It’s Almost Time to Say Goodbye

The time is almost here to say goodbye to my beloved Harry Potter. I cannot say I am a truly hardcore Potter fan as I haven’t been there from the beginning but I am still slightly obsessed. I started reading the books/watching the movies five years ago and was hooked instantly. I fell in love with young Harry from the first chapter of Sorcerer’s Stone and was swept away into his life every page thereafter. It wasn’t just Harry either; I loved all of the characters, good and evil. I was in Border’s, wearing my ‘Trust Snape’ sticker, for the midnight release of the Deathly Hallows. I was in the store until 2am before I had my copy and then once I was home I did not stop reading it until I was finished. I cried like a baby throughout that last book as I saw the ending unfold.

Yes, I know that to some this may seem a bit ridiculous but for me it is an end of an era and it is hard to say goodbye. Even though it will be bittersweet, and I know how the story ends, I am super excited to see the last Harry Potter movie this weekend. Even if you never read or care to read a single book in the series you cannot deny the phenomenon that is Harry Potter. More than 400 million books sold worldwide and the first and only billionaire author. I know I am in good company with the hundreds of thousands of Potter fans out there. Goodbye Harry, Hermione and Ron; you will be missed!

Thanks for reading! Expecto Patronum! šŸ˜‰

July 14, 2011. Tags: , . Books, Movies.

4 Comments

  1. Simply Sidney replied:

    We have our babysitter coming on Tuesday night, the first night me and hubby are free and in the same place, can’t wait!!! I’ve gone to the midnight book releases too, such fun. I know so many people who started reading again b/c of these fun books.

    I believed in Snape the whole way too, cried through to the end of the book and I’m sure I’ll blubber at the movies…I’m so excited!! šŸ™‚

    • Dacia replied:

      I loved it! They did a great job with the last movie. I cried like a baby. Lol!

  2. jakennicksmomma replied:

    You are certainly not alone! I am also going to be sad to see this last movie. The great thing about this series is that it all started with a group of amazing books. Every so often, I will reread them all. I also look forward to a time when my kids are older and I can read these stories to them.

    I would say you are a hardcore fan. I remember someone saying something to the effect that you would kill one of these people that skipped to the last pages of the Deathly Hallows and read the end if they spoiled it for you in the bookstore…lol

    • Dacia replied:

      Lol! You are right! I was threatening to kill anyone who told me the ending. I guess I am pretty hardcore. Lol!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

