Monthly Goals

Today is October 1, do you know what that means? It means it’s time to see if I met my September weight loss goal. In case you don’t remember, the goal for September was to lose 7 pounds. That is actually the monthly weight loss goal for the rest of the year to keep me on track to be below 200 pounds by January 1, 2012. On September 1 I weighed in at 227.8, this morning I weighed in at 217.2 for a loss of 10.6 pounds this month. Yay! Not only did I exceed this month’s goal, I exceeded last month’s goal of ten pounds. Go me! 🙂

You might be wondering what I did this month to help me achieve this goal. Well, at first I was off to a rough start having the stomach flu for four days but those four days brought with them a chance to refocus myself and what I needed to do to get back on plan. After I was better I got back into the habit of diligently tracking and portioning my food. I earned my first 7 Day Chip and am now on Day 20 working towards my first 30 Day Chip. Tracking really works for me to help keep my diet under control. What I mean by that is even as I progress I still need to track and portion because it is so easy to underestimate portions when you eat. I can’t tell the difference between 3/4 of a cup or 1 cup of cereal, can you? That extra 1/4 cup over a week adds up to over two extra servings. It might not seem like much but it adds up quickly.

Another thing that worked in my favor this month is that I had a ton of free time. With the Silver Stars season over and the Rampage season yet to begin I had no obligations outside of work. This meant I was free to go to the boxing gym or Synergy whenever I wanted. I was active 24 out of the 30 days this month. I missed 4 because of illness, 1 because of the holiday, and 1 day because I was at ACL. This was not a typical month. Going forward I expect to fall back into 4-5 days a week for workouts. For now I will enjoy the free time I have.

What are your goals for October? What helps you stay motivated and stick to your plan?

Thanks for reading!

October 1, 2011. Tags: , , , , . Weight Loss, Weight Watchers.

4 Comments

  1. battleofthebulk replied:

    Congratulations on your loss (that sounds really strange). It’s good to have a long term goal and even better to see you heading to it well. Keep up the good work.

    My goal for October is to lose 7Kg (about 15lb). I next get to see my girlfriend in November so I want to get down to a better weight for then. I should have started earlier when I would have had 12 weeks to lose 12 Kg, but I procrastinated and got bogged down in work.

    I’m going to keep going with my diet, and do more exercise. It is going to be a strong test of willpower as we always have chocolate and biscuits in the office. I must stay away from those.

    And I really should drink more water.

    • Dacia replied:

      Offices are rough. We always have cake. I make sure to have plenty of snacks on hand- usually fresh fruit, veggies & hummus, or yogurt, and eat one of those while the others have cake. Then I say to myself ‘let them eat cake’ and laugh at my corny joke 🙂

      Drinking water is another big thing for me. I drink only water with the exception of green tea in the morning and a cup of coffee on the weekend. I usually drink 5L or more a day which means I pee slot but that’s ok. It helps flush out the bad stuff.

      Good luck with your weight loss! I will be cheering for you!

  2. Simply Sidney replied:

    holy moly 10.6 pounds, amazing, what a way to start the last three months of the year!!! 190s here you come!! I needed this bit of inspiration today, thank you!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

