Five Top Fives and Friday Updates

Before I get to my five top fives I would just like to give you a few updates. If you are a Facebook friend or follow me on Twitter then you probably have already heard this but just in case I wanted to make sure you all knew that tonight I get to punch someone in the face. Well, that’s my goal at least. Paul has 24-hour duty tonight so I decided to take a boxing class after work (this will be my third this week) in order to keep me from eating take out and watching TV all night. When I was at the gym Wednesday I asked one of the instructors as to who taught Friday’s class and she told me who and then proceeded to explain how on Friday things are a little different. On Friday we are paired with real boxers and we rotate, in two-minute intervals, between fighting them and hitting the bags. We can hit them, they cannot hit us back. This helps them train defensively and helps us develop our technique. My co-worker pointed out that I probably won’t be punching anyone in the face- it will be pretty hard for me to land a punch on an actual boxer- which is true but I will definitely have fun trying.

Also, I wanted to share with you that I am pretty nervous about tomorrow’s weigh-in. I am just .4 lbs away from reaching my 5% goal, the goal I had hoped to reach last week, and I am doubtful I will reach it this week. I haven’t noticed any movement in the scale this week. I have definitely been working hard though; I have logged just under 7 hours of gym time so far but it hasn’t done much for me on the scale. I have also struggled this week with using all my daily points allotted to me in the Weight Watchers program. I am having issues with eating after work, either pre or post workout, because my body just can’t handle the intake of food. I need to beef up my breakfasts, lunches, and snacks for next week to help remedy this.

I know that part of the scale issue stems from the fact that I am developing muscle from the boxing classes which is contributing to the weight not going down. I feel great and my clothes are starting to get baggy so I know I am losing inches. I am thinking about starting to track my measurements, probably monthly, to help show my progress in another way. I don’t plan on letting this plateau, for lack of a better term, slow me down. I am trying really hard not to let it frustrate me. Heck, I am like 115 pounds over weight- it shouldn’t be this hard to lose weight. I know I will work through this; I just wanted to share with you my frustrations. Good thing I have boxing tonight- it will definitely help me work through these emotions.   

On a lighter note, I would like to do another blog giveaway. Does anyone have any recommendations to what type of products they would be interested in winning? I was thinking either a book or another craft item from an artist on Etsy. I know a lot of people use Pinterest, and their new app, is there anything you have your eyes on? I am just not sure what to pick so I am taking recommendations. I am open to any/all suggestions. I would really appreciate your feedback on this so please leave me some ideas in the comments! 🙂

Friday Top Fives

Yesterday, thanks to my blog obsession and Freshly Pressed who featured this blogger the other day, I read this amazing post about 5 Classic Best of Collections. Inspired by this post I decided I would share with you some of my own Top Five lists.

Top Five:  Favorites from my gym playlist- songs that help keep me moving

Dog Days are Over- Florence + the Machine

Heads Will Roll-  Yeah Yeah Yeahs

Rolling In the Deep- ADELE

Born This Way- Lady GaGa

Electric Feel- MGMT

Top Five: Favorite albums acquired in the last few years

Sigh No More- Mumford & Sons

Brothers- The Black Keys

The King is Dead- The Decemberists

The Airborne Toxic Event- The Airborne Toxic Event

Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix- Phoenix

Top Five: Albums I would need in order to survive being stranded on a desert island

Ziggy Stardust- David Bowie

Little Earthquakes- Tori Amos

The Killers- Sawdust (US Version)

Beastie Boys- Seven Day Weekend

Blood on the Tracks- Bob Dylan

Top Five: Foods I crave

New York style pizza

Cupcakes- yes, I am still cupcake obsessed even if that trend is long gone

Penang Curry- I really love all types of Thai curry but Penang is my favorite

Su Jung Gwa- Korean tea, served cold, flavored with cinnamon, persimmons and ginger served as a dessert. This is my favorite part of going out for Korean food

Dim Sum- I love so much about eating traditional cart-stlye dim sum. I love dumplings but I also love plates of Chinese broccoli and roasted quail.

Top Five: Blog topics I love to read about

Travel- I love reading both stories from people’s vacations as well as people living abroad

Weight Loss- I know this is an obvious one but I am motivated and inspired by reading about other people’s successes and struggles

Photography- I love photography blogs not just for the beauty they present to their readers but I also love to read everyone else’s comments. It’s interesting to see other perspectives

Humor- I have a number of go-to blogs that I rely on for my daily dose of laughter. I wish I was as witty and clever as these writers.

Food- I love looking at blogs about cooking of all types; healthy, traditional, baking, for the family, etc. I read them for inspiration and ideas and because I love food.

Well, that’s about it for me today. I hope you have a fabulous weekend. Thanks for reading!

May 13, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , . Diet, Exercise, Fitness, Food, Life, Music.

22 Comments

  1. Latina Barbi replied:

    I can smell your 5% coming around the corner!! MUAH!!

    • Dacia replied:

      I hope for your sake that it smells good 😉

  2. Lauren Alexander replied:

    good luck with your goal and have fun punching the boxers! How fun that would be.

    Let me know if I can be of give-away service.

    http://www.laurenalexander.etsy.com <- that's my store!

