Balancing My Yin and Yang

Last night I went to a Qigong (pronounced Chi, like tai chi, gong, like the gong show) class offered at the Synergy Studio. This was the second time I had taken a Qigong class and I enjoyed it just as much as I had
the first time. In Qigong our focus is on manipulating and controlling qi (energy that exists in all things); i.e. good qi in, bad qi out, and every session always begins by having us purge ourselves of our bad qi.  The regulation of qi is through our body, mind and spirit. We learn that qi travels through the body along twelve main meridians which correspond to organs; our lungs, large intestines, stomach, spleen, heart, small intestine, bladder,
kidney, liver, gallbladder, pericardium, and the entire torso region. The amount and flow of qi is affected by a person’s mental, physical or emotional state related to the Mind, the Body and the Spirit. As we were practicing last night our trainer told us that if one of those three areas was not functioning properly we would feel it and in turn we should pull more qi into that area.

Another concept our trainer talks frequently about is Yin and Yang; which is a prevalent concept in most (probably all, but not 100% sure) Chinese philosophies. Yin and Yang are opposing forces that are always interacting and influencing each other but neither force can be destroyed. What we are working towards is to achieve a balance between these forces. In qigong we have Yang organs (known as fire) and Yin organs (known as water) and what we strive to do is to balance the qi between Yin and Yang. Our movements always include both forces. During my first class the instructor made a comment about Yin and Yang that resonated with me. He said that our Yang qi is what we want, our desires, but our Yin qi is what will actually happen. What he meant by this comment was if our Yin qi and Yang qi are not aligned we will not be able to fulfill our desires.

At this point in the post you may be wondering why the heck I am babbling on about qigong and Yin and Yang but this all has a point, I promise. I wanted to talk about how I felt hearing the above comment, about having our qi aligned in order to fulfill our desires, but also wanted to give you some background first on qigong. I know this practice will come up in future posts (I am starting an 8 week training program this summer to better educate myself) so I thought a little explanation would be good. Ok, so now that is done – back to the comment. When I heard this statement last week it was like a light bulb went off. How many times have you set out to do something or tried to change something in your life but were unable to? How many times has this happened and you felt like no matter what the circumstances were you still would have been unsuccessful? I know there were plenty of times in my life I had expectations and desire to change things but was unsuccessful and I think this was because my Yin and Yang qi’s were not aligned.

Ok, maybe it had nothing to do with my qi but what I do know is that no matter how much you may want to do something or change something if you are not 100% committed to it, you can’t. I think about the people I see at
WW, not everyone is like this but some are and I want to use them in this scenario, who are just going through the motions at the meetings. These people only following the plan sometimes, not exercising, not breaking out of past bad habits, not committing themselves to changing their lives and what happens is
they start to struggle and blame WW and eventually quit. Of course the program won’t work if you are not ready to make the necessary changes. WW is not going to come to your house, prepare your meals, tie your sneakers and push you out the door. WW is a plan and if you don’t follow it honestly, you will not be successful.

I am not judging these people. It is hard and you have to be ready to admit to yourself that you NEED to change, you need to get your life back under control, or it won’t work. I have been down this road before and was unsuccessful so many times. I was never fully committed, at least not Mind, Body and Soul. This applies to everything we do in life, not just WW. It’s like addiction. People say that you cannot help an addict until they are ready to help themselves and sometimes even when they think they are ready, they still end up back where they started. We cannot force change on others just like we cannot force change on ourselves. We have to be at the point where we are ready to openly embrace these changes 100%, the good and the bad. It’s not easy but nothing worthwhile ever is.

I am lucky this time, right now, to be at that point in my journey where I am successfully changing my life but I know there are still areas that I need to change but am not able to just yet. Instead of excuses, this time I choose introspection to see why I am unable to align my Yin qi and Yang qi and hopefully bring about the change I want to see in myself.

What are your thoughts on this? How do you feel about Eastern philosophy? Do you think there is truth
behind this or is it all a bunch of hooey? I would love to know what you think. Please comment
🙂

Thanks for reading!

July 1, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , , , . Life, Qigong.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

