Thought-Provoking Thursday

Back in fashion of previous week’s posts, here are my responses to five more questions from Marc and Angel Hack Life’s list of 365 thought-provoking questions to ask yourself this year. I would love to hear your answers so please feel free to comment on your thoughts or if you are blogging your responses please share a link to your post!

If you could choose one book as a mandatory read for all high school students, which book would you choose?

I think most students still read this early on in high school but I would pick ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ as a mandatory read. There really are so many books I think are very important for children/teenagers to read- so many books that teach us important life lessons so it was hard for me to choose just one. “To Kill a Mockingbird” is one of my favorite books of all time and when I first read it at the age of 14 it truly impacted my life and my views on the world. It taught me acceptance and empathy and for that I am truly grateful.

Would you rather have less work or more work you actually enjoy doing?

This is a tough question. I would like to say less work because it would allow me more free time to do other things. However, I think less work would lead to an increase in laziness, not productivity so I am going to have to say I would prefer to have more work that I enjoy doing. Currently I find myself struggling with this everyday and if faced with opportunity I would probably move into a new position/job if it offered me challenging work because I know that I would enjoy it far more. Being bored out of your mind at work is hard to deal with. It really messes with your interpretation of your self-worth.

What is important enough to go to war over?

Hmmmm, this is really a tough question because I consider myself anti-war. I do think there have been historical circumstances where war was merited. I believe the Civil War was necessary to abolish slavery and that WWII was necessary to end the Holocaust. I would say, in my opinion, war is necessary when no other options exist that would stop people from taking away other people’s basic human rights; including life- I think that is pretty basic.

Which is worse, failing or never trying?

My answer, hands-down, is never trying. I say it all the time, and believe it 100%, that we learn and grow from our failures and they are necessary to our personal development. I am not afraid of failure, though I once was, and because of this I am finally starting to live for the first time. Like the great Wayne Gretzky said, “you miss 100% of the shots you don’t take” and I couldn’t agree more.

When was the last time you listened to the sound of your own breathing?

I know it may sound strange but I regularly listen to the sound of my own breathing. As I work towards getting in shape and improving my cardio endurance one of the most important things for me to focus on is my breathing. So whenever I am on the bike or jogging I listen to my breathing; is it steady, am I taking deep breaths, am I breathing at all, in order to help control my heart rate. Just last night at boxing the class instructor told me to focus on exhaling with each punch so that is what I did. It really was shocking to me the importance your breathing technique plays in exercise. See how much I am learning??? 🙂

Thanks for reading!

May 5, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , . inspiration, Life, thought-provoking thursday.

3 Comments

  1. Latina Barbi replied:

    I also think The Alchemist is a must read! MUAH!

    • Dacia replied:

      I love, love, love “The Alchemist” but my favorite Paulo Coehlo book is “By the River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept” have you read it?

  2. Latina Barbi replied:

    A long time ago… the other……. LOVE IT!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

