Tuesday’s Mishmash of Thoughts

This post is a compilation of random facts/note and information on some of the classes I have taken this week. Sorry for the hodgepodge.

The proper stance to use when weighing yourself on a scale

I found myself in a situation one day where I weighed myself and was so happy with the number on the scale that I wanted to take a picture to send to Paul. I hopped off the scale, grabbed my iPhone, hopped back on and presto- I gained two pounds. WTF! So I stepped off and stepped back on and voila I was down a pound from my second weight. Blerg! In the span of one minute my weight fluctuated three pounds. Now we all know I didn’t really gain and lose weight that quickly but I was frustrated nonetheless. What was I doing wrong? My guess was I was changing my stance on the scale. I talked to Paul about this and he said when the get weighed for their Army PT tests they are told to stand ‘at attention’ on the scale. This means heels together, toes out- feet in a v-shape, looking straight ahead. I have since adopted this method because it is a method I can consistently duplicate on a daily basis. Is this the correct way to stand on a scale? Maybe. I have read articles saying to can stand with your feet in a V-shape or stand with your feet shoulder-with apart. I would guess that either stance is ok as long as you make sure you face forward, stand perfectly still, and are consistent with the stance you use. My recommendation: do whichever feels most comfortable/natural to you.

Skin on redfish is like…skin

I was at the grocery store on Sunday buying some redfish that was on sale. I have never eaten or prepared redfish before so I asked the fish monger if you leave the skin on while cooking and if so, is it edible? His response to me was that the skin on the fish is like skin so it is edible. This comment was disturbing to me because what other type of skin was he comparing it to? Human skin? Chicken skin? I don’t know, all this typing about skin is grossing me out. That is how I felt at the fish counter. I left the counter wondering if I would be able to stomach the fish skin after his ‘like skin’ comment. It’s on the menu for dinner tomorrow night, I will keep you posted. 

You shouldn’t wear 100% cotton socks while working out

I finally broke down and bought a high-quality sports bra this past weekend. It was somewhat of an adventure finding a store that carried plus size sports bras but I was able to find one and lucked out that they had one available in my size. Most times, I have no problem ordering things online but I really wanted to be able to try it on and was looking for that instant gratification of walking out the store with my purchase in hand. The store I found it at was a high-end running store so while I was there I decided to check out their running shoes as well. I have been using a pair of New Balances purchased when I lived in Philadelphia for all of my workouts and they are starting to show their age especially from all of my outdoor walking. I love going into small, specialty stores because of the attention you receive and the knowledge the employees have. I was measured, told to walk barefoot through the store, and then brought out four pairs of shoes that met my requirements and walking profile. I loved them all, the employee was spot on with her choices and I ended up leaving with a new pair of sneakers as well as my sports bra.

The store was running a special offer: 20% off accessories with any sneaker purchase. This made me happy because I was getting 20% off my $64 dollar sports bra. I’m sorry, I just can’t get over how expensive that is for a sports bra. I know it is worth the money or I wouldn’t have spent it but man it seems a little ridiculous. Anywho, that’s not the point of this story. While I was checking out the employee asked me if I wanted to look at any other accessories because of the 20% off deal and suggested new socks. So, I went over to look at their sock selection which was very expansive but I really couldn’t see myself paying $10-$20 for a pair of socks so I passed. As she was ringing me up she said to make sure that I am not wearing 100% cotton socks when I work out because they keep moisture in and cause blisters. Really? Was this true? I had never heard that before. I thought maybe she just wanted to sell me some fancy socks but no, she was telling the truth. I did some research and found this to be true. 100% cotton socks keep your feet wet which can lead to blisters. You should wear synthetic blends that wick moisture away. Hmph! Maybe I should have bought some fancy socks. I will be checking out the PX (department store on post) to see if they carry any synthetic blend socks this weekend.

Goodbye Food Pyramid

I am sure by now you have all heard the news that the food pyramid has been replaced by the food plate. Check out choosemyplate.gov to find out all about it. I think this is a great change and provides us with a more accurate picture of how we should be eating.

