Thought-Provoking Thursday

If you had the chance to go back in time and change one thing would you do it?

No, I wouldn’t. Although my life was far from perfect and I definitely did a number of things in my youth I am not proud of I wouldn’t change any of it. Without the trying times and bad decisions I would not be the person I am today nor would I have ended up here. I love my life, my friends, my family and my husband and I wouldn’t want to change that.

If a doctor gave you five years to live, what would you try to accomplish?

I would want to travel the world; there is so much out there I want to see. I could list them all here but I think it would be easier just to state ‘the world’.  I would spend as much time as possible with the people I love and make sure they all know how much I care for them and love them and how thankful I am for having them in my life. I would take some cooking and photography classes just for fun. I would do all sorts of crazy things like skydiving and bungee jumping. I would work less, or not at all, and volunteer so much more of my time. Those last years would be devoted to helping others and experiencing life to the fullest.

What is the difference between falling in love and being in love?

I believe that falling in love is the early stages of a relationship where you are fueled with lust and admiration and all you want to do is be close to that other person. You want to learn everything about them and they consume most of your thoughts and time. The falling in love stage is all pheromones and infatuation and you are completely oblivious the other’s flaws, for the most part. It is so much fun that it would be unhealthy for this stage to last forever.

I think the being in love stage of a relationship is where you start to learn more about each other’s habits and behaviors, not just the surface stuff, and really start to understand the other person. It’s when you start to be honest and deal with the tough issues when they come up. It’s when your relationship starts being tested and you learn whether or not you or your significant other is in it for the long-haul, whether or not you are truly compatible. It may not be fun 100% of the time but this stage is so much better than the falling in love stage.

Who do you think stands between you and happiness?

Me. I think I am the only obstacle to my own happiness. We have the power to make our lives whatever we want. Yes, it may be hard and yes, it may take time but ultimately we control our own destiny and if we want to be happy, we can be happy. It’s as simple as that. Life is no more than what you make of it.

Are you happy with yourself?

Overall, yes. Am I happy about everything I am and do at all times? No. I wouldn’t be on this journey if I was. What makes me happy is that I am taking steps to change the things I don’t like and also try to improve on the things that I do like. Being more self-aware and self-centered (not always a bad thing) has helped me to love myself more and more each day. So, yes, I am happy with myself and happy knowing there is always room for improvement.

Thanks for reading!

May 12, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , . Life, thought-provoking thursday.

2 Comments

  1. Ginger replied:

    You have such a kind heart, it shines through in everything you write. Your answers are fantastic! I love that you are so honest and I agree with everything you said. I feel the same way, but if I were asked those questions I would have never been able to answer them the way you did. Bravo!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks Ginger! From reading your blog, I am sure your answers would have been just as open and honest. But thank you nonetheless for your kind words.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

