Weight Watchers Weekly Update

Well, I did it. I survived my first Tuesday afternoon workplace weigh-in although I did not come out unscathed. Before I get to that I should tell you about my weigh in on Saturday morning. I went to my normal meeting location on Saturday because I had to get my WW information card (so my new location has my weight loss history) and I decided to weigh in while I was there. I am happy to report I was down two pounds, bringing my weight to 226.8 pounds, weight loss on WW to 53.2 and my total overall weight loss to 59.2 pounds. Yes! Happy dance! Oh, and I am now only 2.8 pounds away from reaching my 20% milestone. I cannot believe I am so close to having lost 20% of my starting body weight. Actually, that happened last week when I weighed in at 228.8; which is exactly 80% of my starting weight of 286. However, what I am referring to is hitting my 20% goal from my starting Weight Watchers weight- confusing right? I know. It confuses me all the time. Now it’s about to get worse because now I have a starting weight from my at work meetings that will be the point from which my target weights are calculated. For example, to receive 50% reimbursement of my WW fees from my company I have to lose 5% of my starting weight- my weight from yesterday’s meeting. For the sake of my personal sanity, I am not going to think of this as another new weight. Instead I will treat it as what it is – my current WW weight- and just keep in the back of my mind what I need to lose to hit that 5%.

11.6 pounds. That’s what I have to lose over the next 17 weeks in order to get 50% reimbursement. I think that is totally manageable but who knows, holiday season will quickly be upon us. My willpower has not yet been tested against the things I crave the most during the holidays; cookies. Oh my, the never-ending stream of cookies. That’s how I feel about the holidays. It’s like an all you can eat buffet of cookies (and other things too) and I am not sure how well I will be able to hold up. I will try my best to practice restraint though instead of depriving myself. Deprivation will lead to an all out free for all cookie bonanza so I have to make sure to allow myself to indulge while practicing moderation. Any who, sorry for my cookie rambling. Where was I? Yes, my weigh in yesterday. Ugh! It was pretty damaging. I woke up yesterday, stepped on the scale, 226 pounds. A few minutes later I was dressed in my work clothes, stepped on the scale 229.6. Yikes! I knew right then that my weight in the afternoon was going to be high. By 12p I had already eaten breakfast and a snack (no matter what that scale may say – I am not waiting 7 hours to eat, I refuse to starve myself for that scale) and had already drank almost 3L of water so I wasn’t shocked when I stepped on and weighed in at 231 pounds. No I wasn’t surprised but it still sucks being back in the 230’s, having to spend the next few week re-losing weight I have already lost, seeing a +4.2 on my weight tracker (the most I had gained to this point was 0.8), and knowing that every Tuesday at 12p I will be weighing in 5 pounds heavier than I really am. Blerg! Oh, well. I need to get over myself and move on, right? It’s only five pounds. But damn it if all I can’t keep thinking is they are five pounds I busted my butt to lose. Those five ‘fake’ pounds will be my nemesis. I need to really push myself this week because I need to get back to the 220’s especially since I am now 7 pounds away from my 20% instead of 2.8 pounds away L Sorry, I don’t mean to vent and complain. I know in a few days that gain will not be a concern but today it is still resonating with me. I just needed to let it all out so I can clear my head and move on.

Did you know that tomorrow is September 1st? Can you believe it? Where did the summer go? It is Labor Day weekend already! Of course, it is still in the 100’s here with no sign of summer leaving us anytime soon but still summer is ending and hockey season is right around the corner. Crazy! September 1st also means that tomorrow I will weigh in (at home as I did on August 1st) and see if I met my goal of losing ten pounds in the month of August. When I initially set up my goals I had set only planned for the monthly goal of losing ten pounds to last for the first six months. I thought that after six months my weight loss would have slowed (because I would weigh less) and so I didn’t think 10 pounds would be a realistic goal past that point. Well, it has been six months and so now I need to come up with a new monthly goal. What do you think I should do? Should I leave it at 10 pounds for the next few months or maybe lower it to 8 pounds or should I not have a weight loss related monthly goal at all? I would love to hear what you think so please feel free to comment away! Also, make sure to check back in a few days to see if I reached my goal this month and look for new monthly measurements to be posted!

