I did it…. And then I didn’t

I owe you some updates. This post is going to be about my Weight Watchers weigh-in from July 30th, my monthly weight loss goal, monthly measurements, and progress since. As you know from my last post, as well as from FB and Twitter if you follow me there, my father had some complications during and after his neck operation on July 29th. Paul and I ended up going out to NJ to be with him last week because he was in critical condition and not doing well. I am happy to report he is doing much better now. He is still in ICU but he is off the breathing tube (as of 8/5) and although he is still having complications from the breathing tube and being in a hospital bed for 10 days it is safe to say he is out of the woods. Doctors are hoping he will be out of ICU Wednesday and hopefully home from the hospital sometime by the end of the week. Since I spent my weigh-in day at the hospital in NJ I have no weekly update to report from Saturday. Luckily for you I am behind a week so I still have some weight loss news to share with you.

On July 30 I weighed in at a 239 (woo hoo- goodbye 240’s) which was a weekly loss of 3.8 pounds and brought my total lost since joining WW up to 41 pounds! I was thrilled because I had another big loss, I received another 5 pound star in my meeting, but even more exciting than that was the fact that I had lost 11.2 pounds so far for July with only one day left in the month. As you know, I hadn’t lost 10 pounds or more in a month since the first month I starting tracking my weight so I was beyond excited that I could possibly reach/exceed my monthly goal. Unfortunately that excitement didn’t last very long. Come Sunday morning, the last day of the month, I weighed in at 240.8 which made my total loss for the month of July 9.4 pounds L Don’t get me wrong, I am beyond happy to have lost 9.4 pounds last month but I would be lying if I said I wasn’t disappointed that I came so close to meeting my goal and then didn’t. Oh well, next month I will hit that ten pounds!

Are you curious about how I let myself gain 1.8 pounds in one day? Worried I went on a all day food spree? Well, first I should say that I attribute most of the gain to water weight as I certainly didn’t eat 6300 calories on Saturday which also happened to be my move in day. I started the morning off with my weigh-in and then hit up a Nia class. I was asked to pick up breakfast and coffees for Paul and our friends helping us move which I did. I grabbed some scones and muffins. So, I started my day off with a scone. Not great but not too bad either. Then for lunch it was pizza- I had one slice and a salad. For dinner we ate out again as we were still in the process of moving and still had no food to prepare or means to prepare it. We had Papoulli’s (Greek)for dinner, I had the Mediterranean Diet plate, and after we had some Red Mango (frozen yogurt). So no, I wasn’t surprised I had gained that much weight in one day because I didn’t keep to my normal eating habits. I ate out three times (too much sodium), I didn’t get in my allotted servings of fruits and veggies and, by far the worst thing I did that day, I didn’t drink enough water. It was one of those days where hours just disappeared. Around 430p and I stopped what I was doing and said to Paul how I hadn’t peed in 7 hours- not a good sign.

Sunday wasn’t much better than Saturday but I knew most of the weight I was putting on was water weight from the crazy amounts of sodium I ingested over the weekend. I set out to make Monday better, to make sure I drank plenty of water and ate better and lo and behold come Tuesday morning I was back down to 239. Even more amazing was Wednesday morning when I weighed 236.8. What! Not only had I dropped those stinking weekend pounds but I was just merely 0.8 pounds from having lost 50 pounds since I started this back on 2/22. I was basking in the glory of my soon to be 50 pound weight loss when Dad took a turn for the worse and left to go be with him. Between last Wednesday through yesterday I struggled with my diet and lack of exercise. I didn’t care though; my only priority was my father and being by his side. But that’s life, right? Sometimes it can’t always be about us. I knew I had gained but I didn’t care. I did the best I could given the circumstances and I refused to beat myself up over it. I came home and vowed to do better this week now that I can get back into my routine.

This morning I weighed in at 239.2 (very happy to still be below 240) and I am curious to see how much of that is water weight and how much is actually poundage. I guess I will wait and see tomorrow. Either way, I know I will get to 236 soon enough and I when I do you know you will be the first people I tell. As for my monthly measurements, I had Paul take them on July 31 and I have them written down, somewhere. I will post them as soon as I find the results. I do know this, I lost a half an inch or more in every area with my biggest loss being in the chest, of course 😉 Overall, I could not be happier.

I would like to thank all of you for your emails/comments/tweets/texts/wall posts asking about me and my family. Your care and concern throughout last week was amazing. Your support really helped me keep it together whereas otherwise I probably would have been a nervous wreck. So again, thank you. I love you all so much!
Thanks for reading!

August 8, 2011. Tags: , , , , , . Weight Loss, Weight Watchers.

10 Comments

  1. amysjourneytohealth replied:

    I’m so glad your dad is doing better. There is nothing more stressful than having such a close loved one in the hospital. And go you losing all that weight!! You made good choices out of what was available to you. Way to go!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks Amy! I am so happy my father is doing better. It was pretty rough to be there but I feel like being there helped him pull through.

      The weight loss really seems to have increased alot recently. I think it took time for my body to adjust. Think This week i am going to post about what i have learned so far and what I hope to accomplish going forward.

  2. Simply Sidney replied:

    I’m so glad you Dad is working his way home!!! Thanks so much for the update

    Didn’t I just write the other day that the 240s should enjoy you while they had you b/c you wouldn’t be around for long, wow, that is simply awesome. Well 230s sorry but the 220s are coming up fast!! Wahoo!! As my littlest one would say, “see ya” 🙂

    I’m looking forward to reading about what you’ve learned so far!!

    • Dacia replied:

      Yeah, I am pretty sure you did say that about the 240’s just the other day! Man, those ten pounds went by quickly. It took some time but now I feel like my body is finally getting with the program- lol!

      Yes, I am beyond thrilled my father is doing better. Cannot wait for him to finally be home and recuperating from his neck surgery in peace.

  3. jakennicksmomma replied:

    Yay good news all around! Glad your dad is better and go for you under 240!

    • Dacia replied:

      Woo hoo!!! Yay! Party time 🙂

      Thank you for all of your messages this past week- it meant alot! Love you!

  4. SAJ replied:

    wow dacia – i havent read any of my blogs in so long, and i’m reading here for the first time in a while. i’m SO sorry to hear about everything your dad has been through, but i’m SO happy that he is doing better. sounds like it has been very rough, but that he is a fighter! i send all my good luck and well wishes to you and your family. =)

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you! It was a rough week but he has made it through the worst of it and we are hopeful he will be home by the end of the week.

  5. Ginger replied:

    It’s wonderful that you Dad is doing better, Dacia, I hope he will be home soon. Congrats on the 11 pounds, you are doing so fantastic, especially during times of high stress, good for you 🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks! I am so happy my Dad is doing better! He is not out of the woods just yet but he’s getting there!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

