The opposite of thought-provoking

Here are some random thoughts I have had in my head the past few days that I wanted to share. I jotted down (well, texted myself) some notes so I wouldn’t forget 🙂

* The Synergy Studio is offering Journey Dance Module 1: 5-Day Intensive Teacher Training in January. I am going to do it. I have already told Paul that it is what I want for my Christmas/Birthday/Anniversary present (which all happen in the same 2 week span) and he said ok. Originally I wanted an iPad but when I found out that this would be happening here in San Antonio and would be taught by Toni Bergins, the creator of Journey Dance, herself I knew I couldn’t pass it up. Not only will I get to spend five days with some of the most wonderful people learning more about Journey Dance I will also be granted a provisional license upon course completion that will allow me to teach Journey Dance classes. This is a big deal for me because I know it is only a matter of time before we leave San Antonio and more than likely we will end up somewhere that isn’t in or near a city. I may end up relocating to the sticks, to the middle of nowhere, and what will I do when I can’t find someplace like Synergy nearby? If I can’t find a studio that offers Journey Dance classes for me to take maybe I could teach some myself. I could teach at a yoga studio or at the Army post gym or even a YMCA but at least I will be able to still enjoy Journey Dance and possibly even introduce it to others who have never experienced it before. I look at this class as an investment into my future happiness.

Synergy is also offering Nia White Belt training five times next year and if I can afford it (it is three times as expensive as the Journey Dance seminar) then I will do that as well. The white belt allows you to teach too so again I have to think of it as an investment. It would be great if in a few years I could turn doing something I love, something that brings me such happiness, into a part-time career. Although this has nothing to do with teaching I wanted to tell you that I signed up for a yoga seminar that runs for five weeks, two hours every Saturday, starting Saturday 9/3. It is an introduction to yoga class taught by the Synergy yoga instructors and although I have been practicing yoga for months I feel it is important that I expand my knowledge base. I am not sure how strong of a foundation I have when it comes to the basics of different poses and techniques since I kind of just threw myself into yoga. I know I could definitely learn a lot from a course like this. I am very excited to start that next week and will definitely let you know how it goes.

*My IRL BFF JH ( James & Jax) told me that I needed to go to BlogHer12. It will be in NYC next year and because she lives close by she would be attending. I, of course, said yes. Then I asked Paul and thankfully he said yes, too. JH and I have been discussing logistics and planning ever since they announced the location and dates a few weeks ago. Yeah, we’ve been going a little crazy for an event that isn’t happening until August 2-4 2012 but we are both so excited we can’t help ourselves. Then today to add to the BlogHer12 chaos Hilton Hotels (where the conference is being held) put out a discount code, ‘BLOG’ in case you hadn’t heard, which knocked 100 dollars off their rate so we had no choice but to book our room. There was no way I was missing out on the chance to save 300 bucks! Now that the room is booked I just need to buy the actual BlogHer12 tickets. I am going to try and do this in the next week because they are currently offering 20% off the early bird rate through August which brings the price to a very reasonable $158 for the two-day event. While JH and I were texting about the hotel and the tickets this morning I came up with an idea for a new goal. I would like to be at my goal weight by the time I go to BlogHer. That means I need to lose 79 pounds in 11.5 months. It’s a plausible and realistic goal which I am going to work like gangbusters towards meeting it. We are 49 weeks out (exactly) so that means I need to lose 1.61 pounds per week on average to meet that goal. I know it will get harder to lose as much as fast as I get lighter but I think I can get there. Wish me luck!

Are you going to BlogHer? If so, I hope we can meet! I know I am still pretty small-time when it comes to the blogging community but I am still looking forward to spending the weekend with some amazing female bloggers and getting to learn some tricks of the trade. I am not necessarily going there looking to grow my blog, honestly I have no idea how bloggers who get hundreds of comments per post keep up with it, but I would like to improve my writing ability and learn how to create posts that are worthwhile and helpful to others reading. Regardless of the outcome I know it will be the experience of a lifetime and am thankful to get to spend it with my best friend.

