Weekly Menu and Goals

I apologize, I have been slacking lately on posting my weekly goals.  Well, I guess it’s better late than never, right?

Stay On Plan! ‘On Plan’ is a phrase I hear all the time on the Weight Watchers website, which for those of you non-WW people reading is like Facebook for WW members, and it just means following the program. Eating right and tracking, getting in your healthy checks like 8 glasses of water, 8 servings of fruit/veg, etc., taking your vitamins, and of course activity. I am pretty good about staying on plan, well at least I have been so far, but that is mainly because I have a great partner who helps me out so I can do so.

Paul has been so great through all of this; he helps with the lunches and dinners so I can work out, he exercises with me and shows me the proper ways to do things, he pretty much says yes to any crazy thing I want to do- Gorilla Challenge, Bikram yoga, and zip lining to name a few- and he never complains about any of this. As you know, Paul is away at an Army training class but before he left he asked me to make sure I stick with the program and workouts even though it will be more difficult on me having no one to help me. I of course said yes and told him I would just figure out how I can convert our routine into my routine. So far, so good and later in this post I will share with you my weekly meal and workout plan.

Keep moving! As you know, this weekend completely drained me. Between all of the walking during the Gorilla Challenge and then the WW walk on Sunday I was so just exhausted. I am finally starting to feel normal again which is good because I have boxing tonight. I really like the Tuesday and Thursday classes so I am going to those ones this week. Friday night I will drop in on the ‘special’ boxing class, you remember- the one where I get to hit people in the face, because it was so much fun and because I am lame and have nothing better to do on a Friday night. Saturday morning I will be back on the recumbent bike for my early morning workout and Sunday I will hopefully be walking with my girls.

Eat More Fiber! I know, I know; this is not really the kind of goal I should be sharing but one of the things I struggle with, especially with the changes to my diet,  is staying ‘regular’ and so I need some help. I don’t really eat a ton of high fiber foods so I am trying to incorporate more into my meals. To supplement this I bought a big a** bottle of Fiber Choice from Sam’s Club and have started taking the chewable tablets. They are helping already; I will leave it at that. 😉

*Note: For weight watchers members, if you take more than one serving (two tablets) of the Fiber Choice then you will need to use a point. 2 and 3 servings (6 tablets is the max per day) both come out to just one point. I know it is negligible but a point is a point and so I count it.

Lighten Up! The one thing I continually struggle with is being happy about my weekly weigh-in results. I am happy when I lose but sometimes I still question why I am not losing as much as others. When I have gained I beat myself up for not doing more. Both reactions are ridiculous because every week (with the exception of NOLA) I give 100%. I can’t do better than this. If some weeks I gain or have smaller losses than expected I should still be happy because what I have done has had a positive impact on my health and well-being. Isn’t that the most important thing? So this week I pledge to not be so hard on myself.  

Weekly Meals

Knowing I would be cooking for one this week I wanted to make sure I took the time to find some fun and delicious foods that I would enjoy cooking as well as eating. On Sunday I headed over to my favorite grocery store in San Antonio, Central Market. This week is ‘Pasaporte Espana’ so there were a lot of great Spanish foods for sale and for sample. I sampled some hake, which is a Spanish whitefish, and loved it. I also picked up some broccoliflower (broccoli-cauliflower hybrid), brown tomatoes, and shishito peppers to try.

Breakfast – 7 points

Southwestern style egg beaters- 1 pt

Morningstar Farms Veggie Bacon strips- 2pts

Watermelon and Honeydew fruit salad- 0 pt

Peach Kefir- 4 pts

Snacks – 3 points

Chobani Yogurt with fruit- 3 pts

Banana or white peach- 0 pt

Lunch- 9 points

Chicken SaladSandwich– 8 pts

            Chicken- 4 pts

            Mayo with Olive Oil (3/4 tbls) – 1 pt

            Multi-grainSandwichThins- 3 pts

Cara Cara Navel Orange- 0 pt

Brown Tomato and Cucumber Salad with Olive Oil and Balsamic Vinegar- 1 pt

Snacks- 2 points

Carrots and cucumbers- 0 pt

Sabra Roasted Pine Nut Hummus- 2 pts

Watermelon and Honeydew fruit salad- 0 pt

Dinner- varying points

Sunday: Hake, lemon spinach couscous, and steamed broccoliflower- total,9 points per serving

