That’s just how I feel…

I am the type of person who tries to avoid confrontation whenever possible. I try to avoid talking politics, or other hot-button issues, as much as possible even with people I know share the same viewpoint as me. I spent ten hours last Monday trapped in a vehicle with two men, my husband and my father, who do not feel the same way. I hated having to listen to them argue, I am sorry- I mean discuss, why the other person’s beliefs were wrong. It was too much for me to handle- completely unpleasant to say the least. So, I find it surprising that today the only thing I want to write about is the death of Osama bin Laden. I cannot get it out of my head so I am just going to put down onto paper what is bothering me and if I piss you off or lose readers because of it, so be it. I do not, in any way, mean this to be offensive or upsetting. I just want to clear my head.

This morning, on my way out the door to go to work, I received a text from my husband (who is in the Army- I state this again because I want to make clear, at this point, that I am not against the military) telling me that Osama bin Laden was killed. I then proceeded to get into my car and flip through half a dozen radio stations all discussing bin Laden’s death. I arrived to work to find one of my co-workers singing ‘ding, dong the witch is dead’ and others running around asking if people had heard the news. My twitter and Facebook is completely buzzing over this topic and I am suddenly overwhelmed with people’s ideals and perspectives on this occurrence. Yes, I know, Osama bin Laden is dead but please can someone tell me why everyone is so freakin excited by this???

I should state that I am not unhappy that he is dead but I am not happy either- or at least not over the moon happy as some people are. I really don’t see why people are celebrating this in the manner that they are. I understand it is a victory against terrorism, which is indeed an accomplishment for our military, but I just cannot force myself to be overwrought with joy and happiness that this man has been killed.

The September 11th tragedy occurred almost ten years ago. More than likely, in my opinion, our government had targeted bin Laden prior to that but for sake of argument we will use ten years as the length of time we have been hunting him. In that time, thousands of military men and women have died. Thousands of innocent people caught in the crossfire have died as well. Unfortunately, the death of bin Laden will not bring our troops home from the Middle East any sooner nor will it bring back the men, women and children who died on September 11 and the ensuing wars which occurred because of that.

I also think that the death of bin Laden will not end terrorism or the battle against it. We have already been warned by theU.S.Department of State that if we are traveling or living abroad to be on alert due ‘to the enhanced potential for anti-American violence given recent counter-terrorism activity in Pakistan.’ We are already being warned that this event will probably trigger more attacks against us. Terrorism will continue to exist even after the death of bin Laden because it was not based on him as a person but based around a belief that will not change in his death. So I ask myself again, what am I supposed to be celebrating?

Maybe it is just me being paranoid, and I hope that I am wrong, but it is hard to shake this feeling that today marks the time when things started to get worse, not better. I do not mean for this to take away from the military accomplishment or the sacrifice of the men and women to achieve this. I did not think that the answer to September, 11th was for us to be an idle, unresponsive nation- I agreed with the steps our President took after those events occurred. I am patriotic and fully support our leader and the men and women of the military which is why today’s news does not make me happy. I am concerned for my friends and family who put their lives on the line for this country and wish only to see all of them return, healthy and in one piece. I just for the life of me cannot force myself to celebrate today; I just don’t see it is a positive sign of things to come. Let’s hope that I am wrong….

May 2, 2011. Tags: , . Life.

10 Comments

  1. Graceline replied:

    I am tired of hearing about all of this too. There is a bit of a political agenda tied to this also with the presidential races beginning soon. Of course, this is just my opinion. I also think the American people need something to celebrate and this happened at the right time for that. Yes, one of the monsters is gone, but there are plenty more remaining. Thank goodness for our outstanding military and intelligence. I feel very safe in America and very blessed.

    • Dacia replied:

      I agree and thank you for your response. I also feel very safe and very blessed!

  2. hookerchick replied:

    I’m glad to see someone else feels this way too. I fear things will get worse before they get better.

    • Dacia replied:

      Well, great minds do think alike 😉 I agree, though, I fear too that things will get worse before they get better

  3. Ginger replied:

    Well said, Dacia. Your post is very well written and, in my opinion, very sensible and honest.

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you very much for your kind words!

  4. jamesandjax replied:

    I have been enjoying reading my favorite people’s blog posts about this topic, realizing we all pretty much feel the same way. Which I guess is why you guys are my favorite people to begin with! I was invited to write for Technorati, and my first piece (which is still awaiting publication—grrr) was about the death of Bin Laden and how I can’t bring myself to celebrate it, even though of course I am relieved he is no longer able to terrorize thousands of people. I think it is crude and cocky to overcelebrate this, not to mention naiive. I mean, there is surely a #2 and a #3 and so on just waiting to fill his shoes.

    • Dacia replied:

      You are exactly right! We removed a single person from a group, we did not eliminate their beliefs that foster their actions. We are naive to view this as the end.

  5. lovelyshadesofnostalgia replied:

    I completely agree with you! I couldn’t believe what I was seeing posted on Facebook and the celebrations in the streets. My first instinct was not to celebrate. In fact, I felt very uneasy (I still do), as this might be what ignites all hell to break loose. He spread fear, terror, and intimidation – those do not end with his death. I think it’s people’s need to blame someone, or have a target for their aggression, perhaps. And the scenes of everyone celebrating immediately recalled the images of terrorists or the extremists in the Middle East who celebrate, chanting in the streets at Americans’ deaths, burning our flag, etc. When they do it it is shameful and evil. . .we do it, and it’s okay? A friend on Facebook posted this, and I reposted it because I felt like it was the only appropriate thing to say:

    “I will mourn the loss of thousands of precious lives, but I will not rejoice in the death of one, not even an enemy. Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate, only love can do that.” -Martin Luther King Jr.

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you for sharing the Martin Luther King Jr. quote- it is beautiful and captures exactly how I feel. I am so glad to see most people responding positively to my post. It is good knowing I am not alone with my opinions. What you said about the hypocrisy of our actions, our celebration vs. their celebration, was spot on. Excellent point, very well said. Thank you for your comments!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

