! What a great “self-awareness” mission. That “how old would you be” question is a toughy. Sometimes I feel like I’m about 7, and sometimes I feel about 24, and sometimes I feel like a 30 year old (my actual age)! I’m all confused! 😉

    • Dacia replied:

      Lol! So glad you like it. I think that was my fourth post that included my answers to questions from Mark and Angel Hack Life’s blog. A little introspection is always a good thing!

  2. Malavika replied:

    Wow I LOVED this. I have always understood and valued the importance of self inquiry in life – asking yourself the right questions to get to know yourself better, and I have always been looking for a list like this – because it’s hard to think of questions sometimes.
    This is perfect and I am so happy I found it.
    I think it would be interesting to go through a few questions a week, and maybe even with your partner – just to discover more and more about eachother.

    And who you really really are!

    Love, Malavika

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you so much for your kind words. Feel free to join in on Thursday, aka thought-provoking Thursday, to answer some questions of your own.

      I love the idea of sharing this with my husband- I think this could help us leaner so much about each other. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

