Random Ramblings: the Robot Edition

Happy Friday! I hope your day is going better than mine. Not to say I am having a bad day, just that I started the day battling with stupid robots, aka electronic devices, which in turn made me late for work. I should probably say here that late for work for me is what most people consider on time. I like to get to work at least ten minutes early so I can take care of my pre-work items like taking my vitamins and making my green tea. Technically I was not late to work as I still made it in prior to 7am, it just wasn’t by much.

Any who, before I get into my battle against the evil robots I would first like to share with you the amazing gift I received yesterday. A little over a month ago I entered a contest posted on one of my favorite blogs: Ginger Couturier: Trapped in Suburbia in which she asked her readers for their best/favorite April fool’s Day prank and as the winner I received a batch of her famous homemade brownies. I went to the post office yesterday to pick up the brownies assuming I would be receiving a small box with a tin of brownies inside. Man, was I wrong and here are some pictures to show you what I actually received.

 

 

Not only did she do an amazing job with the packaging, the brownies were by far the best I have ever had. They were really rich and fudgey and I consider them more of a fudge-brownie hybrid opposed to the traditional dry, boring brownies most of us have had. They were excellent, I splurged (because I had enough points to do so) and had one yesterday as soon as I came home from work. Since it is just me and Paul, and knowing we could easily eat all the brownies over the course of a few days, I had Paul bring most of them in to work (of course we saved some for ourselves, too) and his co-workers are raving about them. I would just like to say to Ginger that I thank you, Paul thanks you, and the US Army soldiers at the Institute for Surgical Research thank you.

Now back to my ranting about the stupid robots. This morning, as per my usual routine, I went to weigh myself before I took my shower and my digital scale gave me this lovely response- ‘Err’. Of course I tried again and again and still nothing but Err. So I am guessing this weekend I will be replacing my scale. It is probably time to anyhow and I have been looking at scales whenever we are out shopping because the one I have is old and small and ready to be laid to rest. So today I bid adieu to my crappy scale, sorry for all of the abuse.

After I conceded my battle with the scale I embarked on a second robot battle against our printer. Since I wasted so much time fighting the scale I had no choice but to try to print off some important papers (that I forgot to print yesterday) while brushing my teeth wearing nothing but my bath towel. I had tried to print these papers on Wednesday and the printer wasn’t responding. It appeared to be turned on so I left assuming that eventually they would print on their own. So, this morning I go to check and no such luck. So I canceled the print job and tried to reprint them. Nothing happened. So I did what most people would do in this circumstance, I turned the printer off. I firmly believe that most problems with electronics can be resolved by turning something off and then back on. Well, the printer turned off but sadly never turned back on. Blerg! Just what I need- another dead robot. Damn you technology!

A broken scale and printer are just minor inconveniences in the grand scheme of things. Yes, it was annoying but it really was no big deal and by the time I got to work it had been long forgotten. What is a big deal is this statistic I read today; 7.3 million couples in the United States are affected by infertility. Isn’t that a shocking number? 7.3 MILLION. I was floored when I read this on Infertility Awakening– my go-to blog for support with my infertility issues. I have only discussed this topic a couple of times on my blog not because I am ashamed of being infertile but because it is so damn hard for me to talk about. Reading the post on Infertility Awakening today made me cry so you can only imagine how I react when I try to write about this subject. It is something I deal with every day but often don’t have the strength to write about but reading this post today made me realize how important it is for me to talk about it- to rip off the scarlet letter I carry around with me and show the world I am not ashamed of my infertility.

In other news, yes I know I am bad with segues, I attended my first boxing class on Wednesday and it was awesome. It was very hard- I had to stop a few times for water and I couldn’t complete all of the exercises (how exactly do I do a push-up wearing boxing gloves???) but I pushed through and made it to the end. You could definitely tell I was a novice and it will take some time before I can complete 100% of the routine but I am proud of myself for what I was able to accomplish my first trip out. Afterwards, I was talking with one of the girls from the class. She asked me how I liked it and I said I did. I was almost in tears at this point, not because of how hard it was but because I was so happy. During the class we had to hold ourselves in the elbow bridge plank position for one minute which may not sound like long but it really is. Back in February I couldn’t even lift myself off the ground when trying to do this (it is a yoga position) and so I was overcome with joy that I was able to do it on Wednesday. I wasn’t able to do it for the whole minute, maybe only ten seconds at a time and I pulled myself up four times, but just being able to do it at all showed me how much I have progressed in such a short time. I told the girl I was talking with this story and how, for me, it is important to celebrate the small victories- they are what push me through. She agreed.

If you take anything away from this post today please let it be this- take the time to celebrate the small victories because you should be proud of each and every accomplishment.

Oh, and one last thing before I sign off: Happy Military Spouse Appreciation Day to all my fellow military spouses. I hope you know everyday how important you are and how much you are loved- not just today but every day. Hopefully, though, you can get a nice present out of this newly created holiday 😉

Thanks for reading! I hope you all have a wonderful weekend! Love you guys!

