Randomness

I am at the Silver Stars game with my friend MS. She asked me if I knew that they had remade Footlose; which I did. I have seen the preview for it the last couple times I have been to the movie theater. Then last night I saw a preview on TNT for Dallas. Apparently they are attempting to bring that show back just with a modern story line. Just like 90210, Melrose Place, and Hawaii 5-0. It’s like the pool of fresh and creative ideas has run dry.

It’s not just movies and TV that are into recycling lately, it’s pop music too. I hear it every time I flip through the radio; songs from the past resurrected from the dead only to be over- played back to obscurity. It’s so uninspiring.

Don’t even get me started on reality shows. I am not saying I don’t watch them because I do (biggest loser, amazing race) it just seems that the number of reality shows has grown exponentially over the last decade. The choices have grown from trying to survive on an island or in a house full of strangers to shows about bizarre eating habits (laundry detergent, really?) and the secret lives of gypsies and polygamists. Anything you have ever wanted to do, or learn to do, or wanted to watch someone else do I guarantee there is a show out there for you. Ice Road Truckers, anyone?

Maybe it has all been done before. Or maybe it is modern society dictating the need for these types of things. I am not sure. One thing I do know is that I am slightly afraid of what the future holds for us. It’s just a matter of time before Extreme Body Waxing and the Colonoscopy Hour hit the airwaves!

Thanks for reading!

July 12, 2011. Tags: , , . Life.

8 Comments

  1. Tamara replied:

    I’m pretty sure both those shows you’re afraid of seeing, are already in production, if not being shown, in some other country. They have some “interesting” programming in other countries, to be sure. One plus about being away from American television, is being away from American television. I am excited to get back to my HGTV & Food Network. And we do have Discovery Channel here (in English even!), but I end up watching YouTube a lot more than I ever did when I was in the US. UCC is probably underrated in the mainstream, for obvious reasons (competition). UCC (not only YouTube, but blogs too) is so much more interesting on a myriad of levels… truth is stranger than fiction, sure, but alternative viewpoints and creativity is something you don’t tend to get on regulated television.

    • Dacia replied:

      Yep! You are exactly right! Not to say I don’t fall into that mindless drone category when it comes to TV. I just justify it by acknowledging the lack of anything better available. I will definitely check out UCC though- sounds cool. Thanks!

  2. thoughtsappear replied:

    I didn’t know that they remade Footloose. I’m gonna need to check that out.

    • Dacia replied:

      I think it comes out in the theaters sometime this summer. Not 100% sure.

  3. Simply Sidney replied:

    All the redoing of already made movies, tv shows and songs says several things about our society. I think a few of them include: greed and impatients. I don’t mean to imply that I don’t watch/listen to the remakes, I do enjoy them for the most part, but they are hardly ever as good or better than the original. Wow, I think I could go on for a while, so I’ll stop now, anyways, I’m with ya, totally agree!!

    • Dacia replied:

      Lol! I am glad you agree and understand where I am coming from. Great minds 😉

  4. averageinsuburbia replied:

    …and we couldn’t learn everything about logging by watching Ax Men, so they had to give us Swamp Loggers and then American Logger. Good Grief! …and I’m with you on the recycling of old songs. Rap and R&B do it all the time and young people do not have any idea the beautiful chorus in that song is 30 years old. Grrrr….Like Simply Sidney, I could go on quite a while about this issue! Maybe this is why so many of us like reading blogs, because there are so many original and creative people blogging throughout the world.

    • Dacia replied:

      I agree about why we like to read blogs. I am inspired daily by their creativity and honesty. I just hope I don’t get to the point where I end up recycling my posts.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

