Three Little Words

First I would like to let you all know that today my father is being discharged from the hospital he has called home for three weeks. They are moving him into a rehab center and based off his progress so far they are thinking he will be there 1-2 months. He still is having problems swallowing so no eating for him. It is driving him crazy, especially since there are 9 million food ads on TV. Poor guy. Other than that he is progressing well. He is walking around and he actually had to have someone in his room 24 hours a day because they thought he would try to flee the hospital. For those of you who know my Dad, you know he totally would have. I am curious how the rehab center is going to keep him on lockdown. So if you live in South Jersey keep your eyes peeled for a gray-haired man, with a pony tail (lol, hippies), wandering down the street in a hospital gown and/or hooked to IVs. Thanks!

In yesterday’s post I wrote about three words that best described the last three months of my life. Since I am nosey 😉 I in turn I asked my readers if they would leave me a comment with their three words. This morning, while reading through the comments, I decided I wanted to use your words as a post. I even took to hounding my friends via texts and Twitter for their three words. Here are the responses:

Challenge Effort Growth

La Vida Loca

Really Really Tired (one year old twins- Yeah, I KNOW you are tired)

Something Is Emerging

Research Run Read

Busy Happy Change

I Am Second

Hopeful Lonely Anticipatory

Exciting Disappointing Achievement

Sweaty Box-a-wine-a-licious Busy

Tired Satisfied Growing

Rejuvenated Positive Sexy

Exciting Uncertain Exhausting

Hectic Terrifying Crossroads

You guys are great; I love the honesty and openness in your words. Do you see a theme here? I noticed a lot of tired and busy people and a mix of happy and sad words. Definitely an accurate picture of what life is really like. It’s not always good, it’s not always bad, it’s just life. I loved all of your words but there was one comment in particular that touched my heart. This was an email from someone very close to me.

“My three words would be: out of control.

I love yours. I want your three words.

Since graduation I was relaxing and vacationing….but that’s what led to my current weight gain….which settling back into my life has made me upset and down on myself. Which I do not want to do but also can’t help. Sometimes feeling disgusted with myself that my clothes look bad or my face is chunky you know. Trying to be more positive now though. I hope in the next three months it is I love me!”

I hope so. I hope in three months you can say you love yourself too. All of you. Even though in three months there will still be; “busy, tired, crazy, and disappointing,” I hope that in that mix there is some self-love going on, too.

Last night in Qigong my instructor was talking about one of his favorite quotes, from Pascal: ‘the heart has its reasons which reason knows nothing of.’ He told us that the reason he liked it so much was because it explains how we can love ourselves and still be our harshest critic. He is exactly right. Self-love isn’t the same thing as ignorance. I love me but I am completely aware of my flaws and yes, I still scrutinize my body and appearance almost daily. It’s just when I do so now I do it in a healthy manner. Looking at my features in a positive light or taking the things I do want to change about myself and create a plan to do so. I am still a critic, just not quite so harsh. Maybe that is something we all need to do, go easy on ourselves. We are so much better, stronger, prettier, smarter, wiser than we ever give ourselves credit for.

I am not perfect, nor will I ever be, but I can still love the person I am and I can be happy with where I have come from and where I am going. Maybe the best three words to describe me would be work in progress; that is truly what I am and will be hopefully for the rest of my life. It’s not a bad thing, it’s the exact opposite- it is a sign of my growth and willingness to continually seek improvement. Six months ago my three words would have been completely effing stagnant- I’ll take progression, hands down, over stagnation any day! 🙂

Thanks for reading!

August 19, 2011. Tags: , , , , . Life, thought-provoking thursday.

7 Comments

  1. snoopyhockey33 replied:

    Hectic terrifying crossroads.

  2. amysjourneytohealth replied:

    love it! you are doing such an amazing job girl! so proud of you and beyond inspired by you!!! 🙂 my three words would probably be “out of control” as well. But I’m working on letting it all go and focusing on what I can control rather than all the things that are out of my control. keep up the hard work Dacia! You are amazing! 🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      Amy!!!! You’re back. I was very worried about you- it’s been awhile! I hope you are doing ok. Thanks for your kind words- they mean so much to me. Like I said in an earlier comment- I wouldn’t be here if it wasn’t for all of your support, inspiration and motivation. You guys keep me going! Love you!!!

  3. Simply Sidney replied:

    I remember those stagnet months, well lets be honest here, years and I never wish to go back there. Some pretty amazing things happened to me during that time, E.g. they are now 2 and 5 years old, but I’m moving forward now, I have the reigns again and back to enjoying life. Thanks for all the inspiration Dacia and for reminding me we are not alone in our life struggles

    • Dacia replied:

      We are not alone in our struggles- that is what has helped me get through this. When it gets hard or I want to quit I turn to you guys and know I can push through the hard times. I doubt I would have been nearly as successful without this blog and all the wonderful people I have met because of it. I owe all of you a big THANK YOU!

  4. kitchentutor replied:

    That was a great idea with the 3 words!! It really made me stop and think about the last 3 months. The busyness can sometimes keep me from seeing how far I’ve come in some areas and how far I haven’t come in others… ahh… life 😉 i had slipped a little clue about being pregnant in one of my food posts but haven’t shouted it from the rooftops yet 🙂 I’ll keep you updated on when I get a due date and all that fun stuff!!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks although I can’t take credit for the three words idea. It was making an entire post out of it though. It’s neat to have a glimpse of how people feel and where they are in their lives. Congrats again on the pregnancy. Ironically, my army friends down here that are from Iowa too are pregnant also- it’s their second.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