Monday: Shrimp stir-fry with bok choy, bell peppers, mushrooms, celery, broccoliflower, sprouts, and carrots over jasmine rice- total, 8.5 points per serving

Tuesday: Shrimp stir fry over jasmine rice- total, 8.5 points per serving

Wednesday: Mojo Verde grilled chicken, Mediterranean curry couscous, and sautéed shishito peppers- total, 11 points per serving

Thursday: Mojo Verde grilled chicken, Mediterranean curry couscous, and sautéed shishito peppers- total, 11 points per serving

Friday: Fruit and toast pre-workout, tuna salad and yogurt post-workout. Due to the early boxing class I really can’t eat dinner prior or I won’t have time to digest so I am splitting it up; carbs before, protein after. Total- 12 points

Dessert- varying points

Depending on the number of points remaining I have several options for desserts including zero point fruit salad (I bought a quarter watermelon and a honeydew which for one person is a lot), apple with organic peanut butter (5 pts), WW chocolate smoothie prepared with milk (4 pts), and skinny cow strawberry shortcake ice cream sandwich (4 pts).

Saturday I will be back to Central Market to shop for next week’s meals.

I hope everyone has a great week! Wish me luck on sticking to my goals. Thanks for reading!

May 24, 2011. Tags: , , , , , . Diet, Food, San Antonio, Weight Watchers.

10 Comments

  1. thoughtsappear replied:

    Fruit and veggies are 0 points? I didn’t know that.

    It’s cool that you listed a cara cara orange. I love those, but no one ever knows what I’m talking about.

    • Dacia replied:

      Yep, on the new points plus program most fresh fruits and veggies are zero points. I know corn and avocados have points but can’t think of any others off the top of my head. Yum- cara cara’s are the best oranges. They are so sweet!

  2. kitchentutor replied:

    Your menu looks amazing!! As far as the fiber dealio… do eat any flax/ground flax? It’s great for that whole deal, if ya know what I mean… and if you use ground flax you can throw it into about anything without noticing it. 🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      No I haven’t tried ground flax but will definitely be picking some up this weekend. Great recommendation!!! Thank you!

  3. Simply Sidney replied:

    As we agreed last week this whole weight loss deal is a marathon, not a sprint. One of the major reasons I don’t weigh myself is b/c I’ve gotten caught up in the numbers. I strongly believe that following “your plan” will eventually get you to your weight goal, just stick with it. It really is that simple, just stick with it!! Keep in mind muscle weighs more than fat, measuring can sometimes give you a better picture of how you are doing. You’ve already seen some big weight loss, so you know you are on the right track, WW has a pretty good track record…as long as you stick to the plan. Remember you are doing amazing.

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks! You are exactly right and I have considered taping myself to get a different vantage point of my progress. I also track my BMI and body fat percentage weekly. With WW it is all about the scale so weighing myself is inevitable. I try not to focus too much on that number because I know I am getting more muscular and smaller- I know I am making progress. It’s just hard weighing so much and wanting every week to weigh less. I am in it for the long haul though. Like you said it is a marathon not a sprint. Thank you so much for your support!

  4. yerttle replied:

    So…I have lots of questions about WW, considering joining. I’ve been to their website, but its not the same as talking with someone who actually does the program. (websites just like to “sell” you on their product.)

    …also, this has nothing to do with that, but my husband is at FSH this week for trauma training. If you should see a tall, brown-haired CPT, smack him on the butt and tell him to hurry home. 🙂

    If you feel comfortable, please e-Mail me at prefontainegirl@mac.com or I’m on FB at Yerttle Sblog.

    I’d like to know about cost, whether or not I have to be super chipper and peppy for meetings, if there’s some sort of a weight loss minimum/punishment system or whatever. I have the exercise stuff down, its the food I have issues with. I eat crap too often. 😦 Anyway, I have questions like that.

    …wow, I miss Central Market…fresh tortillas…yum!

    • Dacia replied:

      You crack me up! I think I should probably just wander around FSH smacking every brown-haired Captain’s butt until I find the right one 😉

    • Dacia replied:

      Also, I meant to ask what MOS your husband is; is he a Medic?

  5. May 27, 2011 | Simply Sidney replied:

    […] body starts craving healthier food and I’ve recently seen evidence of this while reading a fellow bloggers post, thank you Dacia for the […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

