Five Things Friday

Shopping

Well I finally did it; I broke down and went bra shopping. I knew that it was in my best interest to have someone measure me so I wouldn’t end up spending hours trying on a plethora of sizes but that wasn’t the reason stopping me from going. It was sheer laziness coupled with financial reasons. I loathe bra shopping; I usually end up in the fitting room super sweaty and that makes it even harder to pull those bras on and off comfortably. Ugh! Not to mention bras are expensive and I just didn’t feel like spending the money on full price so I waited until there was a sale. I was lured into Avenue last Sunday by an email sent to me advertising $15 bras. Score! Off to Avenue I went. When I arrived I promptly went to an associate and asked her to measure me for my bra size and man was I surprised at the results. I had been wearing 44DD through 48DD (I had a stockpile of various sizes) and she measured me at a 40DD. I knew the numeric size would have gone down but was surprised the cup size hadn’t as well. For the first time in many, many years I found myself trying on bras with underwire. I think I gave up on underwire bras once I hit DD- too painful. However, now the underwire bras felt comfortable and I liked how I looked in them which was an added bonus. I bought two. I bought only two because the sale was really buy one at full price and get a second one for $15- damn fine print. So I took two and figured I would just keep my eyes peeled for future sales where I can go back and get more.

Sound Journey

After bra shopping I jetted over to the Synergy Studio for their monthly Sound Journey session. I had never attended this class before and with hockey season starting next week I thought it might be my last opportunity for awhile to go. Sound Journey is put on by Jodi Roberts and how it works is you lie on the floor, you are encouraged to bring mats, blankets, pillows, anything you would want to be comfortable, and relax while she plays Tibetan bowls and gongs. As per the usual, it is easier for me to copy the description from the Synergy website rather than try to explain it on my own:

“De-stress! Breathe! Relax!
Experience a sound journey: a guided journey using Chinese and Paiste gongs, and Tibetan bowls as the doorway into an experience of deep relaxation, de-stressing and healthy transformation. The music enables the brain to enter the theta state where all beliefs and patterns can be recognized and changed. Your body receives a sound massage for deep relaxation. Combined with your personal intentions the music and journey balance and enhance your body, mind and spirit.”

Deep relaxation is an understatement. I would say my experience was more like being in a coma. I have never been in such a deeply relaxed meditative state. It was amazing. Before Jodi started she told us we might be able to feel the effects of it for days and I certainly did. The next session at Synergy is on October 30th but she is also having a session on October 15th in the Cave Without a Name in Boerne, TX. I have heard amazing things about this cave and hope to check it out someday soon. If you want to learn more about Jodi Roberts, Tibetan bowls, or gongs check out her website: Sacred Inspiration She even has CDs for purchase on her site. It’s really some pretty cool stuff.

Smoothies

For the past week I have been drinking a smoothie for breakfast and it has been a great switch. A friend asked me to share the recipe so I thought I would include it in today’s post. @SensitivePantry posted this recipe on Twitter; I can’t take any credit for it. FYI- this recipe is both gluten free and vegan.

Chocolate Smoothie

1 cup coconut water

3 Tablespoons quinoa flakes

½ a banana

½ cup blueberries (fresh or frozen)

1 scoop Amazing Grass chocolate green superfood

Small handful of ice

Blend ingredients until smooth. 1 serving.

Coconut water is a great hydrator; it has lots of natural electrolytes and is high in potassium. The chocolate flavored green superfood is filled with all sorts of goodies; wheat grass, alfalfa, spirulina, acai, carrots, beets, flax seed powder, probiotics, the list goes on and on. It really is a super food. This supplement is supposed to help detoxify and boost your immune system, increase energy and support healthy cholesterol levels. I can’t say whether or not it can do all it claims but I do know I feel fantastic after I drink it. Paul loves it too. This smoothie is super filling and energizing. We have even added a tablespoon of peanut butter for some additional protein and that tasted good too.

