Move Over Greek Yogurt, There’s a New Sheriff in Town

A few months ago, back at the beginning of my blogging career, I had asked for some healthy snack ideas. I received numerous responses and from them was able to find some great, healthy snacks that I incorporated into my diet. Multiple people suggested that I try Greek yogurt and I immediately was hooked. Greek yogurt became a staple in my diet. It is high in protein (also lower in carbs and sodium vs. regular yogurt) so it is filling as well as a great post workout snack. Not being a milk drinker, yogurt has always been my go-to dairy product and it’s great to still be able to have the yogurt I love but with so many more health benefits.

Yes, everything was going along quite smoothly in my Greek yogurt romance until I started finding yogurts that were moldy, well in advance of the expiration date. I contacted the company directly and they apologized and sent us some coupons for free yogurts to replace the expired ones. Unfortunately, upon buying the replacements I still found moldy yogurts. Now, I am not 100% sure that this is the fault of the manufacturer and am thinking it is more likely the fault of the grocery store for not storing them properly. Not only were all the moldy yogurts made on different machines, at different times (I found out how to read the manufacturers code when I had to send them the information for their records) but that same grocery store sold me, around the same time, mini babybels that were moldy before the expiration date as well. Because of this Paul and I decided to not by dairy products from that store anymore.

While grocery shopping elsewhere I went back to the dairy department to pick up some Greek yogurt. Although this store offered half a dozen different brand Greek yogurts they did not offer the brand I had grown accustomed to eating. This left me checking the labels on every brand trying to find one that was comparable to the brand I bought. I didn’t find any. What I found instead wasn’t even Greek yogurt at all, it was Icelandic Skyr (pronounced skeer) something I had never even seen or heard of before. Intrigued by the flavors offered and the nutritional information I decided to give it a try. Skyr is similar to yogurt except for the fact that it is strained, which I think technically makes it more like soft cheese than yogurt, but I digress. It is thick and creamy like Greek yogurt but it is even better. This brand, Siggi’s, offers up a product that is high in protein (14g), fat free (on the ones I tried), 100 calories, low in carbs and sugar (sweetened with fruit and agave nectar, no sugar) the milk used does not contain bovine recombinant growth hormone and they use vegetable-based rennet, not the rennet made from mammal stomachs, so it is vegetarian friendly as well.

I have been eating Siggi’s Skyr mixed with ¾ cup of Kashi Go Lean cereal every morning for breakfast and I love it. For those of you doing WW, the fat free Siggi’s are only 2 points and ¾ c of Kashi (which is ¾ of a serving) is 3 points. So for 5 points I am getting a total of 0.8 g fat, 33.5g carbs, 7.5g of fiber, and a whopping 23.8g of protein. Add a piece of fruit and some unsweetened green tea and you have the perfect breakfast.

If you are interested in trying some Siggi’s Icelandic Skyr hop over to their website- Siggi’s Yogurt– and you can search for locations by zip code to find locations near you that carry it. I believe all Whole Foods as well as Wegmans carry it. If you are in San Antonio you can find it at Central Market as well as Whole Foods. Siggi’s is also on FB and Twitter (@siggisyogurt) if you want to talk to them to find out more about their products. I should note that they also make a probiotic drink which I have yet to try but hopefully will do so soon.

I have tried every flavor carried at CM and I love them all. However, I do have two favorites the orange & ginger and the pomegranate & passion fruit. Yum! I highly recommend Siggi’s for anyone who likes Greek yogurt, looking for a healthy snack/meal option, wants to eat good tasting food that is good for them, vegetarians, meat eaters, I mean really, this product is excellent and I think everyone should try it.

20110817-085024.jpg

20110817-085211.jpg

Have you tried skyr before? I would love to know what you think of it or any other healthy foods you have been eating lately. Thanks for reading!

** photos taken from Siggi’s Yogurt website

***These are my honest opinions. I was not solicited by or received payment or products from Siggi’s to endorse their product.

August 17, 2011. Tags: , , , , , . Diet, Food.

3 Comments

  1. Ginger replied:

    I had moldy yogurt too, well before the expiration. Hmmm. I will look for this, thanks for the tip 😀

    • Dacia replied:

      Isn’t that weird? The worst part is I would bring it to work for breakfast, et there, open it up and find the mold and then have no yogurt 😦 now I put the yogurt into a Tupperware before I leave my house so I can check for mold.

  2. Simply Sidney replied:

    I have not yet tried greek yogurt as a snack, but I need a new snack idea and this seems like a very worthy option. Thanks for the idea!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