May 6, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , . Exercise, Fitness, Friendship, Life.

14 Comments

  1. jamesandjax replied:

    Oh man, the damage I could do to that brownie basket! Do NOT send any of those to NJ (in case you were considering it, lol). Congrats on winning them, and you are sweet to share them with the Army!

    As for infertility, I can’t presume to know what you’re going through or feeling, but I’m here for you always. If you can bring yourself to blog about it from time to time, it might be healing. And it would probably truly help others going through it, too. Support is so important!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you Jaime, I know you are always there for me. You are such a great friend. I know that blogging about it will help and that it could in turn help others as well. I just don’t know what to say other than ‘why?’ It’s a tough subject to write about. One day soon I will post about it again- I promise.

  2. Graceline replied:

    Dacia, I treasure your honesty. I will call you by name in a prayer just for you regarding infertility issues. You are rather inspirational you know, you are very persistant. i have a very high regard for the military. Two of my daughters went to military academies. My son in law is stationed in San Diego and will be beginning a continuation of his education for two years in Monterey. the family with their four girls will be much closer to us. Stay true to your dreams. Sometimes the absence of a time table on God’s end is a bit confusing for us.

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you very much! I appreciate your kind words and prayers. It is hard to not let this situation turn me into a cynical person.

      One of my closest friends is a military wife, her husband is a Marine, stationed in San Diego too. Every day she amazes me with all she does. She is a great role model for me.

  3. Ginger replied:

    You are so sweet to mention me in your blog 🙂 I’m really glad I made you and your guy(s) happy. It’s great that you pushed through your issues with the robots today. You are very positive and thats one the things I like best about you. I’m so excited to hear about boxing class! You go girl! That’s sounds like sooo much fun! I can’t get over how active you are, my limpy self is jealous. As soon as I’m healed I’m gonna try my best to keep up with you 🙂
    I’m really sorry to hear about your infertility, I wish I could say something to make it all better for you. You are such a lovely girl and you deserve the world, I know that fate has a special plan for you though and speaking about it on your blog, I’m very sure, will connect you with and probably help so many others. If you ever want to email me to talk, please feel free, I’m a great listener and I’m here.

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you again for everything. I loved your blog about you and your daughter putting it all together. It really was amazing when I opened the box and saw what you had sent. Very nice! I am definitely going to do your next contest not because I want to try to win another prize but because it is such a great idea. Way to make put a philanthropic twist on a blog contest!

  4. jakennicksmomma replied:

    Happy Military Spouse Appreciation Day to you as well. I might be salavating (that can’t be the right spelling, but I don’t really care…lol) looking at those super yummy brownies. My sweet tooth has been yearning for something all day and those look delish!

    I too, often HATE technology, especially when it acts up! I like the cheapo scale I bought recently from WalMart for under $20.

    My heart goes out to you and P. To see two amazing people have to struggle so much is hard to make sense of. I know you and P will be amazing parents.

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks! We would be awesome parents but if that never happens we will be fine being awesome “Aunt” Dacia and “Uncle” Paul.

      Went to WM and bought a new scale. $25, not too bad. They were cheaper than the PX and they had a better selection.

      The brownies were yummy (FYI- she posted another contest and you should do it gingercouturier.wordpress.com) although I only had one and paul had five! If we hdn’t given the rest away we would have eaten them all.

  5. Jen replied:

    I know what you mean about the scale. This is why I eschew the electronic scales. I use the one at the gym because it is the huge old balance-type scale, the same one the doctor uses. I find my (non-electronic) scale at home consistently weighs me several pounds lower. Don’t get me wrong, it feels nice and all, but then I feel like the stupid scale is lying to me. And if there is one thing I hate more than a scale, it’s a scale that lies. Good luck finding a good accurate one!

    And I sympathize about the bridge plank thing. I HATE that exercise! It’s WAY harder than it looks!

    • Dacia replied:

      Yeah, the balance-type scales are so much better. Unfortunately, I broke down and replaced my electronic scale with another electronic scale. Since my weigh-in at WW meetings is the weight I go off of having a scale at home is just for me to see how I am progressing during the week. I am definitely a compulsive weigher – I weigh myself daily. Probably not a great idea but the anxiety of waiting all week is too much for me.

  6. crustabakes replied:

    I guess its just one of those days for you eh. But with a box of brownies like that, i am sure some of the pain has been eased!

    • Dacia replied:

      They were delicious. Definitely made my day!

  7. Self-Imposed Chaos for a Cause | Ginger Couturier: Trapped in Suburbia replied:

    […] I am also a fantastic baker and Dacia has attested to that in her post here. […]

  8. Versatile Blogger Award « thirtythreeandcounting replied:

    […] In case you don’t subscribe to her blog, which you totally should, you may remember it from this post that included the best-ever brownies which I won from her blog giveaway. This chick is pretty rad; […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

