Shrinkvivor – Week One

Today begins Week One of the Shrinkvivor competition. This morning as I sat at the table drinking my smoothie I saw a blog post pop up from Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans (host of the contest) telling me it was time to submit my starting weight for the challenge. I had already hopped on the scale, and had Paul photograph it, bright (or I should say dark since it was 5am) and early so I quickly ran off to the computer and logged in my info. Yes! Step one finished! This morning I weighed in at 217.2 pounds, same as yesterday, and I couldn’t be happier! Please note that you can see my frog tattoo on my foot- that is a great way for me to prove that it is me on the scale and not someone else. Yay for verifiability!

20110928-074454.jpg

Next we were asked to blog about our results and then link our posts. Unfortunately, wordpress does not allow the javascript code for the blog hop so I am going to do my best to link up but I am not sure it will work. Ugh, the downfalls of the tech unsavy. We’ll see what happens. Here are two links to try. Let me know if this works 🙂

Link 1

Link 2

In the post they also told us what our weekly physical challenge would be and for this week it is tracking our exercise minutes. Since this is week one and I don’t have much to talk about that you haven’t already heard in previous posts I thought I would share with you my planned activities for the week so I can see an estimate of my exercise minutes. I am not sure if the week starts today and ends next Tuesday but that is my assumption.

Wednesday:

Yoga 12p-1p – 60 minutes

Combo Class (1/2 boxing, ½ boot camp) 5p-555p – 55 minutes

Kickboxing Class 6p-655p, technically 55 minutes but when we do back to back we don’t have to do the first ten minutes of jump rope – 45 minutes

160 minutes

Thursday:

Nia 530-630p – 60 minutes

Qigong 645-8p – 75 minutes

135 minutes

Friday:

Nia 530-630p – 60 minutes

60 minutes

*I wanted to note here that this weekend we are learning a new Nia routine, Cadence, so in Friday and Saturday’s class we will dance the routine. Then on Sunday there is a 1 hour workshop where we will have a more in depth learning and review of the routine followed by another class where we will dance it again. I just wanted to point this out because four hours of Nia in one weekend is not typical.

Saturday:

Nia 930-1030a – 60 minutes

Yoga Seminar 11a-1p – 120 minutes

180 miuntes

Sunday:

Journey Dance 10-1115a – 75 minutes

Nia Workshop 3-4p – 60 minutes

Nia 4-5p – 60 minutes

Kundalini Yoga 7-815p – 75 minutes

270 minutes

Monday:

Yoga 12p-1p – 60 minutes

Combo Class (1/2 boxing, ½ boot camp) 5p-555p – 55 minutes

Kickboxing Class 6p-655p, technically 55 minutes but when we do back to back we don’t have to do the first ten minutes of jump rope – 45 minutes

160 minutes

Tuesday:

Pilates 430-530p – 60 minutes

Nia 530-630p – 60 minutes

120 minutes

Total Estimated Minutes: 1085 minutes

Now let’s see if I can stick to the plan and survive it! 🙂

Thanks for reading!

September 28, 2011. Tags: , , , , , . Shrinkvivor, Weight Loss.

2 Comments

  1. Simply Sidney replied:

    Wow, I am just so impressed with all you are able to do, I want to pass out just thinking about it 🙂
    I wonder if I’d be able to do a week like yours??? The frog on your foot is the cutest thing!! I keep thinking about my first tatto, where, what and when, hmmm. 217.2, wow ~giddy laugh here~

    • Dacia replied:

      You could totally do a week like mine. It looks like alot but it’s a really good mix of high intensity cardio (boxing), muscle sculpting and strengthening (yoga, pilates), aerobic (nia and journey dance) and intrinsic healing movements (qigong, tai chi) – it’s the mix of everything that makes it doable. I couldn’t box every single day but with this mix I can stay active every day 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

