Weight Watchers Update- Miles and Milestones

On Saturday I wrote up a post on my iPhone about my weigh-in and my training for the half marathon and thought I posted it. Well, apparently I didn’t. So today I went looking for it thinking it must have stored as a draft and it was there but only the title nothing in the body of the post. Blerg! That stinks. It was far and beyond the best thing I have ever written and I am pretty sure it would have changed your life just by reading it 😉 Ok, ok, I am kidding. It was just the normal post about my WW update which I will try to recreate for you now.

Milestones

Saturday I went to my Weight Watchers meeting and weigh-in. Last week I wasn’t as active as the week prior and although I stuck to my prescribed WW daily point allowance I ate differently (re: more crap) than I usually do. I was still hopeful that I would see a loss this week and was very happy to see a -2.0 on my card.  Woo hoo! Back on track! This brings my total weight loss since joining WW up to 26.4 pounds which means that I hit my 25 pounds lost milestone. Yay! I am so excited to hit another big milestone. Sometimes it feels like it took a long time to get here but really it wasn’t long at all. It has only been three months since I joined WW and I have already lost over 25 pounds. That is pretty amazing. The best part is that it is easier than I had ever thought it would be. Following the WW program teaches you portion control and healthy (meaning getting in recommended fruits/veg, water, dairy, oils, etc) eating while trying to promote an active lifestyle. It wouldn’t take a rocket scientist to figure out that this plan would work and I think most healthy people follow these guidelines. WW just helps make it easier to do so by providing support through meetings and their website and helps keep you accountable knowing you will be weighing in each week. So, thank you to all of my friends who encouraged me to join. It has definitely been a step in the right direction.

286/253.6/150

Look at the pretty blue star!

The last two weeks I really didn’t set forth goals, they were more like guidelines. I did the best I could to adhere to them through the chaos and managed to lose 1.6 pounds overall which is a good thing. This shows me that even when life gets crazy I can adapt and survive it without falling off the wagon completely. This week I am back to my old routine and have planned out meals, workouts, and even some fun activities to do over the holiday weekend.  Here is a glimpse of what I will be doing, and eating, this week.

Sunday: I made an early dinner/late lunch and Paul and I feasted on homemade spaghetti alle vongole (clams) with a spinach, heirloom tomato, and english cucumber salad. My morning was spent wandering the Salado Greenway North trail and then I took a Nia and a Hoopdance class at the Synergy Studio at night. I couldn’t decide which to go to so I took them both.

Monday: It is ‘burger revolution’ this week at my favorite local grocery store, Central Market. For dinner tonight we are having shrimp burgers; thai for me and lemon herb for Paul. We picked up some prepared salads (not your typical potato and macaroni salad type of stuff here at CM) one is a black-eyed pea salad with peppers, onions, jicima, and cilantro and the other is a faro vegetable salad with mint vinaigrette. After dinner I will be hitting up my favorite yoga class with Esther Vexler at the Synergy Studio.

Tuesday: Dinner will be my favorite quick, go-to meal- stir fry. I usually do shrimp stir fry but this week will be having chicken instead. After dinner is boxing and then the first of my two weekly three-mile walks.

Wednesday: Dinner is burgers again, this time it will be bruschetta turkey burgers. Basically a ground turkey patty seasoned with tomato, basil, and parmesan mixed right in. Beet salad and watermelon will be our sides. No workouts this night because I will be at the Texas League All-Star game and Home Run Derby.

Thursday: Dinner Thursday is grilled tuna steaks, couscous, and roasted cauliflower. Then off to qigong at the Synergy Studio after dinner.

Friday: Another quick dinner; pesto marinated chicken, couscous, and asparagus. After dinner is boxing, three-mile walk, and if Paul comes with me hopefully we can hit up Red Mango for some frozen yogurt afterwards.

Saturday: This is the day for my long walk according to the half marathon training however I have a walk event that morning so my plan is to participate in the event and then go for a walk after, combine them, and reach my seven miles that way. My morning will be a quick trip to WW for a weigh-in but I won’t stay for the meeting. Then I will head to McAllister Park where the San Antonio Road Runners will be holding their free, monthly Fun Run event. Of course, you can walk instead of run which is what I will be doing. There are four events; a kids run (100m), ½ mile, 1 mile, and 3 mile and they occur sequentially, not simultaneously, so that you can participate in all of the events (minus the kids run) if you feel up to it. I am going to do all three events hoping to work on my speed during the first two and then work on maintaining a consistent pace during the 3 miler. Afterwards, I will stay in the park and just walk 2.5 miles on my own which will bring the day’s total up to seven.

