Nia Love

I have fallen in love with Nia; a blend of dance, yoga and martial arts, that leaves me feeling both empowered and free afterwards. On days, like today, when I go to Nia after work I find myself excited and filled with anticipation, like a child on the first day of school. Originally I utilized Nia as a way to get my calorie burn up and a good sweat on but it has blossomed into so much more than that. It is such a spiritual experience and I found that it brings me inner peace and self-reflection. Nia connects you to the music and your movement and allows you to create something magical. Prior to joining the Synergy Studio in early June I had never heard of Nia but after some research I found that Nia has been around since 1983, it is nothing new. Joanie, one of my Nia teachers, has just celebrated her 17th year in Nia. She is credited for bringing Nia to San Antonio; she is truly an inspirational woman and I am always honored to be in her presence.

Joanie was also the person who taught Jan, another magnificent Nia instructor at Synergy, eleven years ago. While Joanie was away last week celebrating her 17 year Nia anniversary in MT I had the pleasure of having Jan as my ‘substitute’ Nia instructor for two classes. Although I had only had class with Jan twice before, once at a Nia class she taught and the other was a Journey Dance class we both participated in, I felt connected to her spirit from the first class. She has incredible energy and an amazing personality that shines through in her dance. She was even kind enough to allow me to take her picture (after our class) for this blog.

20110816-030939.jpg

This is Jan.

11 years with Nia.

60 years old.

She is amazing.

At the end of class Jan sometimes plays this song. The first time I heard it I asked her the name/artist and immediately went to iTunes to download it. Every time I hear it I cry. This song will forever remind me of Jan and her friendship, no matter where this life takes me. I just wanted to share this with you because it has a beautiful message that we all need to hear and take to heart.

Kinder- Copper Wimmin

If you are interested in learning more about Nia or if you want to find classes in your area you should stop by their website: Nia

Thanks for reading!

August 16, 2011. Tags: , , , , , . Nia, San Antonio.

5 Comments

  1. Ginger replied:

    It’s wonderful how certain people can touch your life so deeply, isn’t it?

    • Dacia replied:

      It truly is. I am so blessed to have such wonderful people in my life!

  2. Latina Barbi replied:

    She’s beautiful!

    • Dacia replied:

      I would say I wish I look that good at 60 but really I should say I wish I looked that good now! She’s amazing!

  3. Simply Sidney replied:

    I totally know what you mean about Nia. In particular dancing for me has always been one of the most peacful places on earth. I’m so glad you are having a good experience with good people!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