Let me say this, it is not a cheap smoothie. Yes, it is still cheaper than going to a smoothie place like Jamba Juice every day but it is probably more expensive that the normal smoothies made at home. However, it is a lot more nutritious than any other smoothie I have ever had. If this recipe interests you but you don’t want to spend so much money or don’t have/want to use all of those ingredients I would say keep the chocolate green superfood, add whatever fruit you like/have, use water instead of coconut water, omit the quinoa flakes or sub in some steel cut oats. You could even add in some yogurt. Note that the changes may make it not vegan or gluten free anymore though.

Sports

Rampage Pre-Season

Do you know what Saturday is? The first day of October- can you believe it? It’s also the first San Antonio Rampage home pre-season game. Next Saturday is the home opener for the regular season. Yes! Hockey is finally back! For those of you who don’t know; the San Antonio Rampage are an AHL team that are affiliated with an NHL team. It’s like the equivalent of a minor league baseball team in the way players move back and forth between the AHL and NHL. Last year the Rampage were the Phoenix Coyotes affiliate which means players would get called up to play for Phoenix or move from Phoenix down to San Antonio based on their performance. This year, however, the Rampage are now the Florida Panthers affiliate team. The contract between the Rampage and the Coyotes expired this past summer and for whatever reason the Coyotes did not choose to renew it. There were also other AHL/NHL affiliation contracts that expired as well so there were multiple teams up for grabs. This is a weird sports phenomenon I had no prior knowledge of existing. What does that mean for me as a fan? It means we have a completely new team. You see hockey players, just like baseball players, are drafted by the NHL team and that team evaluates the players and decide who to place in the AHL or NHL. This means when we lost our affiliation with the Coyotes we lost all of their AHL players as well. So, for this season we have an all new team with all new players. Well, actually two players off the Rampage roster from last season, Nolan Yonkman and Bracken Kearns, were free agents and were picked up by the Panthers so there will be two familiar faces to cheer for tomorrow. I will admit, I was very sad to learn that having a new affiliation meant we would have a whole new team. I had grown accustomed to the players we already had. I even met most of them at different season ticket holder events and they were all very nice. Even though it will be weird to see a whole new group of faces tomorrow it will be a fun season and I am ready to cheer them on. Go Rampage!

Phillies Post Season

Tomorrow is also game 1 of the NLDS which has my favorite team the Philadelphia Phillies facing off against the St. Louis Cardinals. The Phillies have had a great year, they set a franchise record with 102 wins and Charlie Manuel became the Phillies manager with the most wins under his belt with 646. Every media outlet I turn to is predicting the Phils to win the World Series (ha, ha MS- not your stinky Yankees) even in Vegas the odds are favoring the Phillies. That’s all fine and dandy except for one thing- the team everyone thinks will win seldom does. All this talk about another ring for the Phillies is doing nothing but making me nervous. Ugh! My concern right now is not the World Series, it is the NLDS. Hello Phillies fans- the Cards beat us six times this season and we only beat them three times. So for me I am just hoping to get out of the NLDS alive. This time of year is always crazy- the end of baseball, the beginning of hockey, college football on Saturday and NFL on Sunday- what’s a girl to do? Lol!

Are you a sports fan? Who are you cheering for? What games are you looking forward to this year?

Thanks for reading!

September 30, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , , , . Life, San Antonio.

2 Comments

  1. Simply Sidney replied:

    I still remember about a year ago when I finally broke down and went bra shopping. I thought I hated my bigger chest until I got the right bra, OMG!! 😀
    The sound journey sounds so interesting!! thank you for once again telling me about something new!!! Thank also for sharing your smoothy recipe, Amazing Grass chocolate green superfood sounds so very strange that I might just have to try it
    As you know I love my Lions and Tigers (Cowboys & Yankees oh my), but my Pistons have been having some trouble lately, I’m very anxious for Joey D to get them back on track

    • Dacia replied:

      If you do try the chocolate supergreen you have to let me know what you think.

      I will be happy if we even have a basketball season this year 😉

      You should keep your eyes out for a local Tibetan bowl and gong player in your area. It’s very cool!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

