Weight Watchers Update- Week 7

Sorry it took so long for me to write this post. I typically report in the details from my Saturday weigh-in sometime Saturday or at the latest Sunday. I would like to say it was because my weekend was so busy that I just didn’t have the time but that would be somewhat of a lie. Although my weekend was busy, the real reason I didn’t get to this post was because I was pissed and disappointed and didn’t really want to write while I was upset. I am fortunate to receive such great feedback from my readers and on several occasions I have been complimented on my positivity. Part of the reason my posts are positive is because I work hard to try to be a more positive influence in my own life which is what I am writing about but also because when I am in a negative place I take some time to reflect on the situation and put things into perspective before I write. It’s not that omit the bad stuff from my blogs I just try to write about them when I am in a better place so you aren’t forced to listen to me whine and complain.

I should say that waiting to write this was a good thing as I am in a much better place today than I was on Saturday after my weigh-in. I am not sure if I had mentioned this recently, it is posted on my weight loss goals page, but I had another goal deadline this week; Saturday May 7th to be exact. I was hoping to reach my 5% weight loss (from my starting weight) by Saturday. I needed to lose just 1.8 pounds this week to make the 5% (14 lb) goal but sadly I was just shy of the loss, losing only 1.4 pounds. I was really upset because this was the second week in a row that I missed a weight loss goal. Even more upsetting was I was so close, only .4 stinking pounds, which is really what made it worse. No one likes to not reach the goals they have set for themselves nor do they like doing it two weeks in a row. Ugh! I was not very happy with myself this weekend.

Although I say that I was disappointed in myself for not reaching my goal, I was still proud that I lost weight this week. Any downward movement on the scale, no matter how small, is something to be proud of and I don’t take that for granted. While I may have been frustrated that I didn’t reach my goal I still realized how fortunate I was to see another loss this week. I worked very hard this past week and the loss is proof that it is paying off. I also consider myself fortunate to have the support of so many people which makes this journey so much easier. I think in order to be successful in making a major life change like this you need to have the support of family and friends to keep you motivated, positive, and on the right track. I am not sure I would have made it this far without all of the positive feedback I receive daily and I try to never take that for granted.

Weekly Goals

Continue planning! I will continue to plan meals, workouts and events and stick to the plan best as possible. This makes life so much easier for me.

Time with Paul! Last week I wanted to devote more time to me and this week I want to change that to spending more time with Paul. In case I haven’t mentioned it, Paul will be leaving May 22nd to go to Fort Hood for a month-long training class so I would like to spend more time with him over the next couple of weeks before he leaves. I know that one month doesn’t sound like a long time, and really it isn’t, but it is long enough to completely upend the normal routine, readjust to being a one person home, and then in turn be completely screwed up when you go back to being a two person home. When Paul is away I adjust everything because there is just one person; I eat differently, sleep differently, and spend my free time differently- basically I live in a completely different manner. So, when he comes home I struggle with adjusting back to the way things were, it takes a few weeks for both of us to get situated into our old routine, and during that time it is kind of chaotic. I digress; the point of this is that I will miss him when he is gone and so I want to spend some extra time this week hanging out with my best friend.

Complete Two Boxing Classes! Last week I survived my first boxing class and it was great. It was really hard and I thought I might cry but I made it to the end. The boxing gym where I took the class offers very reasonable rates and so today, when I go back in to take another class, I will be signing up for a membership. For now, and this may not change, I am signing up to take 8 classes a month. I do not think I could handle more than that because of my schedule and because of the intensity level of the class- I need time to rest and recuperate after.  So for this week my goal is to complete two classes; Monday night and Wednesday night.

Walk a 10K! This was a goal for the week which I actually already accomplished yesterday. I found out last week that for our Weight Watchers Walk-It Challenge there would be both 5K and 10K options. I walk 5Ks pretty frequently and I knew there was no way I could physically prepare in such a short period of time to run the 5K so when I heard there would be a 10K option I wanted to do it. My goal was to walk it this week to see if I could hang for that distance. So yesterday, SM and I took off to see how far we could walk. Technically we only made it 5.99 miles opposed to the 6.2 in a 10K but that was only because we ran out of trail. We walked all the way from one end to the other and back covering the entire Salado Greenway Trail and the span was just shy of a 10K. Endurance wise- we could have easily done another .21 miles so I am going to count this as a win.

I hope you all have a great week! Happy (belated) Mother’s Day! Thanks for reading!

280/266.4/150

May 9, 2011. Tags: , , , . Diet, Exercise, Fitness.

4 Comments

  1. The Busy Crab replied:

    Good job! Keep up the good work. Am inspired to find out of there are affordable boxing classes in my area.

    • Dacia replied:

      Yeah, I was thrilled to find out I could afford it. I think because it is a small boxing gym opposed to a full gym they have less overhead. The rates are $50/month for 8 classes or $70/month for 12 classes. Plus a 15% military discount bringing my fee to $42.50 for 8 classes- just slightly more than $5 a class. You really can’t beat that!

  2. Ginger replied:

    I love that you put up weekly goals, it is a great way to get focused and knowing what your goals are helps achieve! I’m sorry Paul is going away for a month, the two of you seem to have a really great relationship, so I’m sure it’s hard to say goodbye for that long. On the other hand, now you can throw a wicked house party!! Great job on your weight loss too Dacia, you are doing a fantastic job. 10k’s, boxing I’m so jealous, but totally proud!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you so much! Your support means so much to me.

      It will be rough with Paul gone but it does allow me to watch whatever movies I want, read whenever I want, eat the foods I like to eat, and have complete control of the remote. There are definitely perks that come with this adjustment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

