Three Things Thursday

I read another post this morning titled ‘Three Things Thursday’ which inspired me to follow the same theme.

– It’s September 1st which means it’s time to see if I met my monthly weight loss goal of 10 pounds. Drum roll please….dadadadadadada…YES, yes I did! For the first time since March I have managed to lose ten pounds. On August 1st I weighed in at 240.8 and this morning I was at 227.8 for a loss of 13 pounds. Woo Hoo! So, Paul if you are reading this I think this is cause for a celebration or maybe presents. I like presents! 😉 Also, it is September 1st so I need to set new monthly goals. Simply Sidney was the only commenter yesterday who responded to my question on what I should do for my new goal. She had a few ideas; she mentioned my end of year goal, the possibility of lowering it to eight pounds or maybe make what I lost this month my goal for next month. Since I don’t want to try to lose 13 pounds again I have decided to set my goal to equal the monthly loss required to get me below 200 pounds by the end of the year; 7 pounds per month. Thanks for the great idea Sidney! Now I am set for the next few months and then once we are into 2012 I will set some new ones.

– I am switching up my workout schedule….again. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing, actually changing your workout routine is recommended. However, the reason I am doing it is not to prevent muscle memory or to increase weight loss, it is because my yoga instructor is injured and will not be teaching for awhile which sucks. Tricia is awesome and I love her and love how she teaches yoga. Originally I was going to her class twice a week until her Tuesday yoga was canceled due to a scheduling conflict on her end. After that change a few weeks ago, adding in Pilates in place of that yoga class, I was only taking one yoga class a week; Tricia’s Hot Vinyasa yoga class. Then yesterday I go to class and find out she is injured and will be out for an extended period of time and in her place was a different yoga teacher. I stayed for the class because even though I liked Tricia so much I still wanted to do yoga and thought I should at least give this yoga instructor a shot. Unfortunately I left that class frustrated, achy, and miserable. The substitute instructor taught in a manner that made it very hard for me to follow along and execute the poses correctly. She didn’t show us, she didn’t do them along with us. I have never before been in a yoga class where the instructor didn’t do the poses and I realized really quickly that I am a visual person and I NEED to see what my body is supposed to be doing. She would tell us to do something like raise our arms but nothing more so some people had their arms up, some had them out, some had them up and out, it was very confusing. I would look around the room so I could see others and mirror their poses but no one was doing the same thing. It was bad. I left there feeling like I had spent 75 minutes contorting my body into positions it shouldn’t have been in. Last night my left knee was killing me and today my back and neck are sore. Awesome. Needless to say, I won’t be going back to her class. I don’t want to risk hurting myself. Once Tricia is back I will resume classes but until then no Wednesday Hot Vinyasa yoga for me. Luckily, my 5 week yoga seminar is starting this Saturday and a new class has been added to the Synergy Studio schedule on Sunday nights that is yoga and meditation (it’s kismet) and so I am not going to be without yoga in my schedule. Now I just need to figure out what I should do on Wednesday’s in place of yoga?

– Labor Day weekend is right around the corner and I am very excited to have a three day weekend. Paul has a four day weekend (lucky bastard!) and so he is coming downtown tomorrow to meet me for lunch. I really enjoy it when Paul has Fridays off and we get to meet up for a bite to eat. It is a nice treat and will be a great start to our weekend. My weekend is pretty packed but I don’t mind. I like keeping busy. Tomorrow I will be at work and then will be going to Nia Fun Fridays at 530p. Hopefully I will be able to record my first vlog tomorrow night. Side note: I have received some great questions and can’t wait to answer them. If you want to ask me anything please submit your question by tomorrow afternoon/evening or else they won’t make the cut 😉 Saturday is my first yoga seminar class at 11am and I am not sure whether or not I want to take my usual Saturday classes (Tai Chi and Nia) beforehand. I am going to ask the studio owner and see what she recommends. Saturday is also the first Penn State football game so after yoga I will be heading home to watch the game with Paul. Saturday night is the next to last home game for the Silver Stars so MS and I will be there cheering them on. Sunday morning is Journey Dance and then we are having our friends over for a barbeque. We are cooking/making everything ourselves so hopefully I will be able to stay on track since I will be surrounded by good food choices that day. It should be fun. We plan on playing some ladder golf, drinking some beers (wine for me) and spending some time with some really great people. If I can fit it in I would love to go to the first 7p yoga/meditation class but if we still have company or if I am too tipsy I won’t go. I am also really excited for Monday, my day off, because I can take classes I usually miss since they are during my work hours. I am going to take an 8am Nia class and a 915am Pilates class. Lately I have been going to boxing classes on Monday evenings but the gym is closed so I might even hit up the 530p Nia class as well. My weigh in is Tuesday and I might have a lot of extra weekend calories to burn off. Hopefully on Monday Paul and I can spend some quality time together, maybe go to a movie or something. Now that he is injured we are missing out on time we spent boxing/working out together. Thankfully he has friends, and video games, to entertain him while I am at class every night J All in all, I think it is going to be an awesome weekend and I cannot wait for it to start! What do you have planned for the holiday weekend? Are you going away or staying in town? Either way, I hope you have a great time.

Thanks for reading!

September 1, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , . Life, Weight Loss.

7 Comments

  1. jakennicksmomma replied:

    Sounds like you have a fun weekend planned. I hope you feel better this afternoon. 7 lbs sounds like a great goal to meet. You will be in a bikini by next summer!

    • Dacia replied:

      I have never worn a bikini! That would be out of control! Even if i could pull it off I would probably feel so naked. We’ll see if I ever get the courage to do it.

  2. Simply Sidney replied:

    yawow 13 pounds, blam, pow, gone!! That’s totally awesome!!! 7 lbs sounds like a really good goal!!! Sounds like your bad time with yoga is sticking with you, so not fair!! But on the bright side you’re going to have a lot of good times over the next couple of days. My husband will be away working until very late Sunday night. I’m hoping we’ll do something fun on Monday. Tonight actually we got a baby sitter and our good friends got a sitter and we are going to go out. We’re having dinner and at our local brewery several bands are getting together to perform Abby Rd, should be a good time, if I can stay up that late. The concert starts when I’m normally going to sleep. what do you want to bet I wont be working out in the am tomorrow, I think afternoon is going to be my goal 🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      Your night out sounds like so much fun! I hope you all have a great time! Enjoy your weekend and hopefully you and the husband get to spend a fun Monday together!

  3. amysjourneytohealth replied:

    I’m so sorry yoga was so frustrating… that seems to be completely un-yoga-like! But at least you have the seminar coming up so hopefully you can get your Yogi “fix” until Tricia comes back 🙂 Enjoy your weekend girl! 🙂

    • Dacia replied:

      Thanks Amy! It was very un-yoga like! Yesterday at my Nia class I was talking with one of the girls who was in that same yoga class. She actually asked me what I thought of her and I told her that I didn’t like it and it was very hard with her not doing the poses, etc, and she said the same thing. She said she also had to keep looking around trying to figure out what to do and didn’t like the class either. At least I wasn’t the only one who felt that way.

      Have a great weekend Amy!!!

  4. notesfromrumbleycottage replied:

    Congrats on the weight loss. I know how difficult it can be, especially when you hit a stubborn point where the weight does not go. I finally hit below the 200 mark but it took a lot of effort and diet changes. Good luck with the new classes.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

