Gorilla Challenge and Weight Watchers Weekly Update

OMG! I am so exhausted I can barely muster the strength to type this. There is a good chance I may fall asleep before I finish. The Gorilla Challenge was insane and completely wore me out. Not to mention it was super hot and humid today in San Antonio. But I’ll get to that in a minute. First, weigh-in update. Sadly, I gained this week. I went up .8 pounds. I think that brings my total lost on WW to 14.8 – boo that 😦 I was sad at first but have moved on. I will tell you about meeting (at a new location) and the advice I got at a later time. For now I want to briefly tell you about the Gorilla Challenge.

Nope, we didn’t win. Actually we didn’t even finish. At 2:45pm, 15 minutes before the race ended, we had three more clues to make it to and take pictures at and we were about 2 miles from the finish. There was no way we could make it. After walking all over San Antonio for over 3 hours I was exhausted. I had blisters on my feet, my knees hurt, my hips were starting to hurt and I was chaffing in unmentionable areas. Did I mention it was really freaking hot outside??? So at that point we called it quits. I couldn’t make it 2 miles to the finish so we walked to the car and headed for some FOOD. We were starving! So hungry that we didn’t care how bad we smelled or disgusting we looked we needed to eat.

Now I am home and showered and icing my knees/feet. I wanted to share with you some pictures of us at different points in the race. Some are regular poses in front of somewhere/something and others we had to do different poses for. You can tell in the last picture we are not holding up very well. I hope to tell you more about the event and the clues but for today you will have to be ok with just pictures.

20110521-054417.jpg

20110521-054423.jpg

20110521-054442.jpg

20110521-054449.jpg

20110521-054457.jpg

20110521-054506.jpg

20110521-054512.jpg

20110521-054519.jpg

20110521-054524.jpg

Thanks for reading!

May 21, 2011. Tags: , , , , , . Fitness, San Antonio, Walking.

13 Comments

  1. jakennicksmomma replied:

    I love that as you scroll down your faces get closer and closer to the color of your shirts! Also, those unmentionable chaffing areas are the worst!!!

    • Dacia replied:

      I was a hot mess. It was hard to decide what I needed more afterwards; food or a shower. Food won. Lol! Luckily the chaffing was better this morning or I would not have been able to do the WW walk.

  2. Simply Sidney replied:

    You guys are too cute. You’re a beautiful girl Dacia and I love your husbands required classic buzz cut 🙂 I bet your shower felt good. Hopefully you’re feeling better today and feeling pretty pleased with all that you did in that heat

    • Dacia replied:

      Yeah, he got a fresh cut Friday after work to look his best for his trainers at Ft. Hood. Super short this time. We definitely had a blast doing the race but man did it take alot out of us. Next time we will do better. We were so close this time.

  3. crustabakes replied:

    I am so sorry you guys didnt finish the challenge, but i am mighty sure that you guys deserve an A+++ for the effort. And when i saw the digits for the weight gain, i completely missed out the “.”, and thought it was 8 pounds instead of 0.8 pounds. LOL. 0.8 pounds is nothing! stay positive! 🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you so much. Yeah, I am okay with .8 but I would probably freak out if i gained 8. Lol!

  4. Ginger replied:

    Gaining sometimes is not anything to worry about! Also, weighing in on a different scale may have been the culprit! It looks like you had a great time at the Gorilla Challenge, it doesn’t matter that you didn’t win, you played and spent time with Paul, that’s what counts! I LOVE your Phillies shirts!!!

    • Dacia replied:

      We are both wearing Cliff Lee shirts. I love Cliff Lee and we have the same last name so I get a kick wearing his shirt. Plus he is #33 and I am 33. I know, it’s corny but it amuses me.

      We did have so much fun although the end was rough- we were starving and exhausted. Next time I hope to complete it.

      Yeah, I am not too concerned about the weigh-in. Gaining every now and again is normal.

  5. juleen76 replied:

    I hope you guys had fun even though you didn’t finish! You and me both on the .8 lb gain this week! Oh well, I’m sure we’ll both do better next week! Can’t wait to hear the rest of your update on all this!

    • Dacia replied:

      We had lots of fun although it was so exhausting. I am still wore out a day later. I am not thrilled with the gain but it happens, I can’t change it so I’ll just move on and hope for a better week. Good luck to you! I know you will have a good week too!

  6. averageinsuburbia replied:

    I have never heard of the Gorilla challenge but I read about it on your link. That really sounds like a lot of fun! I wish they would do it in my city!

    • Dacia replied:

      It was alot of fun! They definitely made it challenging as there were so many of us wandering around somewhat lost because we all messed up on a clue but didn’t know which one. It was crazy! I would definitely do it again.

  7. Gorilla Challenge replied:

    Hey there! My name is Eric, and I’m with Gorilla Challenge. We’re sorry that you couldn’t finish!! We LOVE your pictures and we’d LOVE to put them up on our Facebook. Moreover, you guys rock for posting about our event, and we want to send you a few freebies.

    We tried calling earlier, buuuut we probably caught you at work. Please give us a ring when you have a chance! 657-229-0812. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

