Weight Watchers Update and Weekly Goals

First, before you read this, you need to stop over to Simply Sidney’s blog – Simply Sidney Her post yesterday was about what real women look like and links to a website of just that. I spent a big chunk of time playing around on that website. It helped me visualize what I look like know and what I will look like along the way working towards my goal weight. I found it very helpful and inspiring. Thanks Sid!

This past Saturday morning I went to my normal Weight Watchers meeting location for my weigh in. My new employer has WW on site (Tuesdays, 12p-1p) but they run their programs in sessions, so employees meeting goals at the end can qualify for partial reimbursement (sweet!) and right now their session is coming to an end. The leader kindly allows me to come and sit in on the meetings but I do not weigh in there. For now (Aug 30th starts a new session and I will be participating in it) I attend the meetings at work and then go weigh in on Saturdays. Not an ideal situation but it’s only for a few more weeks so it’s not really that bad. As you know, last week I was in Philadelphia on Saturday and did not weigh in. I opted to weigh in at home once I was settled; the result was 237 lbs. I was definitely nervous my first week back trying to get back into my routine so I made sure I cracked down on my water intake, meals and exercise. I am happy to report that when I weighed in on Saturday I was down to 233.lbs for a four pound loss this week J This brings my total lost since joining WW up to 47 pounds and I cannot wait until I can reach that milestone and receive another WW charm for my key ring. I have already been celebrating this week because my total weight loss since February (a month before I joined WW) is now up to 53 pounds. It feels good just saying that I have lost over 50 pounds and although I try to stress the importance of non-scale victories this is too big of a scale victory for me to ignore.

You may have noticed I have been recording some big losses these last few weeks, I know I certainly did. I have been thinking a lot about what is different, what I changed, that could possibly have had such a big impact and here is what I have come up with. No idea if any or all of these is factoring in but here are the differences nonetheless.

· I made lunch my biggest meal. I know they say breakfast should be your biggest meal but it’s still too hard for me to eat a big meal early in the morning. On a typical day my lunch consists of a large salad loaded with fresh veggies, sometimes some grilled chicken (3-4oz), and light dressing (always measured out), a cup of soup, and fruit- usually grapes. It fills me up and gives me the energy I need to exercise after work

· I take two fitness classes every day with the exception of Wednesdays and Fridays when I only take one. Before my routine was a mix of classes and walking and now that I am not walking I have added more classes into my routine. I love it; I get great more complete body workouts and I LOVE what I am doing every day!

· I stopped walking. Some of the weight loss could be attributed to this. It often crosses my mind that by eliminating walking I may start to lose muscle mass, which would show as weight loss. I am not sure if I am or not, I think I need more time to see if I notice any changes. Maybe September 1 measurements might provide some insight.

· I stopped obsessing about calorie burn during workouts. I don’t even monitor it anymore. I find that I enjoy things more that way

Off the top of my head, those are the only big changes I can think of and I don’t really know if they are contributing factors. For all I know, my metabolism could finally be speeding up and I am starting to burn fat easier. Who knows. I think I should just chalk it up to living the life I WANT to live.

Weekly Goals

· Write at least 5 blog posts
· Meditate every day
· Try something new
· Read more blogs
· Plan something fun to do with Paul

I thought it would be fun to include my schedule for the week so you can see what I have out on the horizon. My daily work schedule is 7a-4p, M-F- all of these activities are planned around those times.

Monday- work, 5p Combo class (half boxing, half boot camp), 645 Poi Spinning class, meditate before bed

Tuesday- work, 430p Pilates class, 530p Nia class, 7p Silver Stars game with MS, meditate

Wednesday- work, 430p Hot Vinyasa Yoga, 615p Paul’s softball game, meditate

Thursday- work, 530p Nia, 645p Qigong, meditate

Friday- work, 6p Boxing, 730p free time…not sure what we’ll end up doing, meditate

Saturday- 7am weigh in, 8am Tai Chi, 930a Nia, no plans yet for the rest of the day (should probably plan something fun here_, meditate

Sunday- 10a Journey Dance, 1130a grocery shopping, free until 4p Nia class, household stuff and prep for the week, meditate

So, that’s my plan. Let’s see how closely I am able to stick to it.

Thanks for reading!

August 15, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , . Weight Loss, Weight Watchers.

6 Comments

  1. Simply Sidney replied:

    Holy Moly, the 220s are not far away now. My goodness this is exciting and inspirational!! Just told my mother-in-law all about your journey thus far and she is impressed too of course. Thanks for the insights on your week and the changes you’ve made recently so very interesting!!. It is all forming one big weight loss picture and I’m sure living the life YOU WANT to live is a BIG part of that picture.

    Thanks too for the shout out Dacia 😉 we are real woman and I love it when we help each other to see the truth!! Even my mother-in-law, who is almost 70 and thin, thinks she is heavy. I’m always trying to knock some sense into her 🙂

    Keep it up and I look forward to reading at least 4 more posts from you this week 😉

    • Dacia replied:

      Lol! I will do my best to get four more out. No promises on the length though, they may end up being one sentence posts 😉

      Thanks so much for your support through my journey. It has meant so much to me!

      I think most women think they need to lose weight. If only we could see ourselves the way others see us. Maybe then we would realize our true beauty.

  2. Ginger replied:

    Woo! Hoo! You are on fire! The weight is melting off of you girl 🙂 lunch has always been my biggest meal too, I think you are totally right on with that 🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks Ginger! Some days it feels like that. It’s definitely a good thing!

  3. cassiebehle replied:

    You inspire me to get off my tush and work out, but also thanks to you, I can barely move this morning. 😉 Kickboxing is not for the faint of heart! Have a fantastic week!

    • Dacia replied:

      You are right, it is not for the faint of heart. Kickboxing is for masochists! Lol! But we love it nonetheless! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