    • Dacia replied:

      That is so funny you said that! I was on your Etsy shop yesterday looking at your paintings, thinking of buying one for a giveaway. I love your work! I found you from FP the other day- congrats! I would love to use a painting or print of yours for a giveaway at some point. That would be amazing. Maybe we an email to work out the details? Let me know. Thanks!

  3. Gone Bananas replied:

    Ooo I wanna punch someone in the face too! lol Good luck at your weigh in! 🙂

    PS Maybe an idea for a giveaway would be a biggest loser work out cd/music or one of those armband ipod holders for workouts! You could maybe inquire if you could get one donated?

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you! Hopefully I will have some good news to report tomorrow.

      Great suggestions for the giveaway! I will keep them in mind! Thank you!

  4. cassiebehle replied:

    1. I NEED your playlist
    2. Good luck!
    3. Punch them hard! 😉

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you Cassie! I punched hard! It was awesome! So much more difficult hitting a moving target. It was a great workout and I definitely enjoyed the face punching!

  5. paulbentley replied:

    Hi I’m a new blogger plotting my progress in attaining a ‘healthier’ lifestyle. A yo-yo dieter for many years, I’ve decided ‘diets don’t work’ and that ‘weighing scales are of the devil’ haha. Thanks for a great post, pop on over to my blog and see if you can empathise with my view point re the futility of focusing on weight loss. I totally agree with tracking your measurements. Good luck with your 5%, Paul

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks so much Paul! I will definitely check out your blog! I try to think of this as a lifestyle change opposed to a diet because what I am doing now I will have to do forever. I can’t go back to a lethargic life filled with crap food once I reach my goal weight. Thanks for your support! We are in this together!

  6. crustabakes replied:

    i have just recently joined a gym and am totally with you when it comes to eating take outs and watching tv all night. Good luck on your goals and little earthquakes is one of my fave albums as well!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you so much! I found that the gym is more fun when you find things you actually like to do. For me that is biking, racquetball, and boxing.

      Little Earthquakes is such an amazing album. It truly changed my life and I love it as much now as I did when it came out!

  7. SAJ replied:

    H dacia! I hope your weigh in went well today!

    I have 2 things you can give away:
    1) 2 personalized printable label designs from my etsy shop – I can personalize the text on any of my designs and mail the winner the PDFs (http://LABELit.etsy.com
    and 
    2) an 8×10 print of your choice from my photography website.  Go to http://www.JAS-photo.com and click on “prints for sale”

    Let me know!

    Also – was thinking about your requests for snacks a while back – here is a quick and easy meal I make for myself for breakfast (and other times too) – it is low fat, low calorie, high protien!  

    I buy the morning star veggie crumbles – sausage flavor
    Pur some straight into a frying pan (nonstick, no oil) over medium to high heat and let them defrost a bit
    Then pour in egg whites (I buy the ones n a carton because it is much faster)
    Sprinkle in Some taco seasoning
    And then scramble the eggs – and you are done!

    Admittedly it is very simple – t the idea is for it to be super fast and east to make – big bang for your buck
    – you can make it more fancy by adding cilantro, scallions, tomatoes etc

    Hope that helps with one meal at least!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you so much! The weigh in went very well. I will definitely let you know about using one of your items for the giveaway. That would be amazing.

      I took your recommendation and made breakfast using egg beaters and veggie sausage but I tweaked it in order to use more points. I made it into a breakfast taco. It was so yummy! Thanks!

      • SAJ replied:

        anytime – glad it was good!

      • Dacia replied:

        It was so yummy! It is my new breakfast. I don’t like pork breakfast sausage but I love the morningstar. Excellent recommendation!

  8. kitchentutor replied:

    I’m a bit jealous of you getting to throw some punches!! I just think that’d be so therapeutic after a long week!!! I’m excited to follow you on your weight loss journey. The one thing I’ve found that actually motivates me to workout is hearing about other people being self disciplined and working hard for things in life. Great job and know you’re motivating me!!

    • Dacia replied:

      It was definitely therapeutic and I thoroughly enjoyed it! Thanks for your support- I am glad to hear I am helping to motivate you. What great motivation for me to keep going 😉

  9. Jen replied:

    I’m disappointed that I didn’t have any of the same songs on my workout playlist! I will have to look for those. I personally like “Paralyzer” by Finger Eleven and “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough” the classic oldie. It is awesome to work out to! The beat is good and the words are inspiring, too.

    • Dacia replied:

      Paralyzer is a great workout song! That definitely keeps me moving. Good recommendations!

  10. Matt Satterfield replied:

    Good list on the records. “Sigh No More” was an album my brother introduced me to…which is really strange because I’m usually the one introducing him to things.
    I bought “Brothers” last year, but lost it a day or two after I bought it and didn’t find it until recently. I was pissed because I never got a chance to upload it to my computer. Good album though.
    I’ve only heard the one Adele song, but I have seen her cover of Dylan’s “Make You Feel My Love”

    • Dacia replied:

      I will definitely check out that Adele- Dylan cover. Thanks for the recommendation. I love your blog, you have great taste. So glad you were on FP or I may never have found you.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

