{Semi} Wordless Wednesday: How I Spent 4th of July Weekend

Paul and I went out to dinner to celebrate his graduation from WLC and making Commandant's List

We were also celebrating my new job which just happens to be right around the corner from where we ate

 
 

Dinner at Biga on the Banks- this was the view from our table

This meal was out of this world- I just have to share it with you. Paul and I split an appetizer of chicken fried oysters over squid ink fettucine with a mustard hollandaise. Yum!

For the second course I had the Texas heirloom tomato salad with fresh ricotta

My entrée was venison and quail with parsnip puree and brussel sprouts. This was a half plate, half the normal entrée size, which was the perfect portion size

Dessert was sticky toffee pudding. I am a sucker for anything with toffee in it. My favorite! And yes, I cleaned the plate!

This is what the inside of the our car looked like with the sunlight reflecting off of my shiny shirt. It made it look like we had a disco ball in the car.

We paid cash at the parking garage and were given $1 coins back as change. When we went to use our gold doubloons at the movie theater a manager needed to be called over to verify if it was real money.

This is where I spent Saturday morning; 7 mile walk through McAllister Park

During my walk I came face to face with numerous woodland creatures including this squirrel

I saw over two dozen deer that morning lingering around the picnic areas.

It was amazing how close they let me get to them; they never even flinched

I think this little one wanted to walk with me 😉

Sunday morning Paul and I went hiking at Friedrich Wilderness Park. We hiked 2.5 miles over a 300' increase in elevation, on mostly level 3 and level 4 trails

Level 4 trails- never thought I could handle them but I survived!

I had heard about the windmill on the trails and set out to find it. Not sure why it was there but it was pretty cool to see.

Starting our descent back down the hills. Although the trail was a loop it felt like we were walking in the wrong direction.

This little decline is much steeper than it looks and the step downs were so tall I had to sit down twice in order to get down. This would have been much easier to do going up rather than going down.

We spent the morning of the 4th at the Guadalupe River State Park. We brought the dogs with us and we did some hiking and some wading in the river

Prickly Pear Cactus

I wish I would have taken my camera into the river with us. Watching the dogs play in the water was so much fun. I was just too nervous about dropping it in the water.

These are photos I took right before we left looking down on the river area. The water was pretty low- it was only up to our knees.

We really enjoyed spending some time at the park and being outside with the girls. We can't wait to come back here and camp once the fire ban is lifted. I mean what fun is camping if you can't make s'mores?

I hope you all had a wonderful 4th of July holiday! Thanks for reading!

July 6, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , . San Antonio, wordless wednesday.

8 Comments

  1. SAJ replied:

    great pictures! looks like you guys had a great time and you really look great dacia!!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you so much! We did have a fabulous time.

  2. Latina Barbi replied:

    Did you say hollandaise sauce? OMG…. toffee?? YUMMY!!

    • Dacia replied:

      Ummm yeah. It was amazing. Buh-bye weekly points. Lol! Totally worth it!!!

  3. Simply Sidney replied:

    I can tell you guys are loving life, how awesome is that!! Love the disco ball clothes and the fake money, teehee 🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      Lol! Those coins cracked me up. Not to mention they were weighing down paul’s pockets- he was itching to offload them. We left some at a Vietnamese restaurant on Sunday- hopefully they realized they were actual currency. Lol 😉

  4. yerttle replied:

    Looks like you had a blast! …and rightly deserved. 😉 That dessert looks good enough to roll around in.

    …please tell me you rolled around in it. Even if it was just a little… 😉

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you!!! I didn’t roll around in it but you know I licked the plate clean!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

