{Semi} Wordless Wednesday: Food Edition

Yesterday I talked about having one of my goals this week is to eat whatever I want. By this I meant to eat whatever types of food I wanted at any point in the day; to break out of the box a little and really start to have fun with the food I am eating. Today I would like to share with you some pictures that better capture what I mean.

My favorite combination: Sweet & Savory

Watermelon Gazpacho and Vietnamese-style Braised Pork Lettuce Wraps from Tapa Tapa

 
 
 
I had vegetables for breakfast in place of eggs
 

Breakfast: sautéed yellow squash, veggie bacon, and a bowl full of watermelon

 

Breakfast: multi-grain sandwich thin, carrots and hummus, watermelon and a banana for my post-workout snack

 
 
I tried a mix of both raw and cooked veggies with dinner
 

Dinner: barramundi (high in Omega-3), garlicky broccolini, Easter Egg radishes

 

I replaced one of my vegetable sides with a serving of fruit instead

Dinner: turkey burger on multi-grain sandwich thin, homemade vinegar based cole slaw, rainier cherries

 
 
 
I tried out a new snack combo this week; a great combination of light and crisp with rich and creamy. It makes for an excellent treat!
 

My new favorite sweet snack: Biscoff spread on Magic Pop

 

Trust me; it tastes a million times better than it looks. For only two WW points you get a wonderfully delicious treat the size of a medium paper plate. Yum!

 

What are you doing to keep mealtimes interesting? Any new foods you have tried out recently?

Thanks for reading!

June 1, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , , . Diet, Food, Weight Watchers, wordless wednesday.

10 Comments

  1. juleen76 replied:

    What on earth are Biscoff Spread and Magic Pop???

    • Dacia replied:

      Lol! I will do my best to describe each. Magic pop are Korean snack cakes. There is a little stand in one of our grocery stores where they are popped fresh. They are made from wheat, brown rice and corn. Only 15 calories, no fat and 4 carbs. I guess you can say they are like rice cakes except they are large and thin and very light and delicate. Biscoff spread has a consistency of nutella, a little thinner than peanut butter. It tastes like biscoff cookies (which on a sidenote are the cookies delta serves in flight) which if you have never had them they are kind of like a mild gingerbread cookie. It has Ginger and cinnamon and is very yummy. So basically spreading it on to a magic pop yields something that tastes as if I was eating a biscoff cookie. Hope that helps!

  2. Ginger replied:

    I am wondering the same thing as Juleen! Everything you posted looks beautiful and delicious! I think I will try to get creative tomorrow with you 🙂 thanks for the inspiration!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you so much Ginger! I am interested to hear what you try out. Also, I replied to Juleen’s comment about the snacks if you are interested in my explanation 😉

  3. cassiebehle replied:

    Can I come eat with you? It all looks delicious!

    • Dacia replied:

      Heck yeah! You are welcome for dinner anytime! 🙂

  4. amysjourneytohealth replied:

    everything looks so good! and i like the idea of mixing it up and not being so regimented. trying new foods and new combos is a great way to avoid boredom. well done! 🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks. Each night is like a food adventure. Although i could use some new breakfast ideas for during the week. Any ideas?

  5. juleen76 replied:

    I decided to give this whole “eating what I want” thing a try and had a Skinny Cow Ice Cream Sandwich and a Smart Ones pasta dish for breakfast this morning! If I gain weight this week, I’m holding you accountable! LOL! Actually, it’s my TOM again so I figured I mix it up a bit with my eating and see if I can still manage a loss this week!

    • Dacia replied:

      As long as you are eating healthy and watching your points than I think you will be ok. I love that you ate ice cream and pasta for breakfast. That’s awesome! I hate TOM weeks- they screw everything up. Hopefully you can still manage a loss. I have faith you will do well!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

