What Happened to June???

Today is June 30th, can you believe it? I can’t. June went by so quickly, I can’t belive that tomorrow is July 1st.  Since the past two weeks were so chaotic I wasn’t really thinking of my end of month weigh-in and then I woke up today and realized it was time for me to step on the scale and see if I met my goal of losing 10 pounds in June.  I weighed in on May 31st at home, using the same scale, so I figured it would be ok to use my home scale again today. On May 31st I weighed 258.8, today I weigh 250.2. So no, I didn’t reach my 10 pound goal but I did lose 8.6 pounds which is nothing to scoff at.  I have also finally reached my 10% weight loss goal, which was reaching 252 lb, and look how freaking close I am to entering the 240’s! I cannot wait to be under 250 and will be thrilled if I get there by my official WW weigh-in on Saturday but I am not holding my breath.  I want to be below 250 for two reasons; one, it means I am less than 100 pounds away from my goal weight (I realize this number is still big but in my head a double-digit loss seems easier than a triple digit loss) and two, because I would be closer to 200 than 300 hundred and that just feels great knowing that my next big milestone will bring me into the 100’s. Ahhhhhhhh (me screaming), it’s such an amazing feeling!

If you follow my post regularly or if you have peeked over at my weight loss goals page you will know that aside from my first goal, 10 pounds lost in March, I have not met a single goal by my self-imposed deadlines.  Am I disheartened? No. Should I lower my goals? I don’t think so. I mean, yes I know if I changed my goal from 10 lbs to 8 lbs per month I would reach it but then it wouldn’t be a challenge. I set up these goals as something to strive towards, as a motivational tool. If I lower my goals this time maybe I will take it easier at the gym or maybe I will snack more because I will feel I could ease up a little but then what’s to stop me from changing that 8 lbs down to 6 lbs pounds, and then to 4 lbs…you see what I mean, right? Personally (as everyone is different and challenges themselves differently) I would rather set goals that might be slightly unrealistic and work really hard trying to get there then set goals that I can easily achieve. I think it is because I don’t get mad or feel like a failure when I don’t reach them (for the most part) but instead am happy to have made significant progress every month and in turn will work harder next month to try to get those 10 pounds. So, long story short- I am sticking to my ten pound goal even if it might be slightly out of my reach.

Now that June is almost behind me it is time to look forward into July and I thought I would share with you some events I have going on this month. As I mentioned in Monday’s post, this Saturday I will be participating in the San Antonio Road Runners Monthly (free- woot!) Fun Run. This race is set up in four legs; a kids run, ½ mile, 1 mile and 3 mile lengths occurring sequentially so I will be able to participate in all of them  (minus the kids run, obviously) and in turn will get in 4.5 miles at the event and a ribbon for completing all three events.  Yay! Then in two weeks I will be walking in the SARR Women’s 5K. This should be a great event and Paul is even lined up as a volunteer which means we will both get enjoy the race. At the event they will be collecting clothing donations to be distributed to local women’s shelters as well as sneaker donations. Very awesome!

July will also begin two new things for me; tracking my measurements and Bikram Yoga. I wish I had started tracking measurements from the beginning but oh, well I can’t fix that now. I will be doing this long enough to still be able to see my progression via inches lost so it will still be a beneficial tracking method. I of course will post them on this blog as well. I mean you already know my weight what do I care if you know how big around my hips are 😉 Then on July 6th Paul and I will be trying our hands at Bikram Yoga; aka hot yoga. We purchased a 10 class pass from Groupon and will be taking two classes a week until finished. I am both nervous and excited and hopefully will find it as enjoyable as the other classes I have taken. Wish me luck!

July also brings the start of my new job (also exciting/nerve-wracking), our move into post housing (which was pushed up and may happen as early as July 15), the WNBA All-Star game which is being held here in San Antonio on July 23, the Food Truck Throw Down on July 29 and 30 at the Boardwalk on Bulverde, as well as new parks, hikes, and an endless world of possibilities that I cannot wait to share with you.  Oh, and maybe even another blog giveaway so stay tuned people!

Thanks for reading!

June 30, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , , . Fitness, Life, San Antonio, Walking, Weight Watchers.

10 Comments

  1. jamesandjax replied:

    Whoa, busy July! I’m tired just reading about it. My July is filling up quickly, too. I’ve decided to get active in a few local groups related to the things I’m semi-passionate about. So we’ll see how it goes. Plus there’s the pilates class I’m going to start taking. I’ve also been considering hot yoga–there’s a place right by my work I’ve been dying to check out. Not sure I can stomach it, but only one way to find out. I can’t wait to read about your experience with it!

    Also, goals are meant to be slightly out of reach. Otherwise, wouldn’t they just be items on our to-do list? You’re doing great. 🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      Ha ha! You are exactly right! They would just be items on our to-do list! You are so smart!

      I am glad you are starting up pilates again. Did you go last night? I think you would definitely be able to do hot yoga. A friend told me if you just make it through the whole class, even if you are just lying there not doing poses but stay in the room, then it is considered a success.

  2. amysjourneytohealth replied:

    Hot yoga is great! But very hot!! LOL It’s very detoxifying and feels good 🙂 And your friend is right, just make it through the class, lay down if you have to from the heat, and it is definitely a success 🙂 Can’t wait to hear how you like it! And way to go on reaching 10%!!!! That is AWESOME!!!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks Amy!!! I am really just excited to get some new clothes specifically for Bikram. Not like I want to show some skin but I know I will need to wear tanks and shorts in there or I risk certain death- lol! I can’t wait to tell you all about it. I am also curious who will fair better through the first class; me or Paul.

  3. cassiebehle replied:

    I’m so proud of you!!

  4. Brittany replied:

    I can’t believe the year is almost half over!!!!! Where did the time go?!

    • Dacia replied:

      It’s crazy! Next thing you know it will be Christmas!!!

  5. Simply Sidney replied:

    Sounds like you are going to have a really fun month!! How nice to be able to look forward to all that stuff. Have fun sweatin it today 🙂 I look forward to hearing all about it!!

    • Dacia replied:

      Oh, man. I am starting to get nervous and excited for Bikram. Just a few more hours. Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

