Let Them Eat Cake!

My office is trying to sabotage my diet. I know it’s not intentional but really, five cakes in five days- that’s just too much! Monday was cheesecake, well cheesecakes actually because we had two; one giant plain one and one giant variety cheesecake. I am not sure what varieties they had because I didn’t want to get too close. It’s like playing with fire; I love cheesecake. Tuesday was German Chocolate which was easy to resist as I have an aversion to sweets with nuts in them. Yesterday was blackberry grunt which I had no idea what that was, I had never heard of a grunt other than the sound I make playing tennis/racquetball. I did a quick Google search and found a bunch of recipes, first and foremost one from Alton Brown, so I knew it was not a made-up dessert name. Today, sitting mere feet away from my desk is some type of chocolate layer cake. It is El Jefe’s birthday but he may not come in to work so I was asked to take a picture of the cake so he can see how awesome it was prior to it being devoured by my co-workers. I think I contracted diabetes just by smelling it. Holy Willy Wonka that cake smells heavenly. I hear tomorrow we are having homemade carrot cake, thankfully that will fall into the desserts with nuts and I will easily be able to turn it down.  

You may be wondering right now why I am depriving myself of cake when I preach about ‘everything in moderation’ and ‘not restricting our diets’. It seems like I am being hypocritical but I don’t mean to be. You know that I plan out every meal and snack and each day I have already accounted for how I will use all 40 of my points. This includes some type of sweet treat for dessert.  I could have a piece of cake if I wanted though. I could swap it with tonight’s dessert or I could dip into what is left of my weekly points, and I could even use some of my activity points.  Really I could have some cake IF I actually wanted to.

See, I am trying to practice restraint. I don’t mind a splurge, which a piece of cake would be (this is a splurge, where what I have as my nightly dessert is normally pretty healthy or at least low-calorie) but I don’t want to splurge all the time. I had a big splurge on Saturday after the Gorilla Challenge. Paul and I hit up our favorite Mexican joint after the race and devoured some nachos and fajitas. Then Sunday, while grocery shopping I picked up a little single serving dessert as a treat for me. That was all I really needed. I work really hard during the week and yes I do think I deserve a splurge or special treat every now and again but not every day, that’s how I ended up here in the first place. 

I know I make it sound so easy. I say ‘just don’t eat the cake’ and I don’t eat the cake but really it takes all of my strength and willpower to not go over and grab a piece on the sly. FYI- the view from my desk is of the cubicle we use as our coffee station which is where we put out the cake. So it’s not as easy as walking away or shutting my door (I don’t have one) in order to put it out of my mind. I have to sit here and see/smell these damn cakes all day long. To add insult to injury, the cake table (which is also breakfast taco table on Friday’s) is my office’s water cooler. People love to congregate around the cake and BS. It’s another perk that comes with where I sit but I digress. With all of the temptation it takes much more than mental strength especially when I am hungry and trying to tell myself that cake is an acceptable lunch. This is why I always plan for snacks at work. I come prepared with an arsenal of healthy and satisfying treats that keep me feeling full all day which is how I can stay strong and just say no. Damn cake pushers!

This is the view from my desk. The {evil} cake is sitting under the Happy Birthday sign.

 

But that’s just me. I don’t want to eat thiscake. But if I did have some, I wouldn’t beat myself up over it and you shouldn’t either. Trust me, when I was eating my Crema Catalana on Sunday I didn’t feel an ounce of guilt. I didn’t feel guilty either when I realized it was 9 points for one serving. Instead I savored every creamy bite, I almost licked the ramekin it came in, and then put it in my Weight Watchers tracker and called it a night. See, we can have our cake (or creamy custardy dessert) and eat it too. For me, I just don’t have it every day.

How do you survive cakes or other foods hanging out in your office. Do they sabotage your diet or are you able to restrain yourself? Any tips for how to stay strong?

Thanks for reading!

May 26, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , . Diet, Food, Life, Weight Watchers.

14 Comments

  1. SAJ replied:

    ok so i haven’t had a chance to read the whole post yet, but I read the first sentence and had to comment: DITTO! someone brought girl scout cookies into the office today, and within 30 minutes i ate 8 thin mints and a samoa. UGH. now I feel disgusting. =(

    • Dacia replied:

      Girl scout cookies are my kryptonite! I am an a serous GS cookie addict and have no strength to resist. And for whatever reason everyone buys like 20 boxes and feel the need to force them on you every day! Blerg!

  2. Ginger replied:

    Good for you Dacia! Resistance is hard but so worth it… Mentally and physically. I overcome the temptaition by avoiding it at all costs. Look away from the cake and you’ll be fine 🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks! It is hard but I try my best! 🙂

  3. Latina Barbi replied:

    Hey Dacia! I totally know what you mean about eating at the office. I work from home 3 days a week and in LA 2 days..AND, there are jelly beans and peanut M & M’s, NOT to mention the restuarant we have upstairs! ugh!!! I must admit I give in on my weak days, HOWEVER, many a times I’ve flipped the goodies OFF!!! I WON that round! MUAH!

    • Dacia replied:

      I guess it’s just a battle we will have to continue fighting every day since there will always be food around in the workplace. Some days we win, some days we lose. Here’s hoping for more victories than defeats!

  4. yerttle replied:

    girl, hats off to ya!

    GeeDunk in the office is always hard to resist. Good job!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks! I try to do the best I can and not be too hard on myself.

  5. cassiebehle replied:

    Reminds me of that scene from Office Space, where the cake is being handed out and everyone gathers impatiently, hungry and needy. Because after all, for those of us living in cubicles for the rest of our lives, what else do we have to look forward to, really?

    • Dacia replied:

      LMAO! You are exactly right and that’s just a slightly depressing fact.

  6. kitchentutor replied:

    Those are about the only times I’m thankful for my gluten intolerance… cause I just plain CAN’T eat it!!!! Maybe you could pretend you’re gluten intolerant when in such situations 🙂 Ha!

    • Dacia replied:

      Luckily no one cares or even notices that I don’t eat the cake. If anyone ever bugs me I may use gluten intolerance as an excuse 😉 thanks!

  7. thoughtsappear replied:

    Mmmm…cake…. Good for you for resisting! I don’t have that kind of willpower.

    • Dacia replied:

      I didn’t have any willpower before but I am getting better. I am trying to learn some good eating habits.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