 

I love how half of the plate is made up of fruits and veggies. Someone must have been reading my blog, it was just a week or so ago when I was telling you about how I was replacing a serving of veggies with a serving of fruit at dinnertime. Look at the trend I started 😉 I am just kidding of course but I am thrilled to know I have been following the new guidelines without even trying. Here are some helpful tips taken from the choosemyplate.gov website that I think everyone should try to incorporate into their diet.

Balancing Calories

  • Enjoy your food, but eat less
  • Avoid oversized portions

Foods to Increase

  • Make half your plate fruits and vegetables
  • Make at least half your grains whole grains
  • Switch to fat-free or low-fat (1%) milk

Foods to Reduce

  • Compare sodium in food like soup, bread, and frozen meals- and choose the foods with lower numbers
  • Drink water instead of sugary drinks

*Image and guidelines taken from the USDA’s MyPlate website: choosemyplate.gov

I’m Famous!

Ok, that is a bit of a stretch. I am far from famous but I was recognized from my Twitter profile picture on Sunday which was kind of crazy. I recently purchased a Groupon for 8 classes at the Synergy Studio here in San Antonio and went in on Sunday to take my first class. Prior to going , I spent some time reading about all the different types of classes they offer, so much more than yoga, and decided I wanted to try Nia, which I will talk about in detail later in this post. I went into the studio for a 4p Nia class and while waiting in the lobby I met KM; she was also there because of the Groupon and was going to be taking the Nia class as well. She and I were talking for a bit when she asked me if I was on Twitter, I said yes, and she asked what my Twitter handle was, to which I said dacialee33 (follow me on Twitter if you aren’t already!) and she said she had thought she had recognized me. KM is the social media person for the Grand Hyatt and Hyatt Regency hotels in San Antonio which I follow on Twitter because of their affiliation with the Gorilla Challenge. We had tweeted back and forth a few times but I had no idea who I was talking to aside from a Hyatt employee. I was as amazed she remembered who I was and recognized me. So crazy!

Nia

Nia is described on the Synergy Studio website as “movement practice that not only offers the cardiovascular benefits of traditional fitness classes, but also encourages emotional expression and engagement to nourish the mind, body and soul.” It is a blend of modern and jazz dance, aerobics, martial arts, yoga and body integration therapy. I thought it sounded unique and a big change from boxing so I wanted to give it a try. It was fun, it was unusual, and it was a great workout that was somehow relaxing at the same time. I have never done anything like it before and although I did find myself spinning in circles and moving in the opposite direction from the rest of the class at times no one seemed to mind, they were off in their own world. Everyone in the class was kind and welcoming and although it was so different from what I expected I will definitely be going  back. The best way I can describe the class would be aerobics on acid.

Yoga – Gentle Hatha

My plans fell through yesterday so instead of staying in and cleaning I decided to head back to the Synergy Studio to try out a different class. This time I went for Gentle Hatha Yoga which is described as a slower paced yoga class ideal for people of all sizes, ages, fitness/experience levels. The website says this class “creates an atmosphere of safety and comfort that fosters self-acceptance” and this statement is 100% accurate. I loved this class. It was taught by Esther Vexler who is 93 years old and the ‘Mother of Yoga’ in San Antonio. I read an article about her, and the celebration held for her 93rd birthday earlier this year and it said this about taking a class with Esther:

     “In her class, you may not break a sweat or get a killer workout. You will, however, probably leave the class feeling more relaxed, more in tune, and a little wiser.”

Continue reading on Examiner.com Celebrating Esther Vexler: the Mother of Yoga in San Antonio – San Antonio Yoga | Examiner.com http://www.examiner.com/yoga-in-san-antonio/celebrating-esther-vexler-the-mother-of-yoga-san-antonio#ixzz1Obazwoic

That is exactly how I felt. By the end of the class I felt relaxed and at peace, it was wonderful. It was the perfect class to take on a Monday evening in order to let go of all the chaos of the day. I will definitely be making Monday yoga with Esther a part of my weekly routine.

