I am so excited….

You have no idea how excited I am for this weekend. I have been eagerly awaiting two events taking place this weekend; the Gorilla Challenge and the Weight Watchers Walk-It Challenge. Tonight I get to start off the weekend with friends and a San Antonio Missions baseball game. The only downside of this weekend is the fact that prior to my walk Sunday I will be dropping Paul off on post so he can leave for training. I am really going to miss him over the next month. I am excited that we get to spend tonight and tomorrow doing some really fun stuff- meaning the baseball game and scavenger hunt, get your mind out of the gutter. 😉

For those of you who do not know what the Gorilla Challenge is here is an explanation from their website.

“Gorilla Challenge is an “Amazing Race” style event where you and your team race to solve clues around the city, taking pictures along the way hoping you either get the grand prize or at least mini prizes at the clue locations, and having loads of fun.

You’re given a card filled with clues pointing in different directions within a 3 to 5 mile radius. Once you get to a location, you’ll find an additional slip with instructions on what to do next with your camera. It could be anything ranging from taking a simple picture with the object, singing for someone, putting together a mini-puzzle, or just making funny faces.

You’ll have as much time as you need to get to 10 out of the 12 clues, with a couple of clues containing tickets to redeem for an iPod, Amazon Gift Certificate, and other gift certificates to local restaurants and retailers.

Once you’ve picked up your 10 clues, you head back to the start location to win the finishing prize, redeem a ticket, or get a nice pat on the back and enjoy the live entertainment and food and beverage specials!

Gorilla Challenge is open to persons of all ages, with the exception of Goa’uld, members of the Dark Side, Borg’s, and Zombies. Jedi Knights are welcome.”

It sounds awesome, doesn’t it? I had never heard of it until I saw a registration discount offered through Living Social and as soon as I read about it I knew I had to do it. So tomorrow Paul and I will set out to dominate the San Antonio Gorilla Challenge and take home the first place prize- $300!

Sunday is the annual Weight Watchers Walk-It Challenge and since there wasn’t an official race schedule in San Antonio different WW centers organized their own events. My meeting location is actually doing their 5K tomorrow, which I cannot make because of the GC, walking 6 laps of the Rolling Oaks Mall. Fortunately for me another location has organized their 5K for Sunday. Actually it is a 5K and 10K and is open to anyone. My friend SM willingly agreed to participate in the event with me and we both are going to be walking a 10K. Wish us luck!

Stay tuned for pictures and updates! Have a great weekend and thanks for reading!

May 20, 2011. Tags: , , . Fitness, Life, San Antonio, Social Life, Walking.

4 Comments

  1. ambers0182 replied:

    Omg, your weekend sounds amazing.. Minus the whole Paul leaving part, but everything else so great! U find some of the coolest things to do! U r my inspiration for finding new fun things to do. I hope u guys win the gorilla challenge, and post some pics! 🙂 good luck!!!! Have a blast!!!!

    • Dacia replied:

      I will definitely post pictures! Seattle has one coming up- you should definitely do it!

  2. Simply Sidney replied:

    Your weekend does sound amazing. Hopefully you’ll keep busy over the next month and before you know it Paul will be back…he’ll be back…he’ll be back 🙂
    10k, very impressive Dacia!! I’ll be thinking of you and cheering you on from W MI 🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you so much! I ended up doing a 5k because I was just so exhausted from yesterday’s event. It was so hot and humid again today I didn’t think I was going to make it. I am happy for Paul to be able to go to training that helps him in is his career with the army. I am sad that he is not here to help with the chores. Boo laundry 😉

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