Before I end this post I want to share something with you, something that happened to me yesterday that really opened my eyes to how much I have progressed over the past six months both mentally and physically. Yesterday was one of those crap days where nothing seemed to be going right. I had an awful night’s sleep; at one point around midnight I woke up out of dead sleep freaking the eff out that I overslept – that was no fun, I woke up three other times throughout the night- twice to pee and the other was at 4am to let the dogs out. I ended up getting an hour ‘nap’ in before getting up at 520a for work. Of course I woke up exhausted, was scatter brained trying to get ready for work, left the house late, work was filled with meetings and angry employees (our local paper published our salaries online, by employee name nonetheless, so everyone now knows what everyone else makes- can you say tension?) and then an awful +4.2 at my weigh in. It was just one of those days where I just felt like crap and wanted to go home, put on my PJs, sit on the couch watching TV and eating junk food. Instead I forced myself to go to Pilates. My normal Tuesday is Pilates and Nia classes back to back but I wasn’t feeling like doing both. Luckily I was able to talk myself into going to at least one or I would have ended up on that couch. Do you know what happened about 20 minutes into Pilates? At that point I knew I would stay for Nia and all the crap and blahness I felt was gone. By the time I left the Synergy Studio after my Pilates and Nia classes I felt fabulous. I felt alive, awakened, refreshed and so happy I didn’t jip myself out of those experiences. This made me stop and wonder what I did before I had this outlet, this way to get myself out of a funk. Then I realized that I did nothing. Old me would have gone home and vegged in front of the TV mindlessly snacking away. The old me would have still felt miserable and then continued to feel miserable every day after. I know this is true because this is how I felt for a very long time. Now I have a way to get rid of those feelings and it is great. Yes, working out does make you happy- it’s true. I may not be able to work away serious feelings (no, I don’t think working out will make you happy if you just found out your mom has cancer) but it definitely helps alleviate a normal bad day case of the blahs. I am happy to have finally learned this. Knowing I will feel great afterwards is the push I need some days to get my butt in gear. Heck, just thinking of this- about working out and feeling great, about how many things I am able to do now that I couldn’t do 6 months ago- makes me not really care about those 4.2 pounds. Yes friends, sometimes I still have a hard time remembering that I am so much more that number on the scale. If nothing else, I hope you feel that way too.

Thanks for reading!

August 31, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , . Weight Watchers.

8 Comments

  1. The Busy Crab replied:

    Look at those fake lbs. as improved mental/emotional power (heavy duty grey matter) — you made a smart decision and got to both classes last night! So inspiring — Keep it up!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks! I like the way you think!

  2. Simply Sidney replied:

    5 lbs that are not really there, that stinks, but it doesn’t really matter, does it, you know the truth and 5 phantom lbs wont be slowing you down

    As for your monthly goal for the next few months, hmmmm… 10 does seems high, maybe 8 would be better. You want to lose how much by the end of the year? what did you lose in the last 4 weeks, maybe that should be your goal for next month? Good luck deciding

    You are so right about exercise giving your outlook a boost. I knew something was helping me these days and I know getting up and moving is a huge part. It feels so good to be active.

    You are very inspiring!! I hope today is a much nicer day, even before you get to your workout!!

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you so much! It’s hard to see the scale go up even when you expect it and prepared yourself for it. But that’s life and no matter what that number is I will continue living my life in a healthy manner. Nothing can stop me from moving forward!

  3. jakennicksmomma replied:

    All that and Im amazed you drank 3L of water in the morning. Fake weight stinks, but you know in your heart that you have already lost it.

    What about a non-weight goal. Since you have become passionate about your workouts, maybe something related to that.

    • Dacia replied:

      Yeah, I drink about 6L of water just while at work. Drinking water is my full
      time job! Lol! You are right, I should come up with some non-scale goals.

  4. Ginger replied:

    Great post Dacia, I’m so glad you are looking at the bog picture! In really proud of you, just in case I haven’t told you lately 🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you again! Hearing someone say they are proud of me is a bit overwhelming but in a good way. Makes me cry tears of joy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

