My Cooking Vlog: a Healthier Version of a Breakfast Taco and a Surprise Giveaway!

Hello and welcome to my first ever cooking vlog. This was far more difficult to do than the last vlog. Hopefully you can actually see what I am doing and hear me talk as I move around my kitchen. Paul was going to record it for me but the idea of having him behind the camera kind of made me nervous. Instead I chose to prop up my iPhone on top of a bottle of Fiber Choice, leaning against one of those cardboard 6 wine bottle carriers. Classy, I know πŸ™‚ Just to be safe I am including the recipe below for your reference. As I mention in the video; this recipe is pretty basic so feel free to add whatever ingredients you have on hand and change it up however you please. In my opinion, wrap anything in a tortilla and it will taste good.

Veggie Sausage Breakfast Tacos

1/4 cup Southwestern Egg Beaters

2 Tablespoons shredded Cheddar Cheese

1 Tablespoon Salsa or Pico de Gallo

1 Morningstar Farms Veggie Sausage patty

1 Mission Carb Control Whole Wheat Tortilla

1. Heat sausage patty in microwave 35-45 seconds

2. While sausage is cooking, warm tortilla in an ungreased nonstick skillet 10-15 seconds per side

3. Once tortilla is warmed, remove from pan and set aside. Lower the heat on the pan to medium low and add some nonstick cooking spray. Cook the egg beaters until done, about 1-2 minutes. Not very long so pay attention.

4. Once cooked, place the egg beaters on top of warmed tortilla and top with 1-2 tablespoons of cheese, sausage patty which has been cut into bite size pieces, and 1 tablespoon of salsa.

Voila! Breakfast is complete. I do however recommend serving some fresh fruit alongside.

Nutritional Info using ingredients listed above/featured in vlog:

Fat: 9.5g, Protein: 21g, Carbs: 19g, Fiber: 11g

WW PP: 6

This meal is cheap to boot- only .93 cents per taco! The price may need to be adjusted for COL as I am in TX and shop on post; things are cheap here. So maybe 1.50 might be more accurate for you. Still pretty cheap for what you get!

Now for my giveaway, in case you were unable to watch the video, to enter all you need to do is leave me a comment (or you can text, email, Facebook message, tweet, whatever) telling me your favorite 7 or 8 letter word. I know, it’s random as is the prize which will be determined once I see who the winner is. You will basically be receiving a care package, for lack of a better term, featuring some of my favorite things customized with items I think you will like. It will possibly contain one or more of the following; non-perishable food items (yes, Biscoff spread for sure), books, music, or even some of my homemade soaps. Yes, there is also a good chance I will make you a mix tape CD because that is how I roll. You’ll just have to wait and see. You have until 11:59PM CST Friday September 16th to enter. On Saturday, September 17th I will choose a winner at random and announce it here on my blog that day. The only thing required from you in order to enter this contest is that you feel comfortable enough to give me your home address so I can send you the prize!

*Disclaimer: I have not been solicited by or received anything in exchange for mentioning products on this blog. All of the products featured are ones I enjoy and use regularly. I have not been compensated in any way for my opinions. Same goes for any of the items in prize package for the giveaway.

Thanks for stopping by and watching my vlog! Make sure you enter the giveaway! If you make the breakfast taco let me know what you think of it!

P.S. After I was finished with the vlog Paul ate the breakfast taco, his first time eating veggie sausage, and he loved it. Yay! Score one for the healthy breakfast taco!

September 9, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , , , . Cooking, Giveaway, Vlog.

20 Comments

  1. Latina Barbi replied:

    ACHIEVE

    • Dacia replied:

      Sadly, I was confused by your comment. I was like ‘what does she mean by ACHIEVE???’

      Duh! It’s your seven letter word! I love it! Thanks!

      • Dacia replied:

        Ashley emailed me her word- zealous! Thanks AW!

      • Dacia replied:

        Monica’s word is Broseph!

  2. jakennicksmomma replied:

    Loved the vlog. I think it might have been entertaining if you had burned your kitchen down. Ok, more entertaining for us than you so Im glad it didn’t happen.

    So, the first word I thought of was superfluous, which is funny since it has 11 letters. I would say, dessert, or maybe desserts…hehe.

    I really enjoy watching your vlogs the only downside is they make me miss you even more!!

    • Dacia replied:

      Do you have the 4th gen iPhone? Can we FaceTime sometime to catch up? I miss you! Also, love your words! Oh, and I had an idea for another cooking vlog- more opportunities to burn the house down! πŸ˜‰

      • jakennicksmomma replied:

        We have the 3rd generation, but Matt did get an iPad for his birthday. We haven’t set up facetime yet. I’ll try to set it up this morning. πŸ˜€

  3. My Cooking Vlog: a Healthier Version of a Breakfast Taco and a Surprise Giveaway! | CookingPlanet replied:

    […] My Cooking Vlog: a Healthier Version of a Breakfast Taco and a Surprise Giveaway! […]

  4. Simply Sidney replied:

    great vlog Dacia!! I too would have loved to see some kitchen mishaps, maybe knock something over next time, that would be funny πŸ™‚

    You must have done a good job, b/c I actually want to make a breakfast taco!!

    My word is… achieve

    • Dacia replied:

      The next cooking vlog might have both Paul and myself in the kitchen which exponentially increases the risk for calamity. You may get to see some chaos sooner than you think πŸ™‚

      Great word and so fitting!

      Also, I told Joanie and Adelle that you were doing the white belt and Lansing and they both new your trainer and love her! It should be amazing! Adelle was sad that you weren’t coming to SA for one of hers though.

      • Simply Sidney replied:

        ah, that is sooo sweet, hopefully someday I’ll make it to SA, if you’re still there when I can make the trip. I just saw that your friend Latina Barbi also picked achieve, must be something in the water πŸ™‚ good water πŸ™‚

  5. monicaams replied:

    This was wonderful! They look so good! I can’t wait to make some of my own.

  6. susitravl replied:

    FABULOUS
    susitravl(at)gmail(dot)com

    • Dacia replied:

      Great word! Thanks for entering!

  7. amysjourneytohealth replied:

    Love the vlog! and can’t wait to try the recipe!!!

    Now, for my favorite 7-8 letter word… VACATION! πŸ™‚

    • Dacia replied:

      That is a great word! Makes me dream of relaxing on a beach somewhere πŸ™‚

  8. cassiebehle replied:

    I can’t believe I didn’t see this post until now!! Looks SO yummy, and I absolutely LOVE the Southwest eggbeaters. I just bought a different kind on Monday – the Herb and Veggie one, so perhaps I will try this recipe with that, instead!

    I thought you did a great job with this blog, so my word for you is “eloquent.” You could be on the Cooking channel. πŸ˜‰

    • Dacia replied:

      Thank you for your kind words and for
      coming up with such a great idea! Stay tuned- Saturday I will be doing another cooking vlog (Naan pizza) and I will be announcing the contest winner then. Good luck!

      Oh, and let me know how you like those other egg beaters. Maybe I will try them sometime.

  9. Poor Gal’s Fish Tacos | Simply Sidney replied:

    […] Tortillas (always have them on hand for the breakfast tacoΒ πŸ˜‰ […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