*When my Dad was in the hospital after complications following his neck surgery Paul and I ended up going back to NJ to be by his side. Being that neither of us is from Texas we have no family here that could help take care of our dogs while we were gone. We reached out to our former dog walker (from when we lived in the apartment) knowing she would love to spend some time with the girls but sadly she was on her way back home to France because her father had passed away. So we turned to my friend MS- my first SA friend- in hopes that she would be able to take care of them. She kindly agreed to come and stay in our home in order to make sure the dogs were out and fed and taken care of. It was a lot to ask of someone, especially someone who is not a pet owner, and we sprung it on her with one day’s notice. Oh, and did I mention that we had lived there for four days, there were still unpacked boxes everywhere, and no food/drink to be found. Yeah, she was a saint- she never complained once. So, I just wanted to take a minute to give her a long overdue THANK YOU. Paul and I really appreciate you taking care of things while we were gone. You rock! We totally owe you one! Woo, Woo, Woo -Arsenio Hall style!

*Do you remember when Paul fell in the bathtub, hurt his ribs, and then didn’t go to the doctor to have them checked out? Well it happened again. Not the fall but the injured ribs. He was in combatives practice (kind of like wrestling mixed with MMA) and he landed awkwardly after someone threw him. He ended up in the ER the next day because the pain was too much for him to tolerate. They took some x-rays, told him it was a contusion (why they can’t say bruise is beyond me), gave him some pain meds, put him on profile (exercise restrictions) and sent him on his way. That was Sunday. Today he went to the doctor because he was still in tons of pain. The doctor reviewed his previous x-ray and told him he thought there were signs of a fractured rib but that it had healed, probably from the first fall. They sent him for more x-rays and sure enough he actually has a broken rib- not fully healed- more than likely from this recent injury. This sucks for multiple reasons. One, it’s obviously really painful. Two, he is now on a two month profile which will restrict what he can do training wise. It will definitely make it harder for him to continue his marathon training. Three and this may be the worst part- he cannot compete in the Soldier of the Quarter competition next week. Combatives is a part of the competition (why he was training in the first place) and since he cannot participate in that event he is not allowed to compete at all. This is really bad news for Paul because he missed the last one while he was off at training and now he will miss this one, the last one of the year. Poor guy. He can’t seem to catch a break these days.

In other Paul news, he and the other guys that tend to hang out at our house finished the first keg in the kegorator in like three weeks. Geez, that was fast. I think we were all hoping it would last a little longer. Oh, well. What can I say, they like beer. Tonight Paul and one of his friends are going to get another one and just in time since Paul will need a beer or three after the week has been having.

*Starting next Tuesday I will be joining in Weight Watchers program offered where I work. This may not seem like a big deal to most but for me it was a decision I went back and forth on for quite some time. I am nervous about changing my weigh in day to Tuesday (at lunchtime nonetheless) from Saturday mornings. I know what I weigh on Tuesdays and what I weigh on Saturdays and usually I am heavier on Tuesdays. Also, weighing in at lunch time means I will be weighing in wearing my work clothes after having eaten breakfast opposed to my normal routine of weighing in on an empty stomach. But I know it is the best thing to do for me. Doing WW at work means there is a possibility of partial reimbursement from my employer by meeting certain goals, it means Saturday mornings open to do whatever I want, it will help me save of gas money not having to drive out to the meeting location, and possibly creating a bond with some of my co-workers as we work through our journey together. So once I got over my fear of seeing a huge gain on that scale come Tuesday, as well as being reassured that I wouldn’t lose my WW history I had built up for five months, it was an easy decision to make. Plus, it will only be bad that first weigh in and then after that it will be back to business as usual. Keep an eye out for my Weight Watchers updates as they will now be posted on Tuesdays or Wednesdays.