Thanks for reading!

June 7, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , . Exercise, Fitness, Food, inspiration, Life, San Antonio.

12 Comments

  1. Steph...In Motion replied:

    My scale likes to mix things up as well. It could give me a 3 pound swing in a matter of seconds. So when I want an accurate reading for my Sunday update, I weigh a 10-pound weight before and after I weigh myself to make sure it’s on point. If the weight weighs too much, I let the scale reset and try again. Saves me A LOT of swearing and frustration.

    • Dacia replied:

      That is a great idea! I will definitely try that out. Thank you!

  2. yerttle replied:

    Scales. Grrrr….

    • Dacia replied:

      I was loving mine today- tomorrow will probably be a different story 😉

  3. averageinsuburbia replied:

    The skin thing…so funny! And so gross! Really, what does that mean!!
    And about the 100% cotton socks, several years ago I quit working out in 100% cotton t-shirts and started wearing out with real exercise shirts. I don’t know what they are made of but they are supposed to wick the moisture away from your body. What a difference! It is so much more comfortable. So, if you don’t have anything like that, look into that as well. It is worth the money and I’ve had these shirts for 3 years atleast.

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks for the advice. I will definitely look into buying some new socks and clothes. They might be more expensive but like you said- it’s worth it.

      About the skin- it was a really weird thing to say and now I can’t stop wondering if that means all skin is edible. Kind of gross.

  4. Amber Spradlin replied:

    OMG, totally creeped out by the fish skin!!! EWWWW I am loving this little choose my plate. I am currently wondering if there are any places that carry a plate that has the template printed on the plate design… I think that would be awesome. They could totally do a bunch of different designs… little broccolis on the veggies side and tiny banana or watermelons on the fruit. They could do anything, it would be so cute! Anyways, totally went off topic there… I still love reading your blogs. Every single time i find so much motivation and inspiration from you. I have struggled with my weight since Bailey was born… It has been 10 years of me trying to change my ways, work out harder, and i really have had little results. I want your drive… but im not sure how to get there. I am like you in the fact that I am scared and disappointed in myself. I hate that so much time has gone by and i am so different than i feel on the inside. on the inside I feel like i should be radiant, but my physicality is so different. I still struggle with just getting up and going to work out classes. Not really because i worry what people will think though. Mine is more just forcing myself to go. I always feel awesome once i do it though. I seriously need to work on my follow through… that is where i am lacking. I have been doing Evo/Lacto Vegan plan over the last 3 weeks. I thought maybe shocking my body into something new would help. I think its time to do more…So in true Dacia style i am going to start hittin the gym/gym classes (Again). Please continue to write and continue to be you. You are beautiful and amazing.

    • Dacia replied:

      I am not sure of they have plates but they really should. If not, you should make some up and start your own plate making business. Those would be so fun!

      Amber- you are beautiful both inside and out. I hope you know that. It is hard to sometimes accept ourselves or accept how other people perceive us because we tend to be so critical of our appearances. That being said, you should feel comfortable in your skin and if you need to workout or change your diet to do so than you should. I know it’s easier said than done, especially working such a crazy, time-demanding job and raising Bailey. Now is the perfect time though because there are so many fun outdoor activities you can be doing in WA. Let nature inspire you and lead you on your journey. If you haven’t been to Mt Rainier yet you definitely should soon!

      Also, check out groupon and living social deals for some fun activities you can do on the cheap.

      Love you girl! You can do anything you set your mind to!

  5. thoughtsappear replied:

    Thanks for the tip about the socks! I didn’t know that.

    • Dacia replied:

      Yeah, I am definitely getting me some new socks now.

  6. monicaams replied:

    Soooooo insanely grossed out by the fish comment! Ewww why would he say that?

    • Dacia replied:

      Yeah, I was pretty grossed out too. It was weird.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

