Weekly and Monthly Goals

Monthly Goal

Another month has come and gone, can you believe it? It feels like just the other day it was May 1st. It is pretty unbelievable that tomorrow is June 1st.  As it is the last day of the month I needed to weigh myself to see if I met my monthly goal of losing ten pounds. This morning I weighed in at 258.8 (hello 250’s!) to which I added 0.8 pounds to adjust for the difference between my scale and the WW scale. This brought my weight to 259.6 for a loss of 8.2 pounds for the month of May. Not ten pounds but I’ll take it! Although I would love to reach the goals I set for myself I cannot be upset because I gave it my all this month. There is nothing I would have done differently and for that I am proud. Tomorrow is June 1st and I start the month with a clean slate hoping I can get that ten pound loss this time. I also have another weight loss goal I am trying to reach this month; my 10% (28 pounds) weight loss from the starting weight when I joined Weight Watchers. I hope to be at 252 by June 18th, or at the very least the end of the month, because once I hit my 10% I will reward myself with some new clothes.  In case you were wondering, my reward for reaching my 5% loss was tickets to Austin City Limits in September. I am really liking this whole reward system!

Last Week’s Goals:

Stay On Plan! Yes, I stayed on plan all week. I used all of my daily points each day and all but two of my weekly points. I also made sure to take my vitamins every day, drink at least 8 glasses of water, and every day I ate at least 8 servings of fruit/veg.

Keep moving! I stuck to the schedule I had laid out for myself; Monday and Wednesday were days off, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday I went to boxing classes, Saturday I rode 20.3 miles in 65 minutes on the recumbent bike and Sunday I went for a three plus mile walk with my friend KJ and our dogs.

Eat More Fiber! I tried to incorporate more fiber rich foods into my diet but I think what helped the most was that taking a fiber supplement. It has worked wonders. I believe that one of the main reasons I had such a big loss this week was that I ‘regular’.

Lighten Up! I think I did a pretty good job putting the previous week’s gain behind me. This week I focused on keeping a positive attitude and not being too critical of myself. I just tried to relax and have fun. By focusing on all of the positives, not just the weight loss, I was able to enjoy myself a little more. Like on Friday, when my sparring partner (one of the trainers) told me how much I had improved from the class two weeks prior I was ecstatic.  It felt great having someone, especially a trainer, recognize my progress.

Weekly Goals 5/30 – 6/5

Keep moving! Workout schedule is as follows

Monday: 2.5 mile walk plus swimming

Tuesday: off

Wednesday: Combo class (1/2 boxing, 1/2 weights)

Thursday: Recumbent bike

Friday: Boxing

Saturday: Recumbent bike

Sunday: Walk 5K

Clean House! I literally need to clean my house. My goal this week is to spend thirty minutes a day (non-boxing days) during the week and 2 hours Saturday and Sunday cleaning house. Man, what I wouldn’t give to be able to afford someone to clean my house for me.

Eat Whatever I Want! This goal stems from a discussion we had at WW last week on the subject of breakfast foods. Our group leader was asking what people typically ate for breakfast and most people had fairly typical answers like eggs, oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, etc. Our leader then asked if anyone ate salad for breakfast and most scoffed at this idea. She followed up that question with asking if we ever ate lunch/dinner items for breakfast and most people said no with the exception being pizza. She was trying to get us to think outside the box for breakfast ideas. I mean there is no reason why we need to eat standard breakfast foods. So, Sunday morning I made myself sautéed yellow squash for breakfast accompanied by veggie bacon and watermelon. Yesterday I had carrots, a multi-grain sandwich thin, hummus and watermelon for breakfast because why not? It’s what I wanted to eat. So this week I am going to continue eating whatever types of foods I want, when I want them.

Read more! Preferably read more poolside 😉  I have a serious addiction, books. I keep bringing more books into my apartment but yet I have really been slacking on reading them. I need to devote some time to reading so this week I am making it part of my goals. Hopefully I can get back into the habit of reading every night before bed.

Hope everyone had a wonderful holiday weekend! Thanks for reading!

May 31, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , . Exercise, Fitness, Food, Life, Weight Watchers.

6 Comments

  1. Ginger replied:

    What a super monthly loss! I’m so proud of you, I can’t believe you are close to 10% already, it is going by so fast isn’t it? You should be thrilled with yourself Dacia, you are doing really, Really fantastic!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you so much! I cannot believe I am getting so close to ten percent. It really seems to have come off so quickly. Yay! I mean it’s definitely been hard work but it’s so worth it!

  2. amysjourneytohealth replied:

    You are in the 260’s!!!! That is awesome!!! I really like the idea of thinking outside the food box 🙂 I may have to try that! Do you work out 6 days a week normally? That’s what I’m aiming for, and finally I’m starting to actually look forward to gym time. lol

    • Dacia replied:

      Actually I am in the 250’s now- yay!!!

      I workout 5-7 days a week. Five is my minimum but now with Paul gone I need to have a day or two off just to keep up with the housework. Sometimes on the weekends I will get in two workouts. Like this Sunday I will be walking in the morning and doing yoga in the afternoon. I try to do two boxing classes, two long rides on the recumbent bike and one long walk a week minimum. Then add in whatever else like yoga or racquetball.

  3. shrinkingwmn replied:

    you exercise so much, I’m jealous of your drive! I am too lazy to manage a minimum 5 exercise sessions a week. lol. Congrats on the weight loss – you’re doing so great! 😀 I like the idea of eating what foods I want when I want, I saw that on a weight loss show one time, the dietician convinced the person there was nothing wrong with eating soup for breakfast etc. The person was so against it until they tried it – they just had to get over their hang up about what foods are “meant” for what meal lol. Who came up with those rules anyways??

    • Dacia replied:

      I have no idea who came up with the rules but I am definitely breaking them! Lol! I like working out so much because I now have this insatiable need to go, go, go. Like I need to be moving all the time. Once hockey season starts up in the fall (we have season tickets) it will be really hard to get in 5 a week so I will probably drop to three or four but for now I am taking advantage of all my free time.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