*Do you use Klout? I am somewhat obsessed with it. Not because it is awesome- it really doesn’t do anything but measure your social media influence- but because they give you free stuff. I have yet to receive any of the said free stuff but I am growing obsessed with trying to. My friend JH told me I should join (do you see the pattern yet? She’s turned me on to so many things; blogging, Twitter, BlogHer, Klout, etc.) and so I did. She has Klout and because of it she received a year’s supply of clinical strength deodorant. Not that I am in desperate need of clinical strength deodorant (actually JH gave me some when I saw her a few weeks ago) but I am hoping that anything I receive, that I can’t use myself, I can in-turn donate it to the USO to go into care packages for deployed soldiers. This is now my new goal- trying to get free stuff. I think my friend KG would approve! 🙂 If you want to help me try to get some free stuff via Klout friend me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter- @dacialee33.

Thanks for reading!

August 25, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , . Blogging, Life.

10 Comments

  1. jamesandjax replied:

    Yay! We’re going to BlogHer 12!!! Whoa! I’m so excited & also nervous. I am beyond excited you’re going. So thrilled you listened to my advice when I begged you to start a blog.

    As for the 79 lbs, you got this. I know you can do it. Your motivation is stronger than anyone’s I’ve ever met. I admire how hard you work. I’m excited that I’ll be present to watch you strut your stuff at BlogHer! 🙂 And you better believe I’m making you STRUT it, lady!!!

    Poor Paul. My ribs hurt in sympathy as I read this post. Give him a hug for me. No, wait, don’t do that. haha

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks Jaime!!! I owe so much of where I am at am who I am to you. Nit just because of blogging but because of your thirteen years of friendship. You are such an important person in my life and I hope you know that!

      Yes!!! NYC here we come! I cannot wait! It is going to be amazeballs and I WILL be 79 pounds lighter by then and I WILL strut my stuff!!!

  2. amysjourneytohealth replied:

    Okay, first, I am totally jealous of the Journey Dance Seminar you are going to! LOL One of my dreams is to one day feel confident and comfortable enough to get certified in some sort of fitness class instruction (yoga, dance, etc). So proud of you for doing this!! You will be awesome!

    And I second what JH says, You are so going to blow those 79 lbs out of the water! And yes, you better be strutting your stuff at the convention! 😉

    Keep up the awesome work! You are so motivated and so inspiring. I hope Paul feels better soon. Sometimes, when it rains it pours. 😦

    • Dacia replied:

      You should totally try Journey Dance or Nia sometime if you can. Both classes are meant for everybody and they mean everyBODY! I have no rhythm and am a really bad dancer yet somehow when I am in class I don’t feel that way. It’s very freeing and it is a great workout without feeling like you just worked really hard. It’s just fun, plain and simple, and I think you would love it! I hope some day soon you are comfortable enough to become a certified instructor. That would be a great thing for you to achieve that dream!

  3. jakennicksmomma replied:

    FREE STUFF!!!!!!

    Oh, yeah, you wrote about other stuff…blah, blah sure that is interesting too…lol

    How have I not heard about this yet??????

    • Dacia replied:

      Not sure. I only heard about it like a month ago. You best get on it!!!

  4. shrinkingwmn replied:

    Congrats on reaching the 50lb mark! wOOt! 😀

    Have fun at the blogger thing in NY, make sure to party while you are there strutting your stuff!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you! I can’t wait for BlogHer! I wish it was tomorrow instead of 11 months away! I will definitely party it up and strut my stuff!

  5. Simply Sidney replied:

    Journey Dance teacher training, you go girl!! You better not be waiting for NY to strut your stuff, do it now. You are a beautiful inspiration, strut away!! do it now, come on, you know you want to 🙂

    I found a Nia white belt training in Lansing, MI, an hour away for me, there’s one scheduled for early Feb, I’m considering it, who knows, gosh that would be cool!!

    You guys are going to have such fun at BlogHer, I’m excited for your both, spending time with a best friend, there is not much better than that!!

    Poor Paul, I hope those rib mend quickly and stay mended!!

    Klout, free stuff, that sounds pretty cool, goodness lots of info in this post, I bet you feel lighter by getting this all out 🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      Lol! I like to strut my stuff when I am at Nia. I dance like no one else is watching! I am so glad you are loving Nia and I wish you nothing but success in your training!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

