It’s time for my second blog giveaway!!!!

I am honored that my friend and blogging comrade has offered to donate one of her amazing photographs for this giveaway. A few weeks ago I asked for giveaway ideas and Subha graciously volunteered to donate an 8×10 photograph as the prize. Since I follow both her blogs and had already perused her photography website I knew that this would make for an amazing prize. I love photography and have fun toying around with my digital SLR camera when I can but most times I can be found trying to capture life using my iPhone camera. So, I am thrilled to be able to give away one of Subha’s beautiful (and professional) photographs. She is simply an amazing artist and hopefully you can take some time to visit her websites and blogs and take a look for yourself.

About Subha

Subha Airan-Javia is a health professional by training, but realized early on that she needed a more substantial creative outlet than her career would allow. Therefore, she started a photography business, JAS Photography LLC, while she was still in training and has been having tons of fun with it ever since! In fact, she has since become a mother and decided to work part-time, so that she could spend more time with her daughter and explore her other interests. Since then she has taken up many other hobbies such as graphic design (http://LABELit.etsy.com), creating tools to teach children how to speak Hindi and Gujarati (http://BabyCultureCards.etsy.com), knitting, sewing and many other handmade crafts (http://haathse.wordpress.com). She is also currently trying to practice the art of appreciation, by recognizing something she is thankful for, or one of life’s “simple beauties”, each day for a year, on her blog Simple Beauties (http://simplebeauties.wordpress.com).

Although I knew I wanted to feature her photography as the prize it was quite a difficult decision figuring out which photograph we should offer. Subha asked me to pick which photograph to give away in order to make it more personal. This was a challenging task because there were so many amazing photos to choose from. I was, thankfully, able to narrow it down to six. From those six, Subha told me which were her favorites and narrowed it down to two. Then Subha sent me the dandelion photo, which was not posted on her photography website, and I fell in love with that one as well. So here they are; our top three photos. We couldn’t pick just one so we are leaving that up to you. To enter the contest all you need to do is leave me a comment telling me which one is your favorite and why. The winner, picked at random, will receive the photograph they picked as their favorite. Easy peasy, right?

Dandelion:

For my birthday, my hubby bought me a new macro lens, which I had been wanting for a long time. This image it the result of play time with my new toy on the coast of Maryland. What really makes the shot is the blue sky in the background, for which I had to lie almost completely on the ground to capture!

Positano:

This is a view of the breath-taking Amalfi Coast in Italy- more specifically, it is of Positano. This little town is perched on the cliff side of the coast with unbelievable views from almost any vantage point. This shot was taken from a bus stop off the “highway” with my point and shoot camera with the flash turned off. It is amazing what you can get even with a point and shoot!

Yellowstone Springs:

Grand Prismatic is perhaps one of the most picturesque views in Yellowstone National Park. We try to visit a national park every year, and from the moment we entered Yellowstone, I saw pictures of this amazing “rainbow” spring everywhere I went. Instantly I thought: I want to see that! Well, sadly when we got there, the smoke coming up from the spring obscured pretty much everything. It wasn’t until we hiked up a nearby hill that we were able to see this commanding view of the spring displaying all the different colored bacteria creating its characteristic rainbow appearance!

Contest Rules

To enter, simply leave me a comment as to which photograph is your favorite and why, only one entry per person please. The contest will be open from the time this is posted up through 11:59pm CST June 9, 2011. On Friday, June 10th, 2011 we will choose a winner at random and announce it here on my blog that day. The only thing we require in order to enter this contest is that you feel comfortable enough to give me, or Subha directly, your home address so we can send you the photo.

Good luck and thanks for reading!

June 3, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , . Giveaway, Uncategorized.

23 Comments

  1. jamesandjax replied:

    I love the dandelion photo best because of the colors. But not just that–dandelions remind me of making wishes, which reminds me of childhood. If I won this, I’d hang it in my son’s nursery to remind him to make wishes.

    • Dacia replied:

      Yeah, if you don’t win I am totally buying it for your birthday! Or I guess Jax’s birthday. Either way you are getting it! Lol!

  2. yerttle replied:

    I like the Positano photo…I’ve never been there, and the lights look so…I don’t know…romantic or different than anything I’ve ever seen.