The rest of my weekend will be filled with walks and hiking, celebration dinners, cookouts, movies and lots of time spent with Paul and our friends.  This week is shaping up to be great! I always get so excited around holiday weekends. I wish I could have been home this week as originally scheduled but those plans fell through so I am making the best of this situation.  Oh, and another great thing about this week- roasted jalapeno hummus as my afternoon snack.  So good!

Goals for the Week

As you can see I have already planned everything out for the week and with Paul home (and functioning after his eye surgery) there is less of a burden on me to take care of all the housework. So my goals this week will be simple;

                – appreciate and enjoy my surroundings

                – be more loving to my husband, friends, and family

                – write more blog posts

                – try to be better every day

Miles

I am training to walk a half marathon (13.1 miles) in October and of course because of this I have been doing a lot of walking lately. I had been walking usually only once a week before starting this program so it has been a change to increase that to 3-4 times a week. Not a bad change, just a change. If you follow this blog regularly then you know I walk outside, around the local San Antonio parks. However, this past Saturday my plans ended up changing last-minute and I had to do my walking indoors on a treadmill. One thing about this Texas heat is that there is only a small window of time in the morning and evening when you can walk outside without fearing death or certain collapse from heat stroke. So, off to the gym I went for my 6 mile walk. I learned two things that morning; one, I walk much faster on a treadmill than I do walking outdoors and two, I hate walking on a treadmill. Well, the walking faster wasn’t a surprise because I was walking on a flat surface in a temperature controlled room opposed to walking on varying surfaces at varying inclines with the hot sun beating down on me. However, I was somewhat surprised to find out how much I dislike walking on a treadmill. It’s not the actual walking on the treadmill that I dislike it is the boredom from the monotony of walking on a treadmill with nothing to see and do. I think I am just spoiled by all of the parks and trails around me. I have grown accustomed to walking outside and taking in the scenery and even seeing some deer and rabbits every now and again.

Yes, I am pretty sure that I am not only spoiled by all of the parks around San Antonio I am also borderline obsessed with them. Case and point- yesterday I went to Phil Hardberger Park to get in my Sunday morning walk. While staring at the trail map I noticed that there was a section of the Salado Greenway Trail (which is a paved trail running through San Antonio- perfect for walking) running along the border of the park. I was very excited to see this and took off to find it. Once on the trail I was quickly caught up in the scenery and wildlife around me and since I didn’t want to miss out on anything I just had to walk to the end of the trail in order to see it all. Man, I was glad I did because on my way back I saw two deer; one crossed in front of me on the trail and wandered back into the woods to eat and the other I saw off the trail eating and it just stayed there eating while I proceeded to take like 30 pictures of it. The deer must be getting used to all of the foot traffic because neither were skittish and stayed in their area as if I wasn’t even there.  For me, there is nothing more amazing than seeing wildlife in its natural habitat. It was a wonderful experience. So much so that I ended up walking approximately five miles (I originally set out to walk 2-3 miles) because I was enjoying being outside so much.  This was Sunday, the day after my 6 mile walk. It was supposed to be an easy walk but instead I ended up wandering around for almost as long/far as I had the day before on the treadmill. I say this not because it was exhausting or difficult but to show you how much I enjoy being outside. My walk on Saturday on the treadmill was dreadful; my walk on Sunday was peaceful and relaxing. I guess from now on I will try to walk outside as much as possible because it truly is far more enjoyable.

Thanks for reading!

June 27, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , , , . Exercise, Fitness, Life, San Antonio, Walking, Weight Watchers.

8 Comments

  1. The Busy Crab replied:

    Congratulations, Dacia!! You’ve made incredible progress and seem to be honing in on what really works for you! Keep it up!!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you so much! I think I am getting the hang of this new life and starting to turn it into what I want from it!

  2. jakennicksmomma replied:

    Congrats on your loss!!! Also, I am going to go to your house for dinner all week. Everything sounds so yummy. I have a chicken in the fridge and more in the freezer, so I think that is all we will eat all week…lol. Walking outside is the best! Fresh air, changing scenery, nature, its all great. I really enjoyed your post today.

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks Kathleen! And of course you are more than welcome at my house anytime 😉 I can’t take all of the credit for the meals as most of my weeknight meals/foods are pre-made/marinated/chopped etc when I bought them. I owe alot to Central market for having such a great selection!

  3. kitchentutor replied:

    Woohoo!! Great job!! and ditto on coming to your house for dinner this week… why aren’t you posting recipes?!?! That past and clams looked AMAZING!!!!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you so much!!! I posted a couple recipes for you, including the pasta with clams 🙂

  4. jamesandjax replied:

    Oh my! Can I please move in with you so that I can enjoy some of those dinners? My stomach is growling now, thank you very much!

    Way to go on hitting such a huge milestone! I’m happy for you! You’re doing great!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks so much Jaime!!! And of course you can move in with me! That would be so much fun!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