    (you should totally give jamesandjax the dandilion photo…it’s perfect for a nursery!) 🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      That is exactly why I picked that photo. The lights seemed almost fake because it all looked so amazing. I hope one day to see it in person. It looks like heaven!

      Yes, jamesandjax will get that photo one way or another. Her comment made me cry- how sweet! Definitely perfect for the nursery!

  3. amysjourneytohealth replied:

    They are all three such beautiful photos! I think I would have to choose Positano as my favorite simply because I have dreamed of going to Italy for years now, and I love the colors and how the town is literally built into the cliff. It’s breathtaking! I would most likely display it in my office where I could sit and daydream about one day going to visit there.

    • Dacia replied:

      That sounds fantastic! What a lovely photo to daydream over! Subha’s photos are amazing!

  4. carybear21 replied:

    Hi! I just found your blog through GingerCoutirier’s, and I love it.

    All three photos are great, but I think the second one of the Amalfi Coast is best. I love the contrast between the light and dark spots. It’s so inviting and it just draws me right in. Kinda makes me want to go book a flight there right away!

    What a fun idea for a contest!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks for checking out my blog! I am glad you like the photos! I love being able to share something I find exceptional with others.

      Good luck! 🙂

  5. Photography Giveaway! « Haath Se [By Hand] replied:

    […] Today is exciting for me, because one of my new friends from the blog-o-sphere is doing a giveaway on her blog for one of my photographs!  It is so fun to see them up and to see that people like them since usually they wile away their time in cyberspace on my hard drive.  Dacia has a very interesting blog that is always from to read and is inspiring to say the least.  So check out her blog and the giveaway here! […]

  6. Ginger replied:

    I absolutely love all of the photos, Subha is an extremely talented photographer. I would like to enter for the Yellowstone Springs photo as the colors are so spectacular not to mention uplifting! I can only imagine how breathtaking the view must have been in person.
    Good luck everyone!

    • Dacia replied:

      Yes! I agree! I have never been to Yellowstone but now I am dying to go and see this in person. How magnificent!

  7. kitchentutor replied:

    I held my breath at the dandelion shot! Green and blue are the most calming colors to me! I could almost feel the tension in my mind and shoulders let up, Ha! Great contest idea!! All the pics are very beautiful!!

    • Dacia replied:

      Aren’t they amazing! Subha is so talented. I am quite envious of her skills!

  8. shrinkingwmn replied:

    My fave is the Yellowstone Springs photo. 🙂 I keep scrolling up to have another look at it because the colours are so mesmerizing. I can’t stop looking at the turquoise and purple and loving how they look by each other.

  9. jakennicksmomma replied:

    Um, yeah. Those are all gorgeous!!!! What a tough choice. I like the yellowstone springs and dandelion the best. I agree with Jaime that the dandelion would make a great nursery photo. Nick is in need of more nursery art. I still have all Matt’s “I love me” stuff on the wall. That would be the one I would want if I won.

  10. Amber Spradlin replied:

    Positano!!! It is beautiful. I love how alive the town looks. I can just imagine romantic dinners and familys gathering as i look at this photo.

    • Dacia replied:

      It’s such an amazing photograph it almost doesn’t seem real. Definitely must see Positano!!!

  11. monicaams replied:

    I love love love Yellowstone Springs! My parents went to Yellowstone earlier this year and I couldn’t make the trip. This is an amazingly beautiful way for me to see Yellowstone without going.

    • Dacia replied:

      Yeah, that photo makes me want to go to Yellowstone and see it up close. It must be amazing!

  12. Amy Capps replied:

    All of the photos are absolutely gorgeous, but my favorite is Positano. The view and the lighting are amazing! The color is great for a night time photo! Great job!

  13. Versatile Blogger Award « thirtythreeandcounting replied:

    […] forget to enter my blog giveaway- the deadline is 1159 pm CST TODAY! Thanks for […]

  14. cassiebehle replied:

    The photo of Yellowstone is mind-blowing. A true testiment to the phrase “smoke and mirrors.” Through the smoke, something deceptively beautiful – in bacteria – is created. The colors are wonderful!

  15. Simply Sidney replied:

    I’m Italian so of course Positano is my favorite. I’ve been to Italy, but not this part. The whole country holds a special place in my heart. I have to say though that the Dandelion came a very close second. I love everything nature and a weed is simply something that no one has found the beauty in and this picture proves a little Dandelion is not a weed, love it!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

